We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay. Central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good place to stay. Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed for a theatre break. Good location, good food and friendly staff. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    565
    362
    135
    94
See reviews for
185
1,058
38
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Excellent hotel close to Town Centre and river. Very nice, clean, comfortable room with coffee and tea making facilities, flat screet TV, good shower in bathroom. Breakfast excellent with freshly cooked full english breakfast if required, continental breakfast etc. Within easy walking distance of town centre. Tour Bus running every half hour to visit the sights e.g. Ann Hathaway's Cottage, Shakespeare's Birthplace etc. All well worth a visit. A very attractive town. We went on the Ghost Walk which was very enjoyable. Had a wonderful meal in Marlowes Restaurant. Some very nice shops too.We enjoyed it so much that we want to go back again next year as a weekend was not long enough to see everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

we stayed here for two nights.it was brilliant,the room was bright and clean,very comfortable furnishings.the town center is a two minute walk away.our stay was made even better by the friendly ,helpfull staff who tried to please day and night,many thanks to them all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Location: within easy walking distance of the town center. The river is a stone's throw from the hotel. Check Google Maps - search for CV37 7LT. Right across the river from the theater. Car parking is behind the hotel and free - handle arrangements with reception. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance and in the hotel. From McDonalds to pub food to a long boat restaurant to a baguette barge moored nearby. Touristy shopping all close by within easy walking distance.

Reception: Perfect. Answered all questions and handled the few problems we had flawlessly.

Room: we had a twin. Good mattresses. Flawlessly clean. Well equipped. Shower head was fastened to the ceiling and the shower stall was narrow. Plenty of towels, plenty of toiletries, pants presser, towel warmer, refrigerator stocked with beer (not free), telephone, good quality flatscreen TV, and complimentary tea and coffee with good hot pot. Free fast internet connection via a Cat 5 cable (available from reception if you do not have one). Quality bedding.

Other amenities: we did not use the restaurant.

We are hard pressed to find anything wrong with this hotel. It has been perfect for us. Recommend highly. Paid $100/night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

When you see the hotel from the outside it looks like a cross between a pub and something from the 1980's. But don't worry, because the rooms are very nice, clean, modern and has everything you need. The French restaurant offers great food at a reasonable price and the terrace has a nice view of the lake. The location is within walking-distance to all main sights. The price is very cheap - don't know if I was just lucky to get a good offer - but it's the best hotel at that price I've ever stayed at.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed for two nights needing a base to visit the town and local attractions such as Warwick Castle etc.

The location is stunning, set on the banks of the river avon, offering a quiet location yet only a five minute walk from the town centre and all the Shaekepere attractions.

The staff on reception were welcoming and helpful. The 'new' french themed restaurant faultless with well priced and well cooked evening meals and a plentiful breakfast.

The hotel was clean, has its own car park and the rooms are nicely equiped and comfortable.

The outside can look like a cross between a pub and a motel, but don't let that put you off, once inside it offeres a relaxing break and use of the swimming pool etc at the sister hotel opposite.

Recommended

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We come regularly for the theatre and have stayed in most of the major hotels in the town.The great appeal of the Swan's Nest is being having a traffic free walk to and from the theatre over the river and through the gardens. The hotel was undergoing re furbishment when we last stayed and both rooms were spacious ,well equipped and comfortable with pristine bathrooms. Breakfast provided as much coffee as I could drink and my vegetarian daughter was delighted to find pancakes smothered in maple syrup on the menu. It was great fun to emerge from the matinee of Julius Caesar in time to step on the chain ferry for a short cut back to the hotel..We intend to return to the Swan's nest next time we visit Stratford.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing