We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure to stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure to stay at this hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

l returned home yesterday feeling suitably refreshed after my few days away. The Swans Nest has a very calm atmosphere. Excellent location being close to the river, town & theatre. On our first day we enjoyed a long riverside walk to a country pub for lunch, next day was shopping in the town and on our last day a boat trip, followed by a matinee at the RSC. Incidentally, a very funny play, well worth seeing if you can. Each evening back to the hotel to be spoilt & waited on. Not surprisingly I slept well! Room was a good size, newly decorated with a large comfortable bed & excellent shower in the en-suite.

Room Tip: My room was quiet, over-looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    589
    374
    137
    95
See reviews for
196
1,097
39
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I am disabled and in a wheel chair. My original booking was for Alveston Manor however on arrival found that it was a wheelchair nightmare, due to the large number of different levels requiring ramps.However this problem was quickly and very efficiently dealt with as the Swan's Nest Hotel 50 metres away is also a Macdonald hotel. The staff at Alveston Manor made all the arrangements and it was a success made out of a possible disaster. The Swan's Nest had rooms on th ground floor and easy access to dining room, bedroom and Car Park.Our stay was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The food especially was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandersnatch70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Central location and hotel is excellent. Staff are very friendly

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, there are plently
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublincrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our first ever visit to Stratford... Researched on-line & got what seemed a good price on McDonald's website at the 4-star Swans Nest...£80 per night excluding breakfast. At least it's claimed as a 4 star...

It looked quite good driving by...However, from our arrival really disappointing... faded carpets throughout, depressing dark reception, very tired & basic room, zero view, no internet possible in room, phone not working & never fixed, room hot 'n stuffy, poor shower...

Reception & other staff pleasant & helpful but couldn't compensate for a very tired, shabby in places hotel in urgent need of investment and refurbishment.

We were given a special £9 breakfast offer on arrival & accepted... and actually had quite a reasonable dinner that night in the Bistro Pierre ... but next morning breakfast was just awful...slow service, our kippers were inedible & as tough as old boots... And what type of management permits sauce in disgustingly recycled HP/ Heinz bottles with bottles/ grubby labels that should have been in the bin months earlier...!!

Staff apologised for service & quality of food & said they were unexpectedly short staffed...We requested & were given a free breakfast the following morning but again below par food... with our neighbours in a cramped restaurant (they'd obviously squeezed in an extra row of tables for two) ... experiencing the same disappointment...We ought to have gone out for breakfast..!!

Thankfully we really enjoyed Stratford, but I could kick myself for choosing the hotel because it totally detracted from an otherwise pleasant holiday....Would never return to the Swan's Nest & would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelangelo25s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2010, hoping for a short romantic getaway, during our Xmas holiday, we had a lovely evening in Stratford. On returning to the hotel and settling down in our room at approx. 11.30pm, the people in the next room decided to have what sounded like a party with other guests. We rang reception to ask them if they could have a word with our neighbours and attempted to get to sleep. 15 minutes later we still couldn't sleep and so spoke to reception again to ask if they had been to the room next door, they said they had stood outside the room and could hear no problem. Zero customer service, what a disgrace, I wouldn't stay here again if it was for free or if you paid me.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Thanks to all the staff who made our stay for my wife's 40th birthday very special. The accommodation was excellent, very clean, very comfortable, quiet and with lovely views towards the RSC. Car parking was good and the access to the centre of town is superb.
The reception team were excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to receive such positive comments from our guests, which confirms the commitment by the team at the hotel to provide excellent customer service – I have passed your comments to them.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We would recommend a stay here for its position (very close to the theatre) but mainly for the attitude of the staff . We were given excellent service for the whole stay . Nothing was too much trouble -exceptional!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymraes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
We are always very pleased to receive such positive feedback, especially when the feedback includes the words excellent and exceptional. We do hope that future visitors are able to read your review and will understand the great experience that my team try to provide for their guests.
Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing