We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in lovely location”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

A group of us stayed at the Macdonald Swan’s Nest in February for my husband’s 50th birthday. We were really pleased that we had decided to stay here. The hotel reception looks as if it has been recently renovated and check in went very smoothly. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. There was ample space in the car park and the fact that the parking was free was a bonus. We stayed in one of the Classic rooms which was very clean, albeit a little small. Provided in the room was a decent hairdryer, iron, ironing board and a kettle to make tea and coffee. The room was perfectly functional and again looked as though it had recently been renovated, particularly the bathroom which had a lovely shower. However, some of the guests in our party were in the older rooms which weren’t as nice, didn’t have air conditioning and were very warm. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk over the foot bridge to the town centre so it was nice to be in a quieter location but have easy access to the local shops etc. The Bear pub was really nice – we drank in there quite a few times. My only small complaint about this hotel would be the cost of breakfast (which was not included in our room price). I think £17.50 a head is a bit steep when we could get a full English breakfast over the road, including tea etc, for around £10. But in saying that we did get a really good deal on the room price booking over the phone directly with the hotel rather than on their website. We cannot fault our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen9244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your comments, the team at the hotel strive to deliver one hundred per cent customer care and it is good to know that efforts are rewarded. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    607
    392
    148
    102
See reviews for
204
1,142
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

great hotel wirth superb staff. good location short walk to the centre excellent food very clean hotel and good size rooms could not fault my stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank city0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your comments, the team at the hotel strive to deliver one hundred per cent customer care and it is good to know that efforts are rewarded. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

good hotel, hotel bistro food very good but advisable to book early, free parking a bonus,
location ideal for sightseeing.
Breakfast service can be a bit slow
Spa is in sister hotel over the road, steam sauna and pool, quite good

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your comments, the team at the hotel strive to deliver one hundred per cent customer care and it is good to know that efforts are rewarded. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed at the hotel en route to London and selected it because it was central as we intended walking out to a local town centre restaurant.

From the car park the hotel looked like a tired 1960’s establishment, but surprisingly our room had recently been refurbished and the walk-in shower and modern furnishings and feature lighting was a great bonus. Room had a safe, ironing board, fridge, LCD TV, plenty of wardrobe space etc. Very comfortable and clean, with lots of fresh fluffy towels.

It was a cold evening, so despite being centrally located, having opened the door of the Bistrot Pierre restaurant, we decided to eat there. Fabulous choice and the concept was not what we expected from a traditional hotel restaurant; busy and lively with a modern ambiance and great service from the staff.

The restaurant was quite busy, recognising it was a midweek night, helped I guess by some of the food and wine deals that were on offer. It was clear by the coats on the chairs that not all the diners were guests; a great local eatery.

Breakfast was a similar affair, excellent.

We didn’t explore the leisure facilities at the sister hotel across the road.

In summary, a centrally located hotel with modern rooms, friendly staff and an excellent modern bistro restaurant; a great find. We actually returned back there on our way home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your comments, the team at the hotel strive to deliver one hundred per cent customer care and it is good to know that efforts are rewarded. Steven Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Great location. Very good, friendly service in restaurant and bar. Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere - lounge, bar and restaurant were always busy - a good sign). Access to pool and leisure facilities at sister hotel literally across the road. Lots to do in Stratford but do not bother with tourist bus unless visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage as everything is so close together and easy to walk to. Recommend Shakespeare's Birthplace, Butterfly Farm and RSC. Look online for 2 for 1 entry offers if you have travelled by train and Stratford tourist information website for money off tickets including restaurants (lots of good ones in town).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, the team at the hotel make every effort to ensure that our guests have a relaxed and enjoyable stay and it good to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The hotel is in a good location just a stones throw away from the town. The room was nice and clean but quite small and it would of been nice to have a bath in the room. Complimentary sparkling water each day was a nice touch. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day and the cold buffet was great, lots of choice and nicely presented, the hot food was 'made to order' and had obviously been hanging around for hours on the hotplate in the kitchen. The food would have been nice if it wasn't for this, as it was it was dry and hard. Despite there only being 2-3 other tables in the restaurant our dirty plates were always left in front of us until we left. On the whole the stay was ok, I would recommend eating at one of the many nice and reasonably priced restaurants Stratford has to offer as opposed to the hotel restaurant. The lesuire facilities at the sister hotel Alverston Manor across the road were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your breakfast experience, and I will pass your comments to Le Bistrot Pierre. All guests at the Swan's Nest are welcome to use the leisure facilities at the Alveston Manor, and I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the pool. I hope that you will make a return visit in the future. Steven Quick, General Maanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

When searching for reviews on this hotel, I must admit I was not very impressed, but decided to book and see for myself. Well I am pleased to say that everything about the hotel - location, staff, food, cleanliness and quality was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlveston, General Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for taking the opportunity to try for yourself, I am very pleased that you had a fantastic stay and we hope to welcome you back. Steve Quick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Property: Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing