We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value with friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Excellent value
Great, friendly staff
Perfectly prepared and maintained rooms and facilites
Great location

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    590
    374
    138
    95
See reviews for
196
1,098
39
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed here for a theatre visit - excellent location across the river from the New Theatre. The rooms are clean, tidy and entirely suitable for a short stay. (two nights) breakfast was fine and I think all round good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KiwiintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed for one night, very nice hotel, staff were very friendly and attentive, the room was very spacious and clean.
We enjoyed or stay in Stratford and this hotel is in a superb location with the town centre only a few mins walk away.
It was nice to be able to enjoy the spa facilities at the sister hotel the Alveston Manor across the road.
Overall a very successful stay, highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyFoggPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We, my husband, 13 yr old daughter and ,I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Swans Nest. We stayed as we were visiting Warwick castle and 2 plays at the RSC. What can one say when it is everything it is advertised as. Fab.
I am no hotel inspector but I do expect value for money, pleasent staff, clean rooms and good food. Not always recieved at some hotels.

Reception- What a welcoming and friendly based area. It is so calm and relaxing. The girls work so hard and very effiecient , especially Ageta. Their motto' You are made to feel special' and you are. No one should ever feel out of place here. They cannot do enough to help you. Even when they are under intense pressure it does not show through their commitment to customer service. Well done girls! A credit to the MacDonalds Chain.

Rooms- We stayed in room 63. A feature room ( I think) . We have stayed in exceutive rooms before but this was so large, really roomy especially with 3 people. Large bathroom with fab shower. Sofa, fridge, extremely large comfortable bed and pillows. !! My fav the slippers and dressing gown.! Love the dressing gown. Only little prob was, as it is on the 1st floor , within very close proximity to the dinning area and pub , we could hear the bass from the music vibrating through. We mentioned it 1st night and was turned down immediately. 2nd night was the same. We mentioned again. Next day mentioned to reception who could not apologise enough. We really did not want to complain or make an issue as it was not that loud ,it was just a background noise late at night that we wanted staff to be aware of. Reception staff were horrified to know our concern and insisted on changing our room. We left our bags etc , went out , came back and were handed keys to room 34 . All our belongings etc carefully removed and replaced in this , another large fab room. We felt like royalty. We could not have been treated any better in we were staying in Buckingham Palace!

Breakfast was really good. Every morning we were greeted with a smile shown our table or even asked where would we like to sit! Immediately , had coffee and tea brought , even hot chocolate for our daughter, with toast, and within minutes a wonderful cooked breakfast. This made a really nice change to the buffett breakfasts some hotel chains do.! This service was provided every day even under the intense pressure of coach parties etc . The service didn't falter!!

Well this was our little stay in the Swan's Nest. Which we throughly enjoyed and did not want to come home. It made our visit to Stratford even more memorable and is definately on our list of hotels to return to. This particular MacDonald Hotel holds a definate recommendation to use . We have used the MacDonalds chain before but were slightly disappointed with service and food. Just goes to show having the staff to maintain and deliver good standards pays with exceptional results.

If you are thinking of staying or even booking your wedding , go ahead, dont hesitate!! The Swans Nest comes very highly recommended and would be a dream venue for your special day!
THANK YOU the SWANS NEST and look forward to our next visit.!

Room Tip: Ask for Request a quieter room and try to upgrade to a feature or Executive room. You want be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumandAbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

l returned home yesterday feeling suitably refreshed after my few days away. The Swans Nest has a very calm atmosphere. Excellent location being close to the river, town & theatre. On our first day we enjoyed a long riverside walk to a country pub for lunch, next day was shopping in the town and on our last day a boat trip, followed by a matinee at the RSC. Incidentally, a very funny play, well worth seeing if you can. Each evening back to the hotel to be spoilt & waited on. Not surprisingly I slept well! Room was a good size, newly decorated with a large comfortable bed & excellent shower in the en-suite.

Room Tip: My room was quiet, over-looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I am disabled and in a wheel chair. My original booking was for Alveston Manor however on arrival found that it was a wheelchair nightmare, due to the large number of different levels requiring ramps.However this problem was quickly and very efficiently dealt with as the Swan's Nest Hotel 50 metres away is also a Macdonald hotel. The staff at Alveston Manor made all the arrangements and it was a success made out of a possible disaster. The Swan's Nest had rooms on th ground floor and easy access to dining room, bedroom and Car Park.Our stay was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The food especially was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandersnatch70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Central location and hotel is excellent. Staff are very friendly

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, there are plently
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublincrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing