We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for exploring Stratford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I couldn't disagree more with some of the comments written! We stayed here for two nights with our dog. The staff were very helpful and informative, there was never a queue at the desk and we managed to find a parking space everyday even though it was the bank holiday weekend. The room was clean, well equipped and the bathroom was as I would expect. The shower was hot (probably some people did not think to use the safety switch to make it hotter!?!) and as for comments about the towel rail - yes it was above the toilet but I have been to 5* hotels where this has been the same - it's probably to do with the plumbing not the hotel's fault! We didn't have breakfast included in our room price but took a very short walk to the town where there are plenty of cafes. We did not use the bistro either as we couldn't take the dog in but the Bear bar allowed him in and we enjoyed two lovely meals in there instead. Having booked the hotel (mainly for it's location and because it allowed the dog in the room - a BIG plus) without looking on trip advisor I was slightly disappointed to read some of the reviews. Some seem a little pathetic , namely location of towel rail, old fashioned decor (more like fairly traditional English) but as a well travelled person I have to say I was very pleased with the hotel and my stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your feedback and kind comments. Steve, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

Our welcome was friendly, the room was ready, and all requests were met quickly and efficiently.
The room was clean and comfortable and meals we took in the hotel were good.
The location is excellent for visiting all the important sights in Stratford.
Staff appear to work very hard but all were unfailingly friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you for your kind comments particulary about the staff, who aspire to delivering an efficient but relaxed and friendly service, we are always pleased to receive such positive feedback. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Hi

We recently stayed overnight here for a two day break in Stratford. I thought the hotel was excellent. Our room was pristine with a very nice modern shower. The room was modern, classic and of a good quality. The restaurant and bar was very nice and we enjoyed a game of Trivia Pursuit in there in the evening.

It is a 5 min walk across the bridge into the centre of town and you are located next to the boathouse.Also, there is free parking at the hotel so you can leave the car there and walk around without incurring parking costs or being stuck in traffic.

I thought the facilities and standard of accomodation were great. We managed to get a bargain price through Lastminute but I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a hotel of good quality very close to the centre but enjoying a quiet corner.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CathyWuthering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

I am delighted that you enjoyed your vist to Stratford and this lovely hotel, free parking is a bonus in this town, and all the popular sights are within walking distance. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We arrived at 2.45pm armed with the confirmation of our booking for a two night stay and the young man in Reception looked a little puzzled, he keyed in a few things on his computer and then said he would have to consult with his colleague. Luckily his colleague was very professional, and although she said our room wasn't quite ready she arranged for our bags to be taken up, offered us a drink or coffee and then after a short delay took us up to our room. Having not got off to a brilliant start we were expecting the worst but the room was really nice. We had booked a better room and we certainly got it. A vast, comfortable bed, good bathroom with a large shower, tea making facilities and fridge, a sitting area with a sofa and coffee table and a large window overlooking the inner garden. Although the Hotel is only a few minutes walk from the shops and the RSC it was very quiet at night and we were not disturbed by customers in their Bistro which is very popular at night. Strangely this is not owned by the Macdonald group even though it is part of the Hotel. Breakfast is taken in the Bistro and served by young staff all wearing jeans so it is sometimes difficult to work out who are staff and customers. Slightly disjointed service but both the buffet selection and the hot breakfast was good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Swans Nest both for the location and the comfortable rooms. Parking at the rear of the Hotel was also a bonus. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

I am delighted that, after a faltering start, you had an enjoyable stay with us. The hotel is in the ideal location for exploring Stratford, but as you rightly say quiet and peaceful at night, we hope to welcome you back. Steve Quick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We chose this Hotel because of its proximity to the RSC Theatre. We chose well! The Hotel is five minutes walk from the Theatres. It is situated alongside the River Avon with lovely views of the River itself. The Hotel is ideal for a short or long visit. The Staff are very helpful and efficient in their dealings with guests. There are comfortable lounges and seating areas. The "Bear" lounge offers snacks and bar meals at reasonable prices, however, on the downside the tables are not cleared qiuckly enough and we had to take our drinks into another part of the Hotel as there were no tables free of glasses/plates. This area could be improved upon. The continental style buffet breakfast has a very wide selection, and an Engish cooked breakfast is available. Although you are not told you can order extra items within this meal. The rooms are very clean and well appointed and an empty fridge is also installed. Room service is first class and requests for ice were acted upon within minutes. The beds are large and comfortable and we did not hear any noise at all during the night. There is a free large free car park to the rear of the Hotel. A fitness centre and pool is at a nearby Hotel free for guests. A very good Hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Macdonald hotels all seem sort of similar. Very luxurious in sort of an old style -- if you're looking for American amenities in terms of space and level floors, you're going to be disappointed. If you're an old style traveler looking to drop your key with the front desk every time you leave the hotel, you'll be happy. This hotel is no exception. We had asked for adjoining/adjacent rooms months before our arrival, and they were not really able to accomodate that request. The rooms, on the other hand, were big enough that our daughter could bunk in with us without too much difficulty. Front desk staff seemed a bit standoffish; having lived in the UK for six years, this seemed a bit more than the classic British reserve.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montgomerygrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed in here for 4 nights, upgraded our room for an extra £20 per night which was probably a good idea. We had a king sized bed and a spacious room in a location close to reception. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was powerful.
Decor in the hotel was a little tired looking, paintwork chipped, colours outdated and the bar was more like a local pub. We ordered a drink and sat in the reception area instead. We have stayed in a number of Macdonald hotels and this was not up to their usual standards at all. I could not help wishing that I had booked the Alveston across the road instead, but I did not go in there to have a look either so I might have been dissapointed there too (tripadvisor reviews persuaded me to book this one).
Breakfast was excellent and the service was superb too.
If you consider a hotel to be somewhere that you just sleep then this hotel is clean, comfortable and close to everything with a superb breakfast. If the hotel and room are part of the experience then I would try somewhere else, Sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereyougoingnext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,503 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £69 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing