We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly staff, very good facilities, but evening meal was disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Manor Hotel
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our overall experience was very pleasurable! The lunch we had on arrival was tasty (though my jacket potato was the better option of my husband's nice but pricey chicken Caesar salad) and the staff were very helpful. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, if a little unkempt in places (which we liked actually). The room was a decent size and very comfortable. The bed was quite comfy and all of the soft furnishings were clean. The evening meal menu looked very appetising and we selected from the set menu (though we were given free rein on which dishes we picked regardless of us having a meal allowance of £26). The starter of soup was very creamy and satisfying, though our mains were sadly tiny - we thought they would bring us our accompaniments separately and were dismayed to learn that they were already on the plate! While not unaccustomed to fine dining portions or pub chain budget deals, we felt that for the price of £15 the shoulder of lamb wrapped in bacon resembled a chubby chipolata and my salmon dish had a dribble of lemon-butter sauce that again left us underwhelmed. Dessert was a forest fruits cheesecake and a lemon drizzle cake, and both were simply average. The hotel did redeem itself food-wise with delicious breakfast options of porridge, cereal, fresh fruit, pastries or a full English. The overall experience was great as we had a fabulous two days in Stratford and the location was literally 5 minutes drive away. I would recommend the hotel but advise people to skip the evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Stratford Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

A comfortable well appointed hotel complex. Clean and relaxing. Staff attentive and well presented. Excellent amenities for both individuals and families. Restaurant is atmospheric, with waiters/waitresses quick to please and friendly. Food was superb with a balanced choice and fine quality. Location is ideal for quick access to all local points of interest. Unfortunately there were some technical issues with the television signal throughout the complex. However we were offered a dvd player and choice of dvd. So a negative was turned into a positive. Overall a pleasant stay and we would return if in the area again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed for two nights as a base to visit Stratford.

Room fairly ordinary in size, with nice lighting and furnishings. Very clean with fine housekeeping.

Dinner on the first night was very good indeed. Freshly prepared food (made with love as my wife commented) and served with care.

Bed and pillows were comfortable, ensuring a good nights sleep. We were treated to a hearty breakfast each morning with a wide selection of food. This included warm pastries, which was unusual and welcomed! Tea was fine, though the coffee could do with improvement.

Overall, service levels were high with friendly staff who were willing to help.

This business focused hotel had good facilities (leisure centre was fine) and was quite large. However, it felt like a caring small bed & breakfast which is unusual and a testament to the service levels received.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the archery centre would be quieter. Avoid rooms facing the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimbledonjoshis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have just returned from a Travelzoo 2 night break with bed and breakfast on both days, first night 3 course dinner, a bottle of wine in the room on arrival, a complimentary guide book for Stratford ( 2009 version though!) and an upgrade to a Q room subject to availability (which having read a description from another reviewer I don't think we had).
The location I must say is ideal not too far from the delightful town of Stratford upon Avon with all its charm (although not as centrally located as the other Q hotel, The Stratford which is within walking distance of the town centre) with a very reasonably priced park and ride to allow a full days visit to all the sights for £2 per adult.
We are quite regular visitors to 4 star hotels and feel that we offer fair ratings of the hotels we visit and use TripAdvisor to assist our choice in our planning.
On arrival at the hotel and when checking in at about 4.30pm were not asked if we wanted a credit card swipe to charge any incidentals to our room account which is quite usual practice.
We booked our evening meal for 8.15pm as the only choices available to us were 6.30pm or 8.15pm or later. We arrived to the restaurant on time and although reasonably busy was not full. The couple waiting in front of us were acknowledged and then sent off to the bar as their table was not ready. Then without acknowledgement the member of staff proceeded to talk to other guests already seated. We were then acknowledged and also asked to get ourselves a drink from the bar even though our table was ready and return to the restaurant for seating. I have never been asked to do this before at any hotel restaurant. It was at this point when purchasing from the bar that we realised that we would not be able to charge the drinks to our room account without going back to reception to swipe our credit card. Fortunately my husband was carrying his wallet and paid in cash.
We were then seated in the restaurant, shown the menu and proceeded to chose our meals. The choice was reasonable and the allowance of £26 per person on a 3 course dining option was clearly mentioned on the menu. The waiting staff were pleasant although not excessively customer focused. We were not offered water with our meal nor a choice of rolls as we noticed other tables were.The food was cooked well although I have to say that the service was abysmally slow. At one point during the evening a waitress knocked into my chair and quite startled me although didn't even apologise for doing so. We didn't leave the restaurant until after 10.30pm and that wasn't by choice in taking time over our meal.
The room was very pleasant for relaxing.
We then had an awakening at 3.30am with the fire alarm sounding. Whilst I am aware that this is in no way the hotels fault how they handle the situation most certainly is. We made our way via the recommended fire evacuation route to the meeting point in the coach park along with the other guests. The member of staff who we are guessing was in charge (he wore the regulation fire marshall hi viz jacket) made no introduction nor gave any explanation other than to say that we should move back from the road way as they were expecting the fire brigade to arrive which they did in due course. He started to check a register alphabetically which not all guests answered although stopped at about letter H. After 30 minutes of standing outside we were then told that we could go back inside. The following morning we found a letter under our door apologising for the disturbance, that it was a false alarm and that 'our safety as guests is of the highest possible priority at all times'.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style cooked and continental with plenty of choices.
On the second morning we were about to go down for breakfast at about 8.45am when the fire alarm sounded again. This time were at least dressed and not in pyjamas so made our way again to the coach park meeting point. Upon chatting to some other guests and joking about the deja vu element we discovered that they were also staying during our first night but had not heard the fire evacuation alarm (were wearing ear plugs) and therefore slept through the whole thing and only discovered that this had happened when they also received the letter under their door. Surely if safety is paramount then they should have been awoken. Again a morning roll call was taken (by the restaurant manager) when many guests were missing and again abandoned at letter H when notified we could reenter the building. Only 1 member of staff was dressed as a fire marshall. We headed straight for breakfast and admittedly the breakfast room was flooded with staff to compensate for the hiatus. No apology was offered though either during the breakfast service or upon check out later that morning.
Having read other reviews it would seem as if this is a reasonably regular occurrence which I would suggest needs rectifying if a fault in the system.
Hope other guests do not have to endure too many more evacuations!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secrock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine E, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Secrock66, thank you for posting a full review of your two night stay this week and as you say it often assists others in choosing Hotels and locations so thank you for this. I have discussed your feedback with the relevant Heads of Department to ensure the levels of service are maintained at our normally high level within the restaurant and bar and am sorry to learn this was not your experience. It was very unfortunate for 2 evacuations during your stay and each incident is treated seriously with safety for both customers and staff being paramount. Thank you for your comments as we had not been made aware of these and do undertake to communicate to the best of our ability to all concerned. With regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

£363 we paid for a Friday/Saturday stay. For this we paid for bed, breakfast and evening meal. The menu was the same every night except for the daily specials. Neither menu was inspiring.
Breakfast, buffet style lay under lights, the fried eggs were hard and the bacon was tasteless, I couldn't go for any other bits. We are well accustomed to b/b's, we've had lovely breakfasts, this was the worst we ever had.
The high price, for this hotel, was insulted by a10% service charge at meal times. The allowance for your meal is £26. Even though we had pre paid, the charge was added when we got our check out statement. Cheeky I thought.
The rooms, very contemporary, were comfortable and clean. We had the Q, a supposed upgrade. Apart from duck down pillars and duvets, the odd bottle in the fridge, small wine, a beer, water, pop and some nuts, well it was clean. Sky sports, I was impressed with.
The swimming, steam and sauna areas were good, but it wouldn't get me back. Sorry to be so negative, if you're going, I hope your stay is short.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine E, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Philip J, thank you for your feedback regarding the Hotel and facilities. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with the a la carte and daily menu we offer at dinner and buffet style of breakfast. To confirm the service charge is stated as discretionary and our team do clarify this on check-out, it is an error regarding the dinner allowance as or systems usually absorb this please accept my apologies for this. Notwithstanding this I do hope we can welcome you back to one of our 21 QHotels in the non too distant future. With regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for an overnight spa break with 10 family members and had a lovely time.
Had a slight issue with our room - when a toilet was flushed in another room, we had a horrible smell from our bathroom that lingered in the room however we were promptly moved to another room which was lovely.
Our stay included a 3 course dinner, breakfast and lunch. The food was lovely but after breakfast we had to let reception know what we wanted for lunch and at what time - it would have been nice to go for lunch when we were ready and choose what to have then.
The fire alarm did go off at 11pm which wasn't a problem for us but there was lots of people who had to take their small children out into the cold night and looking at previous reviews this seems to be a regular occurrence.
The spa was nice, maybe a little on the small side, and could of done with more seating around the pool but we all enjoyed our treatments.
Overall we had a lovely stay and have recommend to friends.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine E, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Claire B, thanks for posting a review following your parties Spa Break with us in March.
Thanks for your comments regarding lunch for Spa guests. Often various treatment times are booked so to ensure prompt service at lunch we have found the pre-ordering works well to avoid any delays. We hope to welcome you back for another occasion of when in the area to stay at Stratford Manor. With regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on Sunday/Monday on a BBEM basis in a twin room on the ground floor. The room was as expected, clean tidy and all the items that you would need. (perhaps a safe might be nice). We asked for a quiet room and got one. Heard nothing all night.
The staff were very polite, efficient and professional. The food was very good although like everywhere else the wine could be a bit cheaper. On one night I had a Ribeye steak done exactly to my medium rare request and it was great. In fact I have had fillet steak in 4 star hotels in the past which could not match this ribeye. Well done chef.
On this occasion we did not use the Spa or Pool but both looked very good.
Plenty of free parking in the grounds and not too far from Stratford town centre. There is a park and ride nearby which charges £2 return (free for bus pass holders) into Stratford every 15 minutes.
All in all would we stay again?.....certainly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine E, General Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Clive S, thanks for posting your review. I do hope on your next visit you'll get more time with us to enjoy the Leisure and Spa facilities and more of the sights in Strafotd upon Avon. With regards, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford-upon-Avon
3.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,135 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
3.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Manor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stratford Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Manor Upon Avon
Hotel Stratford Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing