We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always welcoming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We normally stay at the Swan's Nest when visiting Stratford. Bistro Pierre is friendly and good value, especially the Early Bird dinner. Bar food too, prepared in the same restaurant is good and bar staff friendly.
Car parking voucher at £5.00 is for the duration of your stay and not £5.00 per day as another review incorrectly stated, and they are happy for to check out and leave your car in the car park if you want to explore Stratford before leaving the town.
On our last visit 8/9 October 13, the newer wing was having new DG windows fitted and we were upgraded to a suite in the older part at no extra cost which was great. Staff are friendly and welcoming, and rooms are clean and tidy, perhaps slightly dated and in need of some TLC in some areas, but generally the Swan's Nest is very good value, comfortable and ideally located for all of Stratford on Avon, especially the RSC.

Room Tip: Cheapest prices always on the Macdonald website, and seasonal offers are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed here for a family trip and the hotel is ok but nothing special. Our room was quite nice but a relative said their toilet needed flushing when they entered the room and their room needed a good clean.

The hotel lacks a seating area except for a pub unless you want to sit in reception or your room. Staff weren't very helpful when we enquired about fixing a light in reception (it was very dark).

The hotel is extremely convenient for exploring stratford and did a good breakfast. I can't speak highly enough of the breakfast staff though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonalexander_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having stayed at a few MacDonald Hotels, I have to say the rooms here are not the best.

They are very small and just a bit past their best. The location of this hotel is fantastic, but they do charge £5 per day for parking.

Staff were friendly and we only ate breakfast which was OK, but nothing special.

Probably worth pointing out we only paid £62 for a twin room which included breakfast, so it was pretty good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank scottie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel is well situated by the river and ideal for the town centre , i must say i was expecting better for the macdonald group my room was ok a little dated and not worth the money having stayed in a lot of hotels including Macdonalds i thought the housekeeping was poor . Breakfast not worth the money and not consitstent if you can get service, although on a good point excellent service by the gentleman with the beard who seemed to be the only one up on customer service .
The bar you have to watch the prices you are being charged , parking when i first arrived was not good but was ok that you could use the alverston car park . Although perhaps the car park should be hotel guests only and not the public as it is tight ,.
I was there for a wedding and the food was excellent and you could not fault it at all was the best food i have tasted in a long time .
I would not stay here again as i could pay the same money for a better hotel this needs updatng and staff retrained espec in bar area.

Room Tip: the room i had overlooked the garden and was lovely even with the scaffholding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located very close to the theatres, which is excellent if this is the reason of your travel. Rooms have a decent size and are cleaned. On the other hand, the hotel is a bit old and does not have elevator. Problem if you carry heavy luggage. Ask for a room far from the pub downstairs. It can be a noisy nightmare. Perhaps the staff is the less nice thing about the hotel. Not very friendly neither cooperative.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Swan's Nest Hotel and had a brilliant time. Staff were very friendly and pleasant.
Our room was very clean and bed and pillows comfortable. Shower excellent, plenty of hot water at a good pressure.
We ate at the Le Bistrot Pierre restaurant and the meals were first class, the staff serving were very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble. Most important of all the free wifi was excellent with speeds up to 20mb. Would certainly return there.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The last time we stayed in this hotel it had the warm glow of a traditional coaching inn. Now it seems very large, impersonal and functional with none of the old atmosphere left. It is comfortable , clean and has a superb location, with reasonable parking, always useful in Stratford. The room was fine: spacious and comfortable but there was no fridge, so ask if you need one.
The Bistro was a disappointment with numerous young, and seemingly not very well trained staff, though to be fair they had had a large wedding party that day. Out food didn't arrive in time for us to eat before our theatre visit, so we can't comment on the quality. Breakfast in the "bistro" was fairly typical. They did offer pancakes, but I couldn't recommend them. Perhaps the chef was off? The fresh fruit was lovely.

Room Tip: Our room was in the old building : it was spacious, comfortable, and had a bath as well as a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £58 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing