We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lovely room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Swans Nest. The hotel is very well located for visiting Stratford Upon Avon. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a lovely Christmas Eve dinner at their sister hotel across the road. we woudl certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, GM-Steve at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2010
I would like to thank you for your kind comments left on Trip Advisor; I will ensure that all of my team are made aware of the great customer service that has been provided
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    567
    362
    135
    94
See reviews for
185
1,060
38
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

First time we have stayed in Stratford-upon-Avon so picked a Macdonald as we have stayed in many in Scotland. The Swans Nest is in an excellent location with a short walk over the pedestrian bridge to the town centre. The bedroom was quite small and had a musty smell on entering, the room was clean as was the bathroom (excellent shower).
Food very nice and good value for money, particularly the early bird menu. Staff very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Els1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We are regular visitors to Stratford, usually renting a cottage, but for short stays we use hotels. We have stayed at most hotels in the area and know all the centrally located ones pretty well. This was our first visit to the Swan's Nest and we chose one of their superior "feature rooms". The room was clean and well appointed but no wow factor. The fact that the original wooden sash windows had been painted shut was a real minus point. So much for preserving the original features of the building.
A lot of money has apparently been spent renovating this hotel but it seems nothing has been done to address the noise problem of old extractor fans which are very intrusive. Our particular room had the noise of extractor fans, heavy traffic and bar room music, all going at once. No wonder the windows were painted shut!.
On the plus side, the staff were excellent. The restaurant is classy and the bar likewise.
It is, in our opinion, probably the the best hotel in Stratford town centre at the moment, but this is largely due to the poor standard of the others. (The Shakespeare has some really grim, prison like rooms and The Falcon is to be avoided at all costs. These places rely heavily on their great locations and we shudder to think what the busloads of foreign tourists must think of the poor accomodation).
Hopefully the current upgrading of the Thistle Hotel will give Stratford the 5 star hotel it badly needs.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

The best Hotel i have stayed in stratford. Staff are Fantastic and the Hotel spotless.Location cannot be beaten. If you want a quality Hotel look no further

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed for a theatre break. Good location, good food and friendly staff. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Excellent hotel close to Town Centre and river. Very nice, clean, comfortable room with coffee and tea making facilities, flat screet TV, good shower in bathroom. Breakfast excellent with freshly cooked full english breakfast if required, continental breakfast etc. Within easy walking distance of town centre. Tour Bus running every half hour to visit the sights e.g. Ann Hathaway's Cottage, Shakespeare's Birthplace etc. All well worth a visit. A very attractive town. We went on the Ghost Walk which was very enjoyable. Had a wonderful meal in Marlowes Restaurant. Some very nice shops too.We enjoyed it so much that we want to go back again next year as a weekend was not long enough to see everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

we stayed here for two nights.it was brilliant,the room was bright and clean,very comfortable furnishings.the town center is a two minute walk away.our stay was made even better by the friendly ,helpfull staff who tried to please day and night,many thanks to them all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing