We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to stratford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Excellent location but terrible experience. Stayed in an executive room. Room was clean and airconditioning good but bed was the most uncomfortable I have had since my early days in a basic youth hostel. Mentioned to reception but can't believe this hasn't been brought to their attention before. Breakfast service was chaotic with limited if zero supervision of young team of staff. Hotel was expensive and probably the worst McDonald hotel I've stayed in. I'm no snob but some peoples earlier reviews are hard to believe. I either had a really off day in terms of room or service or some people are easily pleased! I wonder if the comments card I completed was handed in by reception! I doubt it....beautiful town rubbish hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel was ok, but I wouldn't stay there again as it was quite pricey and that wasn't reflected in the appearance of the hotel and service.
The room was nice but from the exterior all the windows we're rotting and needed replacing, it was just tatty. It was one of those British hotels that has passed its sell by date but no one has told them.

Room Tip: I would go for a room at the back away from the pub if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Really great location near the river, the town, the theatres etc but the place is so shabby . rooms average size but a gruby and faded . I was amazed when I saw it was a MacDonalds hotel (partner had booked ) as the one in Cambridge is really nice. Breakfast was NOT good, please eat out , the town with a great variety is just 5 mins away. Staff were deliberately ignoring customers , they weren't that busy so I'd have to put the blame on the manageress (who seemed in a dream ). check in staff good, very friendly and efficient. Not a good crowd in the bar area , and would not feel comfortable having a drink there after theatre. Not sure I would return ....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plasticpaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location, friendly staff, very clean, good food, left something in our room and they sent it to me promptly. There ia a lot to do locally and even in bad weather you are so central that it is easy to get around on foot. Window frames need replacing when capital expenditure becomes available.

Room Tip: Floors facing river are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The staff were unfailingly pleasant respectful and helpful. We want breakfast outside - they prepared a table. We want fresh milk in our room - it arrives swiftly. We want information about the town - they provide a plan. Theatres are easily and quickly reached. Bistro Chez Pierre gave value for what we ordered. We stayed B+B and found breakfast very sustaining!

But unlike most other places (including Ronald Macdonalds and many pubs) I have stayed this year, there is no free wifi - bt prices are either £5.99 for a short session or £9.99 for 24 hours. If bt is your provider you may get it free. I found this meanness by the management.

And the property scores average, because the management have let a great many window frames rot - clearly visible from the outside.

The staff made our stay enjoyable - card for our Golden Wedding - and warm welcome.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the River and is a really nice 5 minute walk from the RSC theatres so a good base for a visit. The rooms are nothing special for the money (although I did not find the place run-down as others have said), we did not have a bath but there was a large walk in shower which we in any case prefer. They do charge £5 extra for parking, although this is competitive for the centre of Stratford and they allow parking for the whole day following an overnight. Food at breakfast was fine (good black pudding a highlight for me) but the service was dire, slow even though the restaurant was half empty and they needed three reminders to bring coffee/milk. The mother and daughter at the table next two us had to ask three times for tomato sauce...

I'd have no hesitation in staying overnight again, but would eat breakfast out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Nice rooms and good location. Close to the RSC theatre and the centre of town. No bath in our room. Breakfast was okay. Staff at breakfast were slow and scrambled egg wasn't nice. General decor is as expected and quite nice though the windows need a touch up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,825 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £73 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing