We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location, friendly staff, very clean, good food, left something in our room and they sent it to me promptly. There ia a lot to do locally and even in bad weather you are so central that it is easy to get around on foot. Window frames need replacing when capital expenditure becomes available.

Room Tip: Floors facing river are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    607
    392
    148
    102
See reviews for
204
1,142
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
COLGATE, Horsham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The staff were unfailingly pleasant respectful and helpful. We want breakfast outside - they prepared a table. We want fresh milk in our room - it arrives swiftly. We want information about the town - they provide a plan. Theatres are easily and quickly reached. Bistro Chez Pierre gave value for what we ordered. We stayed B+B and found breakfast very sustaining!

But unlike most other places (including Ronald Macdonalds and many pubs) I have stayed this year, there is no free wifi - bt prices are either £5.99 for a short session or £9.99 for 24 hours. If bt is your provider you may get it free. I found this meanness by the management.

And the property scores average, because the management have let a great many window frames rot - clearly visible from the outside.

The staff made our stay enjoyable - card for our Golden Wedding - and warm welcome.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the River and is a really nice 5 minute walk from the RSC theatres so a good base for a visit. The rooms are nothing special for the money (although I did not find the place run-down as others have said), we did not have a bath but there was a large walk in shower which we in any case prefer. They do charge £5 extra for parking, although this is competitive for the centre of Stratford and they allow parking for the whole day following an overnight. Food at breakfast was fine (good black pudding a highlight for me) but the service was dire, slow even though the restaurant was half empty and they needed three reminders to bring coffee/milk. The mother and daughter at the table next two us had to ask three times for tomato sauce...

I'd have no hesitation in staying overnight again, but would eat breakfast out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Nice rooms and good location. Close to the RSC theatre and the centre of town. No bath in our room. Breakfast was okay. Staff at breakfast were slow and scrambled egg wasn't nice. General decor is as expected and quite nice though the windows need a touch up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and unfortunately it seems as if Macdonald are happy not to invest to make the most of a superbly placed hotel. We had a weekend stay and took advantage of the hotel's location by walking into Stratford and having drinks by the river. This is not a four star hotel and won't be until extensive improvements are made. Check-in was quick and efficient. There is a musty smell in the corridors, old carpets and a broken table propping open a door. The rooms are tired, with old furnishings which need to be replaced if this hotel is to move with the times. The window ledges were almost paintless. The thing that I really don't like about this place is that the restaurant and bar do not belong to the hotel. However, the Bear pub is excellent, with outdoor seating by the river. But breakfast at the restaurant, Le Bistrot Pierre, was terrible. The quality and selection of food on offer was poor. It looks like it is prepared with cost in mind. The cooked breakfast was horrible. My wife asked for soft boiled eggs, but what she got was hard boiled eggs! Incredible, a chef that can't even cook eggs properly! Other people were complaining too. If I stay at the hotel again I will be avoiding breakfast. I think Macdonald should be ensuring that the breakfast served is up to the standards of their hotels. This one sadly is the worst breakfast I have ever had in a UK hotel. The reception manager was an absolute gem, so helpful and always polite. Her receptionist colleague was also superb. The only four star quality of this hotel is the reception staff! Not good enough from Macdonald....

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesAVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The rooms are run down, basic and uncomfortable. The hotel caters to a rough drinking crowd with live music in the pub on the same site. as such I would recommend avoiding if you want a sociable or pleasant stay away!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I arrived on Friday afternoon. Not the best time as Stratford was heaving because of the Olympics. From the picture in the brochure we expected a quiet hotel in it's own grounds. It was on a main road right next to the river walkway. The walk from the carpark was through corridors and it looked like a student university block. The decoration was tatty. The check in was efficient and the room the usual cleanliness expected of a Macdonald Hotel, however, it was small. There was only one bedside table we had to use the desk/dressing table. The bathroom was fine and the shower was lovely. The evening meal was not the usual Macdonald standard and afterwards there was no where for a quiet drink. We sat in the reception area and the table were dirty, full of used glasses and crisp packets. Someone did eventually move these but did not clean the table. The room itself was quiet ,no outside noise, but the air con. noisy and I switched it off which meant that the room was hot! Breakfast next day was disappointing. I was given one cup of coffee and had to ask for more. The food was ok., not great. Service was o. but not good. Compared to other four star Macdonald Hotels this was poor. The duty manager was polite and efficient and tried to get us a room in the sister hotel but they were booked up. We only stayed one night out of two. Home was much quieter!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing