We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Longfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

The hotel very good but not quite there. The room heating was inadeqaute. The weather was extremely cold during our stay and the room heating was not just up to it. Breakfast croissant on 30/01/11 were dry (stale) but reheated. Croissant were Ok next day. In all other respects this hotel was great. Very clean, well apointed with beutiful room and features. Hardwired broadband workj very well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotfrog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
HotFrog
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stratford Hotel, as you pointed out we have experienced extremem drop in temperatures and should this ever occur again we do have supplementary heaters to help with this.
I also apologies about the standard of the croissants, this will be addressed as we only like to provide fresh products for our breakfast offering.
Once again thank you for your post and I hope to see you again at the hotel in the future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    705
    130
    29
    23
See reviews for
219
1,189
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

This hotel was very near to the town ((about a 5 minute walk).
It was very clean and modern and beautifully decorated throughtout.
The staff were very helpful.
The menu for the evening meal was quite limited, but we all found something we liked.

The buffet breakfast was plentiful and very nice.
Free wi-fi was limited to 2 hours which wasn't long.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Beverley
I would like to thank you for your post following your recent stay at The Stratford Hotel.
I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, if you would like a longer amount of Wi-Fi, try one of our QStar bedrooms that come with unlimited wi-fi as well as lots of nice amenties and beverages.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed here for a 2 day work conference and found it to be very comfortable, clean and everyone was friendly and courteous so it made our conference nice and easy - we wanted for nothing - drinks were replenished all day and everything we needed was looked after.

Rooms were modern and spacious and furnished to a high standard. Breakfast was a great choice of hot and cold.

The location was amazing - right next to the station and a stones throw into town but not bang in the middle of any noise, its set in its own grounds. I would imagine it would be lovely having a wedding here, not sure if they do that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsmels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
nelsmels
I would like to thank you for your very complementary review following your stay at The Stratford Hotel.
It is always reassuring to read that we meet the requirements of all our clients whether here to enjoy the town or a conference.
We do indeed to weddings and we are fast becoming one of the choice venues in Stratford upon Avon for weddings. We have some great packages and if you are intending on getting married, do get in touch and we will be delighted to share these with you.
Once again thank you for your post and I hope we see you again at the hotel in the near future, maybe for a celebration?
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

The hotel has great location, easy parking, good service, staff are excellent nothing too much trouble. We ate in the hotel restuarant although they had a very large party dining, this did not impact on the service or Quality of the food.
We will booking to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyWKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
WendyWKD
I would like to thank you for your post and indeed your recommendation of the Stratford Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed for a weekend for my husbands birthday. The rooms are large with modern furniture and fittings. The rooms were clean apart from the layer of dust around the edges of the carpet! However, everything else was great. The bathrooms are a good size with good quality towels. The food was good too - they even had gluten free bread! The reception staff was some of the best I've come across.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to be close to the centre of Stratford without all the noise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeloresLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Delores
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the post.
Chef always keeps gluten free options available so no need to request them on your next stay, they will be here!!
I would also like to thank you for mentioning the team, we do have a great team here at The Stratford and I will be sure to pass your comments to them at our next staff meeting.
Once again thank you and I hope we see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Stratford hotel for one night, it was also a bit of a trip down memory lane as the hotel was once a ward, A&E and part of the old stratford hospital nurses home which was on first floor under the clock formerly known as "clock corridor" This is where i trained and lived as a pupil nurse over 23 years ago so it was interesting to see how they had adapted the old buliding.

The hotel was very modern and clean. The room we had although fairly small was beautifully decorated and felt ver warm and romantically cosy. The ambance of the hotel was also warm and inviting. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was very nice, plentifull and lots to choose from , altogether a lovely hotel and would definately go back and also recomend to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Katystaffordshire
I would like to thank you for your very glowing report of The Stratford Hotel.
I was also glad that it re-kindled your memories of years gone by, we do have some nice pictures of how the hospital looked externally so if you would like them, please get in contact with me and I will happily send them to you.
Once again thank you for your post and I hope to see you back at the hotel/hospital very soon.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed at The Stratford for one night with my partner on a 'Romantic Package' I had booked through the Q Hotels website. We were checked in efficiently within 3 or 4 minutes and were really pleased when we went in to our room - large, spacious and very clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and were really impressed with how quickly we were seated and served by the staff - and the food was absolutely delicious. The location is also fab - being about 5/10 minutes walk in to the centre of Stratford. All in all, a lovely stay and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauz_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csteadman, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Lauz
It is great to see that romance is still alive, thank you for your post following your stay at The Stratford.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford a Qhotel
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing