We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shame about the beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stratford Manor Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“shame about the beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Unfortunately the mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable and we had a poor night's sleep. The label on the mattress said "Hypnos - the most comfortable mattress in the world" - it was awful. The people checking out before us were commenting on the fact that their pillows were hard. I was told by the receptionist that all the mattresses were the same. She admitted that others had made similar comments.
On a more positive note, my husband received cheerful service at the swimming pool. He had the pool to himself. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special.
Padded mattress toppers are needed to make the beds more comfy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asitwasCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Dear asitwasCumbria,
Thank you for your review of Stratford Manor.
I'm sorry to hear that you found the mattress in your bedroom hard. As a Hotel it is always difficult to meet with all our guests requirements when it comes to providing a mattress as every guest has a different preference. We do offer upgraded Q-Star bedrooms that do benefit from mattress toppers along with Sky TV and complimentary minibar so hopefully if you visit us again you get the great nights sleep that eluded you on this occasion.
I'm pleased your husband enjoyed our leisure facilities.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    513
    217
    55
    32
See reviews for
213
622
25
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We got a special rate at this hotel but not sure would have been so happy if we had paid full price for the room. The staff were very helpful. There was a comfortable bar area and breakfast was plentiful. Our evening meal was well prepared and tasty but there was no atmosphere in the restaurant so we finished eating fairly quickly. The gym was cramped and although there was plenty of equipment it was in need of refurbishment as did the leisure area - particularly the women's changing rooms. Overall a nice stay. It's about a 10 minute drive to town and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel if you don't want to drive (parking in Stratford is expensive).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotttyjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear Dotttyjred,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Stratford Manor. I'm pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that should similar offers be available in the future then we will have the pleasure of your returning company.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed at the Stratford Manor Hotel in Stratford on Avon on the night of the 28th April.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful when we wanted to book a taxi to take us into Stratford and the manager via the taxi driver Chris recommended a good indian resturant for us to go to.
The room was nice and clean and when we went for breakfast at 7 am the following morning there was a very good selection of food.
I would like to compliment the lady working in the bar for her friendlyness,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyvan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Wyvan,
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Stratford-upon-Avon has many restaurants catering for all different types of cuisine. I definitely recommend our own Shakespeare Restaurant for a great dining experience though. We do have lots of choice at breakfast and I'm glad you enjoyed 'the most important meal of the day'. You have made Kath's day by your kind words (lady who worked on the bar).
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

first class hotel ticks all the right boxes
1- location just outside stratford close to warwick leamington spa only a hour or so from the cotswolds
2-reception very quick and efficiant (big thanks to the gentlemen who came to my room to help me with the internet connection) not difficult at all just me not reading the instructions
3-rooms good /clean/well equiped plasma tv iron hair dryer all working fine
4-lesuire club not used this time but have used it on a previous stay good size pool with patio doors to a lovely green grounds good patio for the smokers
5- again very good had a set meal good choices all looked good
this hotel i can highly recommend for both the business or the pleasure travellers
straw bear

Room Tip: ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear strawbear,
What a lovely review of our Hotel - thank you. We are in a great location and with our 21 acres of land to explore we are a great destination Hotel to come and visit. I'm pleased our team on reception looked after you well and that you found the housekeeping within our Hotel to be very good.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Stratford Manor soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeastlad
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Excellent value.Bought as an April deal and stopped bank holiday weekend for 2 nights b and b for two people for £150.
Very clean tidy and well presented. very friendly proffessional staff, mostly foreign but all speak good English. Rooms clean spacious and modern.
Lovely pool, good gym, perhaps overstocked with equipment for its size, but not really a complaint. Breakfasts substantial buffet style and a large modern dining area.
Need car or taxi to get into Stratford town as would be too dangerous to walk this road at night( main road limited lighting/pathways) but a local taxi driver(Chris) works from the hotel and is very professional and curteous. Does a return trip charge of £14 to town centre and well worth it rather than wait at taxi ranks. Have done Cheltenham Chase Hotel in similar circumstances and both are of similar appearance and quality.
I would definately continue to use this hotel chain.

Room Tip: Use the pool facilities. need car/taxi for town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Dear 2094,
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Bank Holiday getaway with us. Our team work really hard to making sure we give guests the well deserved breaks they need. It's nice to hear that you had a similar experience at Cheltenham Chase.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have just returned from a stay at the Stratford Manor Hotel. The hotel itself is lovely, the room was a great size, clean and comfortable. Shame that there were only 5 channels on the tv but for a one night stay we got over that.

The food was outstanding. Our evening meal was simply amazing - from the dining room to the staff and the food was out of this world - huge compliments to the chef. Breakfast did not disappoint, there was plenty of choice and all the food was lovely. The bar area was a great place to chill out.

The main downfall about this hotel is the leisure facilities. The changing rooms are in need of a massive refurb, they are tired, a little grotty and not the cleanest. The pool is nice (watch out for the slope in the floor if you are not a strong swimmer!) and the sauna and steam room are ok, a little small if the pool was busy. It was so disappointing that the jacuzzi was out of order so check that before you book if you really want the jacuzzi. Shame the leisure facilities didn't live up to a recent visit made to a partner hotel, the Park Royal Warrington, which were perfect.

Overall, a great hotel, not let down by the pool although this would have meant 5 stars from me. The staff are all lovely which makes your stay that extra bit more special. If the right deal is there, we will look to visit this hotel next time we visit Stratford.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABax83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Dear JABax83,
Thank you so much for your review.
I'm delighted that you had an excellent stay with us. You have made our kitchen brigades day with your kind words about the cuisine.
Stratford-upon-Avon is currently undergoing the TV switchover to Digital which has caused a few issues with some of our TV channels however we are in the process of addressing this.
Unfortunately our Jacuzzi is irrepairable and we are trying to source an alternative solution. All other facilities in the Leisure Club are working fine and with the great spell of weather we have been having I hope some of our guests have had the opportunity to use one of our tennis courts.
Hope to welcome you back to Stratford Manor soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Thank you and all the staff at the Stratford Manor hotel for a most enjoyable time over the bank holiday.Food was great breakfast and Dinner (start the diet next week) accomodation was great, but most of all I would like to thank all the staff that we met as the service from them was fantastic.David and Stefania.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordManorOps, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Dear Stef27,
It is always great to know when we have given a great experience to our guests. Thanks for your review - we are really proud of our team and I will be sharing your kind words with them in due course.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford-upon-Avon
3.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
5.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Manor Hotel

Property: Stratford Manor Hotel
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Manor Upon Avon
Hotel Stratford Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing