We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - is this really a MacDonald Hotel ???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible - is this really a MacDonald Hotel ???”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Nothing at all positive to say about this very poor excuse for a MacDonald Hotel other than the location is excellent. On our first eveing, we didn't even wait for a dessert with our meal as the staff were far too busy to attend to us. First night we were tired after a long journey so tried to get some early sleep. Not a chance ! Music coming up through the floor into our room from the bistro directly below us. We complained and the music was turned down but was still clearly audible. However, the worst was yet to come at the next morning's chaotic and shambolic breakfast service. We were shown to a table where a customer had his clothes strewn across the seats and we were expected to sort this out. The breakfast process was not explained to us. We had to ask several times for basics such as tea, coffee, toast, cups & saucers, plates. We went for a relaxing break but were stressed out after less than 24 hours in this place. Yes, when we complained we were moved to a different room which was clearly inferior but by that time we didn't have the energy to mention this. They also took 50% off our first night's bill but this was the very least we expected. If you are used to luxury from a MacDonald Hotel you will not recognise any of that from this hotel. As a result, we will never book with MacDonald again.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    607
    392
    149
    102
See reviews for
204
1,143
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, missouri
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends. Other than the location there is little to say good or bad about this hotel. It is the place for tours so if you are traveling on your own be aware. The management was no help with any of our few requests. The rooms were very average. You are in a good location though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Swan's Nest last summer and reviewed it highly.
I would agree with my previous thoughts that this is a lovely hotel, friendly staff on Reception, spacious and clean bedroom with a very comfy bed.
We chose this hotel due to an excellent experience last year and the fantastic location.
However, this year we had to pay £5 to park the car on the hotel car park, whereas last summer this was free to hotel guests.
Breakfast is served on Sunday mornings between 8 & 10.30am. We arrived in the restaurant shortly after 9 and it took a few minutes for anyone to come over and seat us. Although we were asked for our tea, coffee & toast order it took over 15 mins for the tea to arrive and this only arrived after we asked for it a second time. As for the toast??? Eventually our food order was taken but when mine arrived it was wrong and when I pointed this out to the waitress she quite rudely looked at me as if i was bonkers for questioning.
We heard a number of guests complaning to the waitresses about various things. Don't get me wrong the staff were working hard but sadly not really achieving much. Tables with used plates, cups and cutlery were left after guests departed and people had to wait at the door for a clean table.
All in all, the breakfast & the service really let the hotel down this time.
Considering that this is a MacDonald and not the cheapest hotel in Stratford they really need to sort this issue out.
It's diffcult to give a rating to 'service' below because most staff were lovely and very helpful, with the breakfast disaster letting them down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred_at_no2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice, both visits have been excellent. The hotel is modern, clean and well furnished. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The location is perfect, close to the river for pleasant walks and a short walk to the Theatre and then into town. The restaurant is of an excellent quality and I feel is very good value for money (although not cheap).
We will be visiting this hotel again. This year we did have to pay for parking £5 for the whole of our visit, last year hotel residents did not pay for car parking. This is the only issue at this hotel but will not deter us from visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne242_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

On Friday 17th August 2012 myself, my wife, my cousin and his wife arrived at The Swan's Nest for a three night stay and unfortunately the stay did not get off to the best of starts.
We were greeted by two female receptionists who at best could be described as ' surly' as we were not welcomed in the manner befitting to a hotel of this standard and certainly not to customers who are spending a considerable amount of money for a 3 night 'bed and breakfast only package'.
On checking in I was asked to pay for the package up front - I understand this is probably protocol for this kind of deal, whatI did not expect is the extremely 'rude' attitude that we had to endure from the receptionist, to say we were belittled was an understatement! To add insult to injury I was then informed that an extra £250 would be added to my credit card to cover any 'possible extras'. This is certainly not a practice I am used to and insulting to say the least!!! It goes without saying that I did not accept this 'attempt at extorting' money from me and made us feel that we were viewed as dishonorable customers who potentially had not intention of settling their extras' at the end of our stay! Not the warm and welcoming start that we should have experienced!
We were then not offered any escort to our rooms or for our luggage to be taken there for us, again a surprise for what is 'branded' as a premium priced hotel.
During the check-in experience my wife went outside for a cigarette and did not notice the designated smoking area due to the upsetting experience that she had just witnessed at reception. She was asked to move to the three wet tables where smoking was permitted, however there was nowhere for her to sit. Whilst out there she observed that this designated 'smoking' area had quite obviously not been tended to for a while as it was full of cigarette ends. Even as a smoker, she found this absolutely both disgusting and unacceptable for a premium priced hotel. She commented on this to a member of staff but no action was taken over the period of our stay, in fact it got considerably worse as the hotel entertained a wedding party the next day , not only with the addition of a huge number of cigarette ends but also empty bottles that were strewn about the area for the most of the day/evening.
On Friday evening we then entertained another 5 guests for dinner and we entertained our guests in the Bistro Pierre - the food was good however the service by young and very inexperienced staff was very slow, again for a hotel of this premium this is unacceptable.
As mentioned previously, on the Saturday the hotel entertained a wedding - no particular problem with that although as guests returning from a meal outside of the hotel we found there was no where for us to sit in the evening. In fact the only table we could find was outside where we ordered coffee and brandy's however, we found that we had to wait one whole hour to get out order. The waiter did apologise, however as paying guests this situation certainly should not have happened in the first place. The hotel should staff accordingly to cater for not only a wedding but also the number of other guests that are staying there to cater for their needs sufficiently, and to be honest there was no evidence of this at all over our stay.
The next morning on route to breakfast my wife had to step around two piles of 'vomit' that were in the corridor outside our room - again an absolutely disgusting sight to be greeted with. When she reported this to reception she was greeted with ' you should see the toilets they are full of vomit!!'' Not exactly an appropriate response to a paying guest who has had to endure the 'stench' of this first thing in the morning.
This is an extremely poor indictment of not only of the hotel but also the staff - our weekend that was not 'inexpensive' was a disaster and we shall not be returning let alone recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I recently visited this hotel with a view to using a voucher we had from the Macdonalds Group. We wanted to look at the evening menu as we were considering using our voucher towards an evening meal. We have stayed in many of the Groups Hotels and the standards have always been high so we thought we would try this hotel as we had not been there before. The foyer/reception area, on entering, had a tired look about it. Staff were attentive and friendly. I went to the male toilets and the door on entering had a sticky feel to it. When I went inside I was surprised to find a door completely missing off one of the cubicles, the toilet seat and fittings on the floor of the second, the third in a disgusting state (due to not being cleaned with a brush for some time) and the one remaining one usable. These were the worst toilets I have seen in any of the Group's Hotels and a really bad advert for the company. Neither my wife nor I felt we wanted to eat at the establishment and so left and booked our meal at the hotel across the road (Alveston Manor). We noticed that a 'Trip Advisor Award' had been given to the Swan's Nest Hotel in 2011, sadly we would disagree on this occassion. We like to be very fair in any feedback we give so as we did not stay or dine we cannot comment on any of these areas. Perhaps our report may prompt the hotel to take action to bring matters up to standard. We hope so as Macdonalds is a high standard group and we have never been dissappointed in the past.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A very warm and welcoming Hotel beside the river and near the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres and the most historic town. Good food and very friendly and helpful staff and a fine breakfast in the morning!

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,289 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing