We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointingly like a rather tired Travelodge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointingly like a rather tired Travelodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The room was perfectly adequate but we had been expecting something a little more characterful. The traditional part of the building is small and most of the rooms seem to be in a somewhat institutional-feeling, modern extension. A long corridor led to a room with no bathtub, and whose shower offered nothing but an overhead fitting - so it was an "all or nothing" deal when it came to personal hygiene! There was a small fridge but it offered only cold storage space - no mini-bar type goodies of any kind. The frame round our window was so rotten that chunks of it came away when we opened it for some air. In Stratford Upon Avon you would have thought it might be obvious that guests would appreciate having a decent map of the city centre and principal sights / places of interest available. But there was only a very dark photocopy of one on offer at the Reception desk, and no information whatever in the room. On the "plus" side, the staff kindly looked after our luggage after checkout, as our train back to London didn't leave until 5 in the afternoon, and the location, near the river and just across the bridge from the Royal Shakespeare theatre was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    567
    362
    135
    94
See reviews for
185
1,060
38
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 34 which appeared to have been recently updated with a wonderful shower in a new bathroom. The bedroom was huge with a separate lounge area. The hotel is in a great location, a pleasant short walk from all that Stratford has to offer.
The building appears to have been seriously neglected, but they appear to be working hard to sort things out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Be aware no lift, so had to struggle up stairs with luggage. Room small, shower over bath, armed chair grubby. Alarm engineers fixing new alarms in our room and testing, just what we needed when we wanted to chill. At breakfast by 9am had run out of orange juice, could not replenish as no more on premises. Not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. On the plus side bed was comfortable and linen clean

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

U.K.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

this is an older hotel that has been modernized almost everywhere, the public areas are comfy and welcoming, but corridors are shabby. we booked an exec room and it was very well appointed and spacious. two of my favourite things were present in the bathroom, a great shower and decent towels but the toiletries are cheap and nasty, not befitting of a 4 star hotel from Macdonalds. Breakfast was shoddily served unfortunately, as the actual full English was well cooked and good quality. Disappointingly they had run out of ketchup which is a must have for me for a cooked breakfast.
It is a brilliant location for the town, and we would return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haroldsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our first stay and we will go back. A comfortable, clean and quiet room on the 1st floor overlooking the river. Well appointed room with all the facilites one needs. The staff at Reception and at Breakfast were charming and helpful. A splendid location. The outside and interior corridors were a bit tired but the room was good - scaffoldling going up outside which may freshen it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We regularly stay at The Swan's Nest when visiting Stratford and are always happy. Room was comfortable, air conditioning first class and excellent shower. Breakfast was cooked to order and the coffee perfect!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendydavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Booked a one night stay here in an Executive Room as a treat for me & my partner. The location of the hotel was great & first impressions of were good - reception, bar & restaurant were really nice but that was certainly the best. We paid £145 for our room (without breakfast). It was nice but very tired looking. For example the windows really need attention, the wardrobe sliding door fell off & shower screen didn't stop water from going everywhere. The floorboards are extremely uneven & noisy - a problem in our room & indeed throughout the whole hotel. There were some nice touches such as free mineral water but that didn't really justify the room price. This was definitely not value for money. The main problem with our room is that the main extraction system coming from the kitchen ran up the wall outside our room & was very noisy. When I raised this matter on checkout the receptionist suggested that I should have asked for a quieter room when booking!! Not a very helpful suggestion - I replied saying surely customers will assume all rooms are quiet!!! Not a great end to our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicklehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing