We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
1,887 results
Traveller rating
548
647
415
166
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
647
415
166
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbistrot pierresister hotel across the roadcar parkexcellent locationtown centrecomfortable hotelrsc theatreleisure facilitiesexecutive roomfresh milkenjoyable stayweekend breakevening mealbreakfast was excellentone night stayfull english
Filter
Updating list...
1,513 - 1,518 of 1,887 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Bear bar at this hotel is first class in every way. It is a regular in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide. There is a wide choice of reasonably priced top quality beer. The roast beef was great! Go there, you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the evening of the 9th august 2013. Having arrived late at about 7pm, we decided to just eat in the hotel restaurant. We got the last table available at 8.15pm.

The service was ok, a bit slow on the drinks, food nice, but nothing spectacular, it was just the usual type of food from a restaurant chain. I did think the prices were on the high side for the quality, but it filled a gap, Had we been staying another night we would definately gone out into town.
The room was ok, nothing to shout about. clean and serviceable. bed just a normal size double. pillows were very soft which some may like, but I prefer something a little firmer for support.

There was no air conditioning and the room was very warm, we had to have the window open all night, which when we were going to the restaurant for breakfast we realised everyone else had done the same, apparently the air-con was not working throughout the hotel, a fact that they didn't mention on booking in.

The general appearance of the hotel in the main lobby area was nice, but corridors and a garden area we crossed to get to our room was rather shabby, window fames needed a good coat of paint, doors also, carpets a bit shabby. Not that it really spoilt our stay, but it does look a bit uncared for. The front of the hotel was fine, and on the hot evening lots of people were gathered around the front, drinking and enjoying the evening.

There is plenty of parking, at a small charge. although arriving late we did struggle, but squeezed in!

There is also some sort of bar/food place across from the hotel playing music and lots of tables for the folk to sit at and have a drink and enjoy the river area.

Its just a short walk into the town over a bridge and through a mooring area for barges etc. just about 5mins, and on a warm evening it was very pleasant.

The breakfast was a bit of a disaster, staff over worked to serve, and the wrong items being brought, a buffet style would have worked much better. They had no fresh orange at one point and there didn't seem to be any water. Again the restaurant was stuffy as no air con and strangely they did not open the doors onto terrace?

I would stay again for the location, but only if the air con was working, and I would not bother with the food in the hotel, i'd go into the town, so much choice and only a short walk.

My conclusion is ask if the air con is working before you go! and don't bother with the food, its ok but better is available a short walk away.

Room Tip: ask if the air con is working!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzyb135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent for access to stratford centre, the staff were helpful and friendly when we needed information.
The hotel is in need of a refurbishment the section we were staying in had rotten window frames, the air con system was broken throughout the hotel during our stay although they did provide a desk fan when we complained.
The bathroom was poor the shower couldn't be run at full pressure as the shower tray couldn't drain quick enough, the toilet flush didn't work properly and kept returning items!
The door plate was only hanging on by one screw, I don't want to seem petty but for a four star hotel at £120 a night I expected better value.
The breakfast was also disorganised we were told to sit where we wanted and all the tables for two were taken so we sat on a four table, then their wasn't enough tables for four so created a wait,we sat for 45 minutes waiting for our cooked breakfast as the kitchen was stretched to its limits and asked several times for coffee.Don't get me wrong all the staff were busy but there was nobody pulling all the efforts together and it spiralled downhill somewhat like fawlty towers,the table next to us got up and left because they had to be somewhere and had waited to long.
A well positioned hotel that needs some work doing on it and better organised food service to cope with busy times.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phonicsfella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Classic british hotel. Stayed here two nights and thoroughly thought it great value. Great location where you can pop over the road to sit on the banks of the Avon and drink a pint in their own beer garden and watch the action on the river. Staff were wonderful and friendly. A good hotel and value for money considering location, it has a great bar, good restaurant and large rooms.

Room Tip: ask for room upstairs with river view if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwtiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

WE had a great time at The Swans' Nest but the hotel does need some work. Our room was pleasant, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and we had a nice shower room. We looked out onto an inner garden and unfortunately I found the noise of an extractor fan annoying during the night.
Catering is managed by a group I have never come across, Bistro Pierre, who were excellent. Breakfasts were very good and meals in both the Bistro and the pub, The Bear, which they also manage were excellent and competetively priced. Both are very welcoming and have outside seating for the warm weather. A good move by Macdonalds to bring them in for this style of hotel.
Staff were very helpful, both Macdonalds and Bistro Pierre.
The hotel is in an excellent location almost alongside the river, adjacent to the gardens and walks alongside the river and a short walk into Stratford across a pedestrian bridge. You have the amenities of the town on your doorstep but are quietly cut off from them by the river.
Reccomended.
They take dogs in the classic rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing out from the hote if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bright Fame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews