We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, hotel very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location, hotel very good”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

this is an older hotel that has been modernized almost everywhere, the public areas are comfy and welcoming, but corridors are shabby. we booked an exec room and it was very well appointed and spacious. two of my favourite things were present in the bathroom, a great shower and decent towels but the toiletries are cheap and nasty, not befitting of a 4 star hotel from Macdonalds. Breakfast was shoddily served unfortunately, as the actual full English was well cooked and good quality. Disappointingly they had run out of ketchup which is a must have for me for a cooked breakfast.
It is a brilliant location for the town, and we would return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haroldsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    607
    392
    148
    101
See reviews for
204
1,140
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our first stay and we will go back. A comfortable, clean and quiet room on the 1st floor overlooking the river. Well appointed room with all the facilites one needs. The staff at Reception and at Breakfast were charming and helpful. A splendid location. The outside and interior corridors were a bit tired but the room was good - scaffoldling going up outside which may freshen it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We regularly stay at The Swan's Nest when visiting Stratford and are always happy. Room was comfortable, air conditioning first class and excellent shower. Breakfast was cooked to order and the coffee perfect!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendydavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Booked a one night stay here in an Executive Room as a treat for me & my partner. The location of the hotel was great & first impressions of were good - reception, bar & restaurant were really nice but that was certainly the best. We paid £145 for our room (without breakfast). It was nice but very tired looking. For example the windows really need attention, the wardrobe sliding door fell off & shower screen didn't stop water from going everywhere. The floorboards are extremely uneven & noisy - a problem in our room & indeed throughout the whole hotel. There were some nice touches such as free mineral water but that didn't really justify the room price. This was definitely not value for money. The main problem with our room is that the main extraction system coming from the kitchen ran up the wall outside our room & was very noisy. When I raised this matter on checkout the receptionist suggested that I should have asked for a quieter room when booking!! Not a very helpful suggestion - I replied saying surely customers will assume all rooms are quiet!!! Not a great end to our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicklehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. On arrival check in was very easy, the lady at the front desk was very helpful. We had an executive room which was a good size with a separate sofa area. The room was fine for a couple of nights however we would not have wanted to stay there much longer. Bed was comfy but room was very warm with no air conditioning.

The whole hotel could do with a bit of a revamp, some of the carpets are threadbare, some of the steps are actually broken, the place needs painted, the bathroom in the room could definitely do with an update.

You can use the pool and gym at the Alveston Manor across the road, we were bitterly disappointed by it. It was dirty with plasters lying around the pool and it really smelled.

Breakfast also never ran smoothly. It is served in Le Pierre Bistro. There was not a good buffet choice and the English breakfast was ordered and served to you. The first morning of our stay the sausages were rock hard, the bacon under-cooked and the food was cold however the second morning the breakfast was cooked perfectly. We did however have to wait a long time for toast, tea, dishes, cutlery and had to remind staff several times for these things.

We ate at the hotel restaurant in the evening and had a really delicious meal and the staff were extremely attentive.

Overall the hotel was alright for a weekend away but was definitely not up to the usual MacDonald hotel standards. We will not return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I stayed mid August. Excellent hotel and superb location. We had wonderful accommodation. The manager Agata, is professional, and always very helpful, should a need arise. We were pleasantly checked in by Claire P. We took 'cream tea' at the sister hotel across the way at the Alveston Manor. We were served by Ali Abdulla who was dressed smartly, extremely polite and professional in every way, and attentive when he should be. The scones, were warm and tasted amazingly good, and with the cream and jam mmmm...exquisite! The use of the swimming pool at the Alveston Manor is always an added bonus. Back at the Swan's Nest, the meal in the evening was good value, presented well and very tasty and imaginative. Staff extremely good and well organised. Unfortunately, the breakfast is another matter. Chaotic, not a good buffet choice. The young girl who seated us (sorry, but did not take her name), appeared to be as efficient as she could be allowed, with a few of the staff seemingly like headless chickens. A Welshman in particular, was far too over the top with his enthusiastic singing and whistling. He was like a bull in a china shop. At 9.00 am, one does not expect to wait for croissants, butter, milk cutlery, dishes, juice etc. Apparently, they were running late! The cooked breakfast was presented well, and was very tasty. We did have to ask again about the non arrival of our toast though. Otherwise, a good break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osborne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of RSC and a host of pubs, restaurants and shops. The bar serves 12 cask ales and is an ideal place to relax. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a car park charged at £5 per stay. An ideal location for a short break. We stayed in an executive double which was very spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing