We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Let down by the food”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

First impressions are very good, a nice looking place in a good location, and a reasonable lobby area etc.

However the accomodation areas are variable, some looking like a college annex, although once in the room, they seem fine.

The food was mixed, bits ok, but some bits very poor. Fortunately the house red was pretty decent!

All in all, not a bad place to stay, but probably best to look elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    602
    383
    145
    100
See reviews for
200
1,129
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The staff at the hotel were very freindly and pleasant. However, they are let down by the tired and grubby feel of the hotel.

I stayed in Room 102 and the toilet seat was heavily stained with urine.
The quality of the food was poor.

It is such a shame that the owners of this hotel have let it get into such a poor state of disrepair as it was a favourite of ours.

We will not be returning and not recommending to others.

Room Tip: Go to the sister hotel the Alveston
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydOfMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Mixed feelings about this place. As has been said before, location couldn't be better. Reception staff were warm and friendly, and rooms were clean and comfortable. However, Bistrot Pierre, the restaurant, left a lot to be desired! First evening we arrived, ordered our starters and mains, and then waited...and waited. Eventually a waiter started to deliver the steak main courses - "Oh, haven't you had your starters yet?" so a take back and more waiting before they finally got the order right! Breakfast next morning again involved massive waits, even for a welcoming cup of coffee - only 1 Kona machine for a full room, and always running out! They really need to get their act together!

Room Tip: I think all rooms ok. The window-frames DESPERATELY need repainting/replacing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Nothing at all positive to say about this very poor excuse for a MacDonald Hotel other than the location is excellent. On our first eveing, we didn't even wait for a dessert with our meal as the staff were far too busy to attend to us. First night we were tired after a long journey so tried to get some early sleep. Not a chance ! Music coming up through the floor into our room from the bistro directly below us. We complained and the music was turned down but was still clearly audible. However, the worst was yet to come at the next morning's chaotic and shambolic breakfast service. We were shown to a table where a customer had his clothes strewn across the seats and we were expected to sort this out. The breakfast process was not explained to us. We had to ask several times for basics such as tea, coffee, toast, cups & saucers, plates. We went for a relaxing break but were stressed out after less than 24 hours in this place. Yes, when we complained we were moved to a different room which was clearly inferior but by that time we didn't have the energy to mention this. They also took 50% off our first night's bill but this was the very least we expected. If you are used to luxury from a MacDonald Hotel you will not recognise any of that from this hotel. As a result, we will never book with MacDonald again.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, missouri
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends. Other than the location there is little to say good or bad about this hotel. It is the place for tours so if you are traveling on your own be aware. The management was no help with any of our few requests. The rooms were very average. You are in a good location though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Swan's Nest last summer and reviewed it highly.
I would agree with my previous thoughts that this is a lovely hotel, friendly staff on Reception, spacious and clean bedroom with a very comfy bed.
We chose this hotel due to an excellent experience last year and the fantastic location.
However, this year we had to pay £5 to park the car on the hotel car park, whereas last summer this was free to hotel guests.
Breakfast is served on Sunday mornings between 8 & 10.30am. We arrived in the restaurant shortly after 9 and it took a few minutes for anyone to come over and seat us. Although we were asked for our tea, coffee & toast order it took over 15 mins for the tea to arrive and this only arrived after we asked for it a second time. As for the toast??? Eventually our food order was taken but when mine arrived it was wrong and when I pointed this out to the waitress she quite rudely looked at me as if i was bonkers for questioning.
We heard a number of guests complaning to the waitresses about various things. Don't get me wrong the staff were working hard but sadly not really achieving much. Tables with used plates, cups and cutlery were left after guests departed and people had to wait at the door for a clean table.
All in all, the breakfast & the service really let the hotel down this time.
Considering that this is a MacDonald and not the cheapest hotel in Stratford they really need to sort this issue out.
It's diffcult to give a rating to 'service' below because most staff were lovely and very helpful, with the breakfast disaster letting them down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred_at_no2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice, both visits have been excellent. The hotel is modern, clean and well furnished. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The location is perfect, close to the river for pleasant walks and a short walk to the Theatre and then into town. The restaurant is of an excellent quality and I feel is very good value for money (although not cheap).
We will be visiting this hotel again. This year we did have to pay for parking £5 for the whole of our visit, last year hotel residents did not pay for car parking. This is the only issue at this hotel but will not deter us from visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne242_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing