We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falling Short” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stratford, A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Falling Short”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

FIrst time visitor to Stratford and looking to a hotel within proximity of the Theatre. Turns out not to be as close as the Premier or the Arden - which is right opposite the RSC - but is still within reasonable walking distance. We had a Q room featuring a King size bed with lots of pillows and this gets a big yes tick for comfort. Also plus marks for 'complimentary' fresh milk, only one small but nonetheless welcome wine and lager bottles, real coffee and some nuts and good free wi fi (some hotels please take note). BUT, a single small window with dismal natural lighting coupled with a low ceiling created a dim and claustrophobic feeling which was not helped by a style of interior in a kind of clunky pseudo boutique come traditional mix.... didn't work for us. Also the bathroom was too small. The low ceiling and ugly decor effect was repeated in the breakfast room and elsewhere. A busy buffet breakfast in an uninspiring setting was made more alienating by some rather glaring service defects (such as only one toaster machine with the all too frequent problem of under toasted bread in one slow conveyor journey and burnt toast if you run it through again) and terrible piped musak. I also agree with those critical of a five pound parking charge, surely it should be included. Something of a factory hotel with aspiring four star pricing not matched to the actuality would be my assessment. Next time we will try one of the others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Londonbigal

Thank you for your review and feedback.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    700
    129
    28
    23
See reviews for
219
1,179
39
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, GB
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here to visit the RSC and had a very nice stay. The hotel is a quick walk from the railway station, and as Stratford is a small town, everywhere is within walking distance. We had a double room – not massive, but comfortable. It would probably have felt bigger if there were less furniture – for example the bed side lamps are oversized standard lamps and there was another one of these by the window, while right next to it on the desk were 2 large lamps…Bed was very firm and the pillows were a bit hard for my liking. If we'd been staying longer than one night I would have asked if they had any others.

It was great that mini bottles of water were provided in the room, along with tea, coffee and biscuits (free).

I used the fitness room (remember to collect a key from reception) – it contains 2 treadmills, a bike, a rower and some heavy free weights. As I was the first user that day, I had to turn the power on at the wall. The treadmill furthest from the door screeetches as you run, so I got off and tried the other one. On that treadmill the “+” and “-“ buttons are misaligned so it takes ages to increase/ decrease speed etc.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent – full hot buffet, cereals, fruits and pastries, something for everyone.

I would recommend the hotel, and would return when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Janie M

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback with regards to the gym, we weren't aware of these issues and will have them investgated.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Perfect location for a visit to Shakespeare's town. Minutes from the station, so no need for a taxi. Comfortable well presented rooms with a great breakfast and pleasant restaurant. The staff were
very friendly and we saw the same receptionist throughout our 24 hour stay, which was actually quite a nice continuity.

We stayed here with friends who arrived by train. Unfortunately there night was disturbed by 'rude' guests who thought it was ok to shout up and down the corridor at 3am in the morning, obviously this is not something the hotel can predict.

Personally I had a very comfortable night's sleep but the male members of the party thought the beds were not so comfortable so maybe the beds are a bit too soft for those a little larger.

Would definitely recommend if you like a contemporary hotel rather that a traditional place with squeaky floorboards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Millie123_12

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, so sorry to read you were disturbed. Look forward to seeing you back.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is located ideally for a short walk to all the attractions you're likely to be heading for in Stratford, but is very peaceful too...

Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished, feeling like a luxurious space to be in. We would definitely return!

We chose not to eat in the restaurant, as it was almost empty and seemed to lack atmosphere, but breakfast was buzzing and the quality was great!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaintrelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Quaintrelle R

Shame you missed a real experience, next time!! Glad you liked breakfast.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had a voucher bought for my 60th birthday and decided to have a couple of days away with my husband in Stratford upon Avon. The Hotel was close to the town and all it's attractions, food was lovely and the room was clean with good Decor.
My only criticism is that when you are paying to stay at a hotel, I don't like having to pay to park my car in their grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LateTraveller469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
latetraveller469

We do remain competitive for car parking against the town centre however I appreciate your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your break away.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Both for visiting the theatre and wandering around Stratford's shops etc., this hotel couldn't be more convenient.
The staff are most obliging and helpful.
Our room was clean and quite spacious; Well stocked tea tray and there was a bottle each of still and carbonated mineral water in the fridge.
We did not eat dinner in the hotel so can only comment on breakfast. The choice was very good indeed, both hot and cold. I requested porridge made with skimmed milk .. no problem, and it was delicious.
Will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms very good. Avoid third floor rooms because they may have an alcove or similar wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
vivienne m

Breakfast chef - Jan - is amazing! Glad you enjoyed her porridge.

Thanks for the review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel for our friends 50th birthday weekend which was a surprise for her. So pleased we chose this hotel, from the time we arrived all the staff from the receptionists to the night porter on the bar were so friendly. The rooms are very nicely decorated with a wonderfully clean bathroom, so very important to me these days. The breakfast next morning was lovely with a help yourself basis. The hotel was a good 15 min walk to the river where we were going on boat for dinner. A nice stroll back in the evening passing a nicely converted pub to stop at for a Baileys and coffee before got back to the hotel to have another served by a very nice night porter. Would we stay here again - definitely I wish there were a few more hotels around like this.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crystal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Crystal60

I am delighted that you had a fab stay and enjoyed Stratford upon Avon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing