We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and really enjoyed our whole experience. The hotel is in a great location, being in the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon and close to all the local attractions.

Our room was of a decent standard. The bathroom looked like it had been refurbished recently and was very nice, but the room could do with updating a little. It was spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate for our short stay.

Dinner in the French Bistro was fantastic value for money. The food was cooked to perfection and very generous portions were served. The service was just ok, but to be fair I believe we had a new employee serve us.

Breakfast was delicious and served also in the French Bistro. There was plenty of choice, with hot breakfasts being served rather than the usual self service.

It was a bonus for us that this hotel was very dog friendly. Our dog was accommodated in all areas of the hotel except the restaurant. The adjoined pub/bar was very dog friendly.

Will definitely be back in the Summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pajtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and memorable stay, and it is always good to receive positive feedback. I shall share this with the team in order to provide motivation and help increase staff morale.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    574
    367
    136
    94
See reviews for
190
1,073
39
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a bit of a mixed bag. If you are looking to spend little time at the hotel and want to explore Stratford, this is a well located hotel.
We requested a refurbished room (31) which was bright and clean with a nice shower. However the main body of the hotel is looking old and tatty. On another positive, staff are friendly and breakfast was nice, both cooked and continental, but could do with freshly squeezed orange juice.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, away from the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; it is only through continuous feedback from our customers that we are able to objectively review the facilities and service we offer, and ensure that they meet with guest expectations. I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and memorable stay, and it is always good to receive positive feedback.

Clearly, you were also disappointed with aspects of your stay with us, and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any shortfalls in our standards and service. I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of an extensive refurbishment program freshening up the rooms and public areas. We hope that you will visit us again to see the improvements that have been made.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Corridors and reception dirty, no blind or curtain in ground floor en suite bathroom, had to hang bath towel at window for privacy. Told by restaurant that we hadn't paid for breakfast when in fact we had paid £15 each for 4 of us when we booked hotel on line, receptionist wasn't very helpful, but eventually let us have breakfast. Good location for hotel, but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to learn the Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel did not meet your expectations. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and as such have an ongoing refurbishment programme in place. However, the issues you highlight will be acted on with immediate effect in order to make improvements in these areas as a priority.
With regards to breakfast, I shall also improve communication between reception and the dining staff, allowing our guests to enjoy a relaxed start to the day. I am sorry that this was not the case during your visit.
We do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future. Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights. 394.00 for 2 nights b&b. We expected class. Poor service (we waited at reception for 10 minutes...others had waited longer). Poor food and service in the bistro. Couldn't book restaurant at reception and staff seemed annoyed when my wife knocked on the door to see if they had space. Very disorganized & tatty bistro. Room was basic but billed as suite. Had to "pay" for parking. Great location but not worth that money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive comments, which will be discussed at our weekly heads of department meeting and with the manager of Le Bistrot Pierre and taken on board. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any shortfall in standards during your stay. Staff training is ongoing and your feedback will be valuable in helping us to move forward. The issues you highlight will be worked on as a priority and we hope to make improvements in these areas with immediate effect.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for three nights in April. We stayed in a 'suite' which was really just a very large room with the addition of a dining table and two chairs. Nice enough though. Lovely bathroom with separate large shower cubicle as well as a bath. The bed however was so hard is was like laying on hardboard. Staff were very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was nice enough although very slow. Staff were nice but just seemed very busy. Great location for the town centre and the RSC. Literally three minutes walk away. A very pleasant stay but would probably stay somewhere else next time due to the very hard bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; it is through continuous feedback from guests that we are able to objectively review the facilities and service we offer, thus ensuring that they not only meet our guests’ expectations, but also our own standards of excellence.
I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and memorable stay, and it is always good to receive positive feedback. Should you be returning to the Swans Nest in the future, please note that although all beds are fitted with matress protectors and toppers we are able to offer additional matress toppers should you require, in order to make the bed softer and provide you with a more comfortable nights sleep.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location of this hotel could not be better, however the hotel left a lot to be desired, the service was poor at breakfast we had to queue waiting for a table to be cleared on each day of our stay, the policy seamed to be only to clear a table when people turned up which meant you had to eat your breakfast surrounded by dirty tables, the staff had to be constantly asked to replenish food at the buffet. The car park was £5 to park in, it is also used as a public car park on two occasions after a day out I had to sit and wait in the car until a space became available. The room was ok but certainly not 4 star only one shampoo, shower gel etc was put out in the room and replenished which meant we had to share, I could have asked for more to be put into the room but you should not have to. We will defiantly visit Stratford upon Avon again but choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with expectations, especially as you say, we are in the perfect location for strolling into Stratford. I would like to reassure you that your comments will be discussed at our weekly Head of Department meeting and taken on board. I would also like to point out that if required, additional car park spaces are available at our sister hotel directly across the road.
I shall be working closely with the manager of le bistrot pierre looking at ways in which to imporve standards and quality of food served at breakfast. It is always our intention for guests to enjoy a positive dining experience whilst eating with us and I am sorry if this was not the case during your visit.
I would like to thank you for your comments in order that we can make improvements in these areas. Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked online, and arrived late on Sunday afternoon, check in quick and simple. The room was fine, not large, but clean, and fairly well stocked, didn't see a mini bar or safety deposit box, which was advertised on booking.com, that said we weren't too fussed, but if you would want these things then check with the hotel! There were tea/coffee making facilities and reception were quick to provide additional milk when we asked. There was also a bottle of free water, but DONT remove the bottle from the room as for some reason you will be charged £8 if you do!!!! The bathroom was quite large, but a tad dated, the shower head was fixed and an old fashioned type. Breakfast was good and plentiful, make sure you get it included though as its fairly expensive as an add on, and the choice of fresh fruit was a bit limited. Parking here is good, but again, its limited, we just about managed to get the last space on the car park, but it only costs £5 for the duration of your stay, so fantastic value. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. All in all a nice hotel, really close to the town centre, which is just a few minutes walk away, a definite step up from a Premier Inn, but not luxurious, that said its good value for money. Try and get a room overlooking the river, we didn't, and wish we had!

Room Tip: overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; it is through continuous feedback from guests that we are able to objectively review the facilities and service we offer, thus ensuring that they not only meet our guests’ expectations, but also our own standards of excellence.
I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and memorable stay, and it is always good to receive positive feedback. I shall share this with the team in order to provide motivation and help increase staff morale.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Claire Pizer - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing