We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stratford Manor Hotel
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Booked a package at this hotel for Valentines night with my boyfriend, including 2 30 min spa treatments, one night stay, dinner and breakfast. On arrival we were impressed with the grounds and were welcomed by a lovely receptionist who gave me a rose when we checked in!
We headed to the spa straight away as our treatments were booked for as soon as we'd arrived. I had a facial which lasted just over 10 minutes despite paying for a 30 min treatment and my boyfriends back massage took about the same amount of time. After being a little disappointed by this we then asked if we could book some more treatments to which we were told there was no availability until Tuesday which was a shame.
The food at dinner was lovely but it was spoiled by inattentive staff who couldn't really care less that we were left waiting about 40 mins between courses. We mentioned it to the front of house waiter but he did nothing to rectify the situation and just about managed to say sorry. We mentioned it again to the receptionist when checking out in the morning after he tried to charge us £10 for the bad service, but again he wasn't particularly interested and didn't ask us why we were refusing to pay the service charge. We left with a bad taste in our mouths and we won't be returning.

What could've been a lovely weekend was effectively spoiled by staff who couldn't care less if you were there or not.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachyHannahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Wiezak
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.
I am disapointed to read of your stay with us, this is not akin to our normal high levels of service. I have discussed your comments with the team here who have taken to heart your feelings in order to make the necessary changes to their service delivery.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very good location, easy to nip into Stratford, room clean, comfortable and spacious, headboard on the bed a bit tired but being picky as everything else was fine. The leisure facilities; Gym, swimming pool etc were available and were used by us, a pre-breakfast swim was very welcome and had the pool virtually to myself, it was quite busy on the Saturday afternoon, but with rubbish weather it wasn't surprising.
Breakfast was buffet style and more than adequate, what should have been hot was!, the toaster however required a long wait, tea / coffee replenished on request. All the staff were friendly and helpful when required and all in all a pleasant weekend break and we would certainly stay here again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JubileeGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear JubileeGent
Thank you for your review of Stratford Manor Hotel.
I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay. What a great start to the day, a pool to yourself followed by a nice hot full English. I hope the rest of the day was as good for you.
Come again soon.
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have stayed at the hotel twice now, for one night on both occasions with their dinner, bed and breakfast package. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you would expect. The deal includes £26 per person to spend on dinner which makes the deal great value. The quality of food at dinner and breakfast is excellent. The staff throughout the hotel could not be more pleasant or helpful. We used the spa facilities on the evening we arrived and the next day. There is an excellent pool, a steam room and a sauna. All facilities were clean and quiet. I think the gym gets busier but we didn't use that. Our only gripe was that on both occasions the fire alarm went off and this is where the hotel let itself down. The staff said they were following procedures but they seemed disorganised and slow to ensure guests were properly looked after. On the first evening it wasn't too bad as we were eating in the bar but on the second occasion we were actually in the pool. We had to ask for robes and dry towels as we left the spa area and there were no slippers available. It was a cold night and we were freezing. Space blankets were not handed out until a long drawn out roll call was taken. The blankets could easily have been given to those of us who were wet as we left the hotel. It is a shame the staff have not had better training to manage these situations. The hotel us very convenient if you are visiting Stratford and we will go back but, if there is another fire alarm it might be our last visit.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room facing the back of the hotel if you prefer to look out over fields rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Allison6
Thank you for your Great review following your stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you approve of the facilities in the hotel. The Leisure and Spa is indeed a very relaxing environment, just what is needed after a busy week.
My apologies for the disturbance with the fire evacuation, guest safety is paramount for us. We now have slippers back in ready for if an evacuation is necessary again.
I hope to see you back again soon.
Yous sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great location, handy for exploring Stratford and surrounding areas. The rooms are good but the service is outstanding, the staff simply can't do enough for you, I can't remember any better at any of the many hotels that I've visited over the years..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stokered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Stokered
Thank you for your Super review of Stratford Manor. I am pleased that you have found our team to be the best you can remember over the years. The team always try there best and are glad this is recognised.
Yours sincerley
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Booked a spa day through "Last Minute.com". The treatments were all lovely but the spa was average. Its not a large spa, pool was nice enough but we were lucky as the spa was very quiet. Had it have been a bit busier the sauna and steam room would have felt too busy for me. No real negatives but have to say I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristabelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Kristabelles
Thank you for your review of your Spa day with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your treatments in the Spa, the new Espa products are great.
I understand your thoughts regarding the poolside facilities, however with three treatment rooms at the hotel we find the size of the other offerings to be adequate for the number of guests.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at the stratford manor hotel last weekend 2 night b&b very reasonable rate excellent service staff could not be more helpfull if they tried.rooms very warm and comfortable. Will not hesitate to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Sue C
Thank you for your First Class review of Stratford Manor. 5/5 says it all, The team here love to see that their service is appreciated.
Thank you
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for a 2 night weekend break. All the hotel staff were very polite and helpful. The room was clean and of a good standard. We ate in the bar and food was excellent. Never used the pool or spa so cant comment on that but it looked nice from what I saw.
The only negative I would give is that the breakfast items on the buffet were not always replenished quick enough, had to ask a few times for certain things, Also the breakfast restaurant staff were very slow to take away dirty plates/dishes.
But on the whole my wife and I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryptonite1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Nethers1982
Thank you for your Nice review following your stay at Stratford Manor.
I am glad to see that overall you have enjoyed your stay. It's a shame you did not get a chance to try the Spa or the pool, they make for a very relaxing weekend. Apologies for the delays you experienced at breakfast, this is not to our normal high standards.
I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, maybe even for a Spa day seeing as you are quite local.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,434 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Manor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Manor Upon Avon
Hotel Stratford Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing