We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, would definitely return”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My husband booked the hotel as part of my birthday weekend. It is reallly well located, walking distance to the RSC, shops, sights & some lovely restaurants.
To look at it's not as pretty as the Macdonald across the road, but it's lovely inside. Nicely decorated, very clean, with friendly and efficent staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Hotel carpark was free. The breakfast as yummy & service was good. Our room was beautiful, overlooking the river. Very nicely decorated & very big.
We only stayed in Stratford for the saturday night but we're planning a return visit to Stratford next year for a long weekend & we'll definitely be staying at the Swan's Nest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_at_no2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind feedback, we are always happy to see guests return to us, as many of them do again and again, and the Swan’s Nest is certainly becoming a firm favourite with many travelers to Stratford upon Avon. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    596
    383
    141
    96
See reviews for
198
1,118
40
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Was a bit worried after reading previous reviews, but shouldnt have worried. Great location , rooms comfortable. Breakfast was ok but only ate there as was in the room price. As there is so much to see and do it stratford we didnt spend much time in the room so would go with a budget hotel next time. Overall good hotel but nothing out the ordinary. Ps get there early if you want to park in hotel car park

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
You need not have worried about reading previous reviews. We find Trip Advisor to be very subjective and whilst we listen to and taken heed of feedback from our guests, they do not always explain the best of what the team at the hotel has to offer. I am so very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and for future reference whilst we offer car parking at the hotel we do also offer overflow parking at our sister hotel, The Alveston Manor, which is just on the opposite side of the road.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We selected this as it was listed as a four star hotel. It is very convenient for the Town and the RSC. Our room was OK and had got everything we needed. Nothing special and no feel of luxury about it. The bathroom was small overall. We only had breakfast in the hotel. We selected continental breakfast which was distinctly average. Waited for toast, coffee, very poor selection of fruit. There obviously had been some there but the remants we left. It was only 8.45 when we dined but there was little replenishment. Only stayed one night and it was fine for that but so would've been the Travel Lodge. Bit disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback, we will use your comments to ensure improvements are made to the service that we provide. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed 9th July after seeing Macbeth at RSC (superb!). Room was above the "Bistro" so low noise. However, at midnight the music became louder and lasted until 1:30. When I complained in the morning the rude receptionist claimed it couldn't be in the hotel. Unbelievable!

Very poor value for money, the room was nothing special. I've wriiten to their HQ to complain but I'm not expecting a reply. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPSJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you very much for bringing to our attention the noise from below your room. As you are unable to update your review, I will inform travelers that you did write to our head office and we have written to you directly to apologise for the noise and to make recompense. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We booked and stayed over the of 2&3 July 2011We stayed here a year ago and all seemed fine, but this stay was totally different.
Lets just say at a room rate of £144 per night its just not up to standard, the decor is looking tired and a musty smell down the corridor. The full English was very poor quality on both mornings and i have had better in a supermarket restaurant and it was totally disorganised.
The Bar was closed from 10pm on a Saturday evening unless you wanted to buy a ticket to watch boxing! I was told "you can get a drink in the lounge" that's a couple of chairs in the lobby! Who's bright idea was that to charge guests who have paid nearly £300 for a weekend to enter the bar? Not good customer service!
The room was cleaned on the first morning, wait! no it wasn't. Just the bed was made and clean towels. nothing else was touched!
The car park is no longer just for guests, so don't just think your going to rock on in and park up on a Saturday and as from next year your also be paying for that service too (according to reception). You can park at the sister hotel which is a good 5 minute walk across a busy road with your bags!
Just one last moan, our bed was so hard it was unreal.
On the up side the aircon in the bedroom was fab and the staff are polite plus its in a great location.
We want to go back to Stratford next year for another weekend but i guess we will be looking for another hotel this time. Which is a real shame.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Firstly may I apologise on behalf of our third party caterers, Le Bistrot Pierre, I was very disappointed that they had not communicated to you correctly, that use of the bar was complimentary for hotel residents. As you can imagine with any busy hotel, bar and restaurant being used by the public, areas can at times be crowded and I am sorry that on this occasion you were unable to get a seat in our bar area. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights of the 1st & 2nd July with my hudsband and his brother stayed for 1 night on the 2nd as we were going to see Macbeth. Having stayed at numerous Madonald hotels we automatically booked at The Swans Nest looking forward to the usual standards of accommodation and service. I must stress the staff were excellent, polite, hard working and eager to help where they could. The hotel was full and we discovered the bar was showing the fight on Saturday night- not exactly the ambience we expected and were not advised of thisd prior to arrival.
I had requested a low level room with river view. I got an upper floor with view of extension to rear of building and no lift so we had to struggle up stairs.
We were shown into a neat but tiny room however because we were going to dinner I didn't check the bathroom which we discovered at 11pm was a shower only- I NEVER book rooms with a shower only! The hotel is shabby-windows pratically falling out-torn net curtains-nothing like any of the other Macdonald hotels we have stayed in.
I could go on at length but have written to the management so await their response. The final touch was the service at the bar on Saturday night- I requested an Irish coffee and was told I could have it with milk as they had no cream!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HertfordshireWorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We paid £150 for a double room on Sat 2nd July. We entered the hotel through the back door off the car park, and the smell of damp was overwhelming. It smelt very musty as you walked through the corridors to main reception. This was smarter with an open reception area. We were in a room along the musty corridor though, and although the room was clean, it was very small, and when I opened the window the wooden window sill was completely rotten and you could have just peeled off a chunk if you wanted to.

The bed was big and comfy, but 2 twins put together so you had an annoying ridge in the middle.

To top it all, breakfast was not included in the rate, booked through Booking.com, I thought it was and was very disappointed in the morning. We asked if we could still have breakfast in the hotel, and we could for £17.50 EACH.

In summary, a highly overpriced room, a highly overpriced breakfast and not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bath024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing