We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the heart of the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of the town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable offering a good breakfast.. The staff at reception are particularly helpful and friendly. Its in an ideal location if you want to go to the theatre and fit in a quick meal before the performance, it's all in good walking distance. The spa and swimming pool can be used at their other hotel across the road from where they are situated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lallie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    573
    366
    136
    94
See reviews for
190
1,070
39
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel was about a ten minute easy walk from the train station. It is on the edge of a park, next to the river. The river is home to so many swans! And across the park is the Royal Shakespeare Company Theater (don't miss a play there!) The hotel staff was friendly -- the breakfast manager was really personable and outgoing! We enjoyed the buffet breakfast (included) very much. There are two restaurants on site, we enjoyed fish and chips in the "Bear Free House and Kitchen" while watching Wimbledon on one of the the big TVs. Loved it here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemere, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Met all our expectations. Location, staff, proximity to tourist sights. Staff very helpful especially Arthur at the front desk. Should you need anything be sure to ask him. Refurbished room with new bathroom and air conditioning. Clean, quiet, pretty surroundings. Would definitely stay here again ! Maybe next year !

Room Tip: Room facing inter-garden away from the main street. I would have loved to post a photo but all my p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is an excellent Hotel - Good Value -Friendly & Excellent service Excellent Food & Bar. Hotel in walking distance of most Stratford sites. Also excellent centre for touring the area. Close to Town & River nice for evening walks. Walking distance for Royal Shakespeare.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was the first hotel of our tour - our expectations were high. These were all met - lovely room, excellent staff - great location. Lovely photo spots around the river, very close to many tourist venues.Would stay there again. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I loved the bedroom I was allocated at this hotel. It was spacious, well furnished, with a very comfortable bed. It was spotlessly clean, as was the joining en-suite which benefited from having a bath - not just a shower. It was in the older part of the hotel and had a very efficient air con system.

The location of the hotel is great for both the town and the theatre.

The breakfasts were fine food wise but they seemed rather chaotic and frenetic with people getting up from their tables to go and ask staff for items which they had requested which hadn't arrived at their tables. I had to ask for my tea 3 times! However, in its own way it added to the charm of this hotel but if you were a business person in need of an efficient breakfast service this may not be the hotel for you.

We had lunch in the Bistrot Pierre restaurant ( where the breakfasts are served ) and the service was completely different - very organised and efficient and the food was great too.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. I felt it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms in the older part of the building. We had friends in the newer part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel when going to a performance at the RST. It is in a busy location just the other side of the river from the theatre. Our bedroom was very comfortable and clean, with en-suite bathroom and TV. The Bistrot Pierre does a good early-evening meal for the benefit of theatre-goers: the food is Frenchified (although not particularly French), and was well-cooked and presented. There is a decent wine list. The adjacent bar stocks a good range of real ales, and was pretty crowded that lunchtime and evening: fortunately the hotel is relaxed about customers taking their drinks through into the lobby, where there are a number of chairs and tables. The hotel has its own car park, which costs £5 extra (their website does make this clear); when we arrived, however, it was full and we had to park in a municipal car-park a couple of hundred meters away. Because we had paid for this, the hotel kindly waived their own parking charge. On balance the hotel did a good job of managing what was clearly a full house, and we would recommend the Swan's Nest to short-term visitors to Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing