We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice grounds, pity the breakfast lets them down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A weekend away booked in advance as a birthday treat, without knowing about the glorious Stratford festival. The festival made our weekend, so much to do we didn't get chance to do the Shakespeare thing! The hotel was as a Q is, the rooms were well appointed with enough space to work if you are on business, as well as a good size bathroom, although the shower could be better. The parking was very handy for the town, but surprised you had to pay, when it was only a small fee, so why bother, given there is free wifi?! The only downside was the buffet breakfast, for a restaurant with a rosette, why pull your standard down for a rammed, medioka crushed buffet servery. Poor table service, the coffee pots leaked like crazy. But the staff we did encounter especially front desk were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A good nights sleep, so no recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Sharon W

Thank for your feedback, I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the river festival over the weekend.

Kind regards
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a wonderful weekend with close friends, 4 of us celebrating 60th birthdays this year. Great food, rooms, staff and location. If there was a slight downer it was the cost of drinks in the hotel bar but overall we had a fantastic time in a beautiful town.

Service in the restaurant and bar was first class and the staff couldn't do enough for you with special attention for one of our group who's birthday we actually celebrated during the visit.

All of us said it would be worth a return visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Kevin J

Thanks for your fab review. So pleased your special occasion was memorable.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Stratford without a plan and asked the staff here what they had available for 2 adults and a 14 year old daughter. After finding there were no 2 bedroom apartments we were offered a superior suite with an additional bed which was delivered in minutes.

King size bed was one if most comfortable beds we have ever slept in , staff at both reception and breakfast were exceptional as was the food .

Pity we only stayed one night as the price, service and good were all very good and we were a leisurely 7 minute stroll from centre of town and the river.

Would recommend in a flash !!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1960Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Steve1960hobart

Great feedback thank you. See you next trip!
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed two nights with dinner as a breakaway break. The room was spacious and clean with everything one would expect. It is well situated almost next to the station and a short walk to town. Parking is good and cheap. Dinner on both nights was excellent, good unobstrusive service and lovely well presented food. Breakfast was a bit difficult as the service area is small, but our hard poached eggs were quickly changed.
The tables and chairs in the grounds are a nice touch and we enjoyed sitting there.
It was my daughter's birthday and the staff went out of their way to make it enjoyable for her. I can't praise or thank them enough.

Room Tip: Ours was on the ground floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Lovehotelstays

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and manged to get some time to enjoy the garden.
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First impressions was the professionalism and customer care from staff. I stayed in a QStar room which was very spacious and clean. The only downside being the poor TV (small, old style) with a poor picture and very limited channel selection. You get better at the Premier Inn standard rooms!
The bathroom was also small but didn't present a major problem. QStar rooms are also provided with a small selection of nibbles, water, a single measure of wine and a bottle of beer. A nice touch was also the provision of fresh milk but neither the milk nor nibbles were replenished during the duration of our stay.
Another nice touch was the fresh coffee sachets, far superior to instant coffee! We dined at the restaurant and found the food and service to be enjoyable, we also liked the idea of the wine promotions. It good to see the hotel selling decent local ales as well.
I was however surprised that at the prices charged I was served frozen chips! Any chef worth his salt would not do this, come on QHotels potatoes are cheap and fresh chips are easy to make! The use of frozen chips is an inferior product, the domain of transport cafes and lazy. Even Beefeater restaurants serve fresh chips. Breakfast was hit and miss with items so dry I could have used it as armour. The sausages were also of poor quality. The breakfast self-service area was also too small as well resulting in congestion, opening this area up would help greatly.
If you are travelling by train the hotel is the most convenient for Stratford being only an easy two minute walk from the station. Check out was easy but staff did not seem to be unaware how to deduct my Breakaway voucher from the bill, I had to leave without redeeming this.
Positive were also: Free internet, ease of parking, great staff, air con, location.
Negative were: Nibbles and milk not being replenished, breakfast, frozen chips, poor TV in room.

Room Tip: QStar rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluenose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Bluenose7

Thanks for the detailed review and feedback. Please be assured we will monitor the points rasied and take the appropriate action.
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at The Stratford for four nights on a theatre based trip. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are good size and amenities are well appointed. Then only drawbacks we encountered were with the bar food on the first night where the salad we ordered was very substandard but to be fair it was taken off the bill when we complained. On a subsequent night we returned from the theatre and there was no food available because the kitchen shuts at 10:30 pm. There were some issues about noise - a loud argument from an adjoining guest room one night but also on the Saturday night we were lucky to be arriving back late because any sleep before midnight would have been impossible due to the noise from the wedding reception disco downstairs.
On the plus side the hotel is very well located and compared to other Stratford hotels is good value.

Room Tip: Stay well away from the reception rooms on a Saturday if there is a swedding at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

MarkL2012

Thanks for the feedback, I am sorry that your experience wasn't as would be expected. Thank you for ccompleting a review.
Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here with my 70 year old mother last month. The hotel is a VERY short walk from the train station so you save $$ on a cab. It's only a few blocks from the town centre as well, and is a bit quieter than hotels right in the heart of town. Our room came with an outstanding breakfast too--eggs, several kinds of toast, fresh fruit, etc. Rooms are nice and spacious. This is not an old hotel with character, but it's very nice and the proximity to the train station makes up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Momprof

Delighted that you had a great time with us. Thanks for the review.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,358 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £94 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing