We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - fabulous breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location - fabulous breakfast”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was the first hotel of our tour - our expectations were high. These were all met - lovely room, excellent staff - great location. Lovely photo spots around the river, very close to many tourist venues.Would stay there again. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    602
    383
    144
    100
See reviews for
200
1,129
40
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I loved the bedroom I was allocated at this hotel. It was spacious, well furnished, with a very comfortable bed. It was spotlessly clean, as was the joining en-suite which benefited from having a bath - not just a shower. It was in the older part of the hotel and had a very efficient air con system.

The location of the hotel is great for both the town and the theatre.

The breakfasts were fine food wise but they seemed rather chaotic and frenetic with people getting up from their tables to go and ask staff for items which they had requested which hadn't arrived at their tables. I had to ask for my tea 3 times! However, in its own way it added to the charm of this hotel but if you were a business person in need of an efficient breakfast service this may not be the hotel for you.

We had lunch in the Bistrot Pierre restaurant ( where the breakfasts are served ) and the service was completely different - very organised and efficient and the food was great too.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. I felt it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms in the older part of the building. We had friends in the newer part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel when going to a performance at the RST. It is in a busy location just the other side of the river from the theatre. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean, with en-suite bathroom and TV. The Bistrot Pierre does a good early-evening meal for the benefit of theatre-goers: the food is Frenchified (although not particularly French), and was well-cooked and presented. There is a decent wine list. The adjacent bar stocks a good range of real ales, and was pretty crowded that lunchtime and evening: fortunately the hotel is relaxed about customers taking their drinks through into the lobby, where there are a number of chairs and tables. The hotel has its own car park, which costs £5 extra (their website does make this clear); when we arrived, however, it was full and we had to park in a municipal car-park a couple of hundred meters away. Because we had paid for this, the hotel kindly waived their own parking charge. On balance the hotel did a good job of managing what was clearly a full house, and we would recommend the Swan's Nest to short-term visitors to Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excellent location a short walk from theatre. However this is a mediocre run down hotel in need of a repaint and refit and a new service ethic. It is a very misleading photo and advertising as most of the hotel is a grim 1970s extension that just goes on and on round dark corridors. They make their money from coach loads of tourists, so don't have to bother with service.
The ventilation in our room let in smoke. Breakfast was a shambles, lost coffee order, dirty and unlaid tables, dirty cups (we dont check them!), no salmon (its not my fault!) and so on. It is over priced for what it is. 4 start rating must come from link with sister hotel over the road. There are many much better and cheaper B&Bs that offer better accommodation and service almost as near to the theatre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHERINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For visitors to Stratford, especially the theatre this is a perfect location. This is an unusual configuration for a Macdonald's hotel, being a combination of a pub - The Bear, open for public use, a busy French style bistro again, opening on to the street , then a vast labyrinth of hotel corridors which, strangely, also seem to be open for public access, though, to be fair our two night stay was over an exceptionally hot weekend so perhaps outer doors had been left open for air.
All that apart, all our experiences with staff, service, comfort, peace and quiet also food were first class.Our room was large with excellent facilities and a much appreciated powerful air con system which came into its own in 26 degree outside temperatures. One tiny gripe would be with the £5 parking charge for the use of the car park.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We came to visit Stratford on the busiest weekend of the year. The river festival was taking place. The car park was jam packed and the hotel receptionist came outside to show us where to park. She then took care of my over night bag and got us checked in hassle free. She also explained that because of the festival an extra 33,000 people would be descending on stratford and that many of the restaurants would be getting booked up and offered to make us a reservation. The hotel was clean and tidy the bar meal was extensive and the breakfast was of high quality. Lots of students working really hard behind bar and in restaurant area giving excellent customer service and not taking proper breaks eating whilst they go a real credit !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowchickajojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Initial external impression could dissuade from staying. The frontage is on a busy road that could assume property and rooms noisy. Concealed behind though is a U shaped building and consequently quite rooms. The external facade badly needs a paint, indeed the peeling white window frames suggest poor maintenance. The central grassed courtyard area is also very bland. A bit of TLC in improving the garden could enhance the outdoors and improve impressions.
However, internally my room was both fresh, quiet and very comfortable. It had an up to date modern bathroom with heated towel rails. The bed was comfortable and the linen of good quality. All making for a restful night.
The hotel itself is a pleasant walk from town. My only food experience was the breakfast next morning which is sub-contracted to another company (cuisine with a French influence). The staff were most efficient and the ordered cooked breakfast was excellent (note - not a buffet).
In summary a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing