We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What makes a good hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stratford Manor Hotel
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed at the Stratford Manor Hotel for a conference and was impressed with the quality of service given by all members of stafff from reception, bar and in the dining room. 10 out of 10 for that - after all it is the staff who make or break every hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts as good as my last visit.

I would be very happy to go back again although bar prices are on the high side.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear MichaelEpsom
Thank you for your kind comments following your attendance at a residential event here last week. Midweek conferences are very much what Stratford Manor concentrates on and whilst we always seek and receive feedback from our conference organisers and bookers it is a delight to hear that your experience as a delegate here has been good.
yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed for two nights over weekend and overall enjoyed the stay very much,
Hotel is located in quiet location just outside S-U-A, appears to have very good staff who were friendly and helpful, rooms are very good size and ours had very large window which made room light and airy. Cleanliness was a decent standard with only downside being bed which had an uncomfortable matress, also room had plenty of tea/coffee and buscuits which were topped up next day.
Did not have dinner here but breakfast was good although did run out of yoghurt which was not replaced.Had afternoon tea which to be fair was not advertised but came up all on a single large plate a bit like builders tea/sandwiches but having said that it was all fresh and under £10 for two.
Spa/swimming pool was quite good and area was kept very clean.
This hotel makes ideal base for short break in Stratford, 5 mins by car or there is a park and ride operating which is about 10 mins away.
Would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burritoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear burritoman
Thank you for your kinds comments following your stay of the weekend. I will take pleasure in passing them on to the team who do indeed try their best to be very good. Do let me check into the mattress comment as last year we purchased mattress protectors for every bed as some guests found them too hard and this should not have been the case. Thank you for the recommendation - our location makes us perfect for Warwick Castle and the Cotswolds too for your next stay.
Yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Stratford Manor may be the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

The welcome is warm and friendly, the rooms (mine was 151) are stylish, modern and spacious, the bathrooms are clean and large. Its all just sublime!

The resturant serve delicous food, however, I did feel it a tad expensive. Starters are £5.50 and main meals are £15.25, there is no deviation from this so £5 for a bowl of soup is a tad on the dear side.

The location of the hotel is good, just a few miles off the M40.

I also took advantage of the lesuire facilities, a swim in the luke warm pool is very relaxing way to excersise.

9.75/10 for this one!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Ian D
May I thank you for your topical "strictly come dancing" feedback headline - it has made my day.
May I assure you that the high bar that you have set will keep us on our tiptoes as we attempt to provide the best service that we can can for our guests.
Kindest regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Having just spent a long weekend, I will say the staff were very good; attentive, friendly & polite. The food was generally good - although they seemed slightly overwhelmed with the numbers at breakfast on the first morning & there were some delays in replacing empty terrines.
My one complaint was my room, which was reasonably clean but generally worn - especially the bathroom with chips on the door & around the bath on the tiles & grout.
On a final & more positive note, a few miles from Stratford upon Avon & a great location to base from.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear YvonnedeYoung
Thank you for your positive comments on the team here and our quiet location outside Stratford upon Avon. I am of course disappointed to read of the maintenance issues that you have described in your bedroom and assure you that these will be addressed. Having invested heavily this year in building Spa treatment rooms, refurbishing our health club and on outside furniture the last thing we want to do is disappoint our guests with routine maintenance.
Thank you for raising this with us.
Yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Booked this hotel through Secret Escapes two nights bed and breakfast with evening meal worth £26 each one night plus glass of Pimms and afternoon tea.
All the food we had was excellent , afternoon tea was huge , evening meal I had lamb and my husband had steak. Both were cooked perfectly and the sweet was delicious. Breakfast was very good too. Everything about the two days was perfect and would gladly go back there. The staff were very friendly and helpful without being over the top.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear AndreaB
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful two days here at Stratford Manor. In addition to periodical promotions with booking media such as the one you booked via we also have our own customer loyalty club " The Breakaway Club" that once joined ensures you will receive advance notice of any promotional offers that we launch. I can personally recommend it.
Yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for the weekend on 5-7 October. Really impressed when we arrived on the Friday afternoon, very welcoming at reception and when we got to our room it was spotlessly clean and everything you could want was there. Friday evening had a lovely meal and because we were going out early to the theatre were offered our desserts when we came back lately which was brilliant.
However on Saturday things took a turn for the worst. We had not ordered a morning newspaper yet had one delivered to our room and had to get reception to come and collect it. Saturday night we were at a large function and things got even worst. I had ordered a vegetarian starter and main course and so had my mother and clearly the hotel had comnpletely lost the plot. When asked where the meals were that had been ordered 2 MONTHS IN ADVANCE!! we were told they had not received any correspondence regarding this at all. I find this highly unbelievable as the other functions I have had vegetarian meals at for the past 4years has never been a problem - how strage this ONE hotel can get it so wrong! After ordering a meal I was very much looking forward to I received a slop of "risotto" which was cold and still had raw rice in it - truly disgusting.
It is quite clear that while the kitchen can cope with small orders of food and its lovely when it comes to cooking for large quantities of people they cannot cope.
Majority of serving staff were very apologetic and tried very hard to do their best. However when one lady on our table was telling management that the food was cold he walked away before she had even finished - if you are are working in customer services DO YOUR JOB!! Courtesy and manners should be at the fore front of your daily tasks.
Very disappointed - kitchen needs a major look into and overhaul in my opinion from someone who has worked in the hospitality industry you should be ashamed of yourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mishmash41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear mishmash41
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your groups weekend event here at Stratford Manor. May I apologise that the vegetarian alternative that you chose for this event was no the one prepared by the team here on the night. We are reviewing the pre event communication to ascertain where this information was not passed on to avoid repetition. Despite this I am delighted that your group has chosen to rebook for 2013 and assure you that we shall ensure this mistake is not repeated.
yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here on Friday the 5th October for our anniversary and got to say was very impressed. Rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable, great bar and leisure facilities and very nice evening meal had by both of us. The thing that really stood out for us though was all the staff. Very courtious and helpful and always attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely return for all of the above and the hotels great location just a few minutes from Stratford.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRStony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear BR Stony
We agree with you and I shall take pleasure in passing your comments on to all of the team involved.
yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
5.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,435 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,903 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Manor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Manor Upon Avon
Hotel Stratford Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing