We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for Stratford, Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stratford, A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location for Stratford, Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We booked this for a weekend leisure break. We got a good price on this hotel using the search engines so it was excellent value against the hotels own rate. The room was spacious and clean and decorated nicely. The breakfast was ample and well organised. They had a gym here but we did not use this. Prices on drinks were more expensive than a pub, but not too overpriced. Excellent service from all the staff and everyone was very friendy creating a lovely atmosphere. As far as Stratford goes, this was the perfect location, justa short walk down the road to the centre.
WE had a great stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikemalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
MikeMalo
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting my teams service, I will ensure that your comments are shared with them.
Once again thank you and we hope to see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    700
    129
    28
    23
See reviews for
219
1,179
39
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night. First of all they have on site parking which is brilliant. The check in was a breeze, within minutes the friendly staff had found my booking and away I went to my room. The room was a little small but well manitained and clean. It was decorated well too. The bed was very very comfy. Breakfast was also very good in the morning and helpful staff once again attending to our every need.
A brilliant hotel, with helpful and friendly staff. For the price I paid I think this hotel is the place to stay if you are intending on going to Startford Upon Avon, As I have stayed at other hotels in this area and paid a lot more money, and they do not come anywhere near this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irfy835824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
irfy
I would like to thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
Thank you also for your comments relating to my team, I was delighted to read that they had looked after you and will ensure your comments are shared with them.
We certainly look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the very near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

My wife and I booked a stay at The Stratford on Saturday 12th September for ourselves and two other couples. There was plenty of parking, check-in was friendly and efficient, and we were all pleased with the bedrooms we were allocated on the ground floor. Good-sized rooms, very good quality modern fittings and furnishings, spotlessly clean, a good-sized flat-screen TV, hairdryer, etc. Our rooms looked over the car park and there was no noise to disturb us.

It was only about 8 minute's walk to Shakespeare's house near the centre of town and a few minutes more to the High Street, so we didn't need to use our cars. We all had breakfast on Sunday morning; service was friendly and fast; there was a good choice of food, which was tasty, hot and served on very hot plates - a rarity in many hotels. Our friends were very pleased with our choice of hotel and we would stay there again and recommend it to other friends - the true tests of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephPete17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
StephPete
I would like to thank you for your post following your recent stay at The Stratford hotel.
Thank you for your kind words, especially relating to breakfast, we believe a good breakfast sets you up for the day so it is reassuring that we get this right.
Thank you also for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel very soon.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

My partner and I got married here on the 4th of September 2010. They exceeded all of our expectations. Chris, the manager was faultless, he put as at ease and made the day run like clockwork, the rooms were perfect. The food and drinks first class. Everyone commented on the food and how good it was.

The service was fantastic, especially the waiter Carlos who was brilliant with the young children.

They made a brilliant day perfect.

The planning with the wedding coordinator was first class from start to finish.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
PhilKathryn
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review, especially so soon after the wedding!
I was thrilled that your wedding went well and that you enjoyed the day. I would love to take credit for the smooth running of your day but I will personally thank my restaurant manager, Chris and also Carlo for their efforts in making sure your day went well.
May I also extend our congraulations on behalf of all the team here and we look forward to seeing you for tyour first wedding anniversary!
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

great location ample parking nice and secure.The staff all very pleasant even cleaners gave us a cheery good morning. Room very spacious requested quite one and reception made sure it was okay for us.Room facilities very good exceptionaly clean good shower/bath comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent really good choice.
I would stay there again when im in the area and have no hesitation in recommending it
Well done Q for making our stay in stratford a very pleasant one

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Marlene
Thanky ou for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that we helped the enjoyment of your Stratford-upon-Avon experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Only stayed for one night in this hotel. The first thing noticed on arrival was the unattended reception desk where we were left waiting about 5 minutes for the receptionist (even though a number of other staff passed by in the meantime they kept going!). Receptionist appeared, no apology! I hoped this wasn't a sign of things to come. The hotel is nicely decorated, clean lines and contemporary style. Room was v clean, stylish and quite luxurious. We did not have any drinks, meals or breakfast so cannot comment. Location is good and the on site parking is handy. The hotel perhaps lacks a little personality but if you want a good sized modern room then this hotel will suit you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsheane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Dsheane
Thank you for your post and apologies for the lack of the receptionist on your arrival.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we gt to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Our twin room ended up being a double room with me on the sofabed.

I wouldn't have minded so much except that the sofabed matress was something that you'd be ashamed to let your houseguests sleep on. The springs were digging in at 6am.

I complained at check-out and the duty manager was in no way contrite and tried to make out it they were doing us a favour. After 30 minutes of stalemate, he reluctantly knocked £25 off the bill. But it was too little too late and left. Not good for £150 and not recommended

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notimpressed10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
Not_Impressed
I would like to thank you for your post and the e-mail so to me, as stated I apologise for the manner in which your issue was dealt with, this is certainly not what I expect from my team and the situation of the sofa bed should never has arisen again for this I apologise.
We have now come to a suitable resolution by telephone and I look forward to meeting your personally on your return to the hotel, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of correcting our error.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing