We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fanastic venue for a Wedding”
Review of Talton Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talton Lodge
Kettering
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Fanastic venue for a Wedding”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have been to many weddings in the past and most are very predictable, Talton Lodge provides something very different. Reception on the lawns at the main house over looking the river. Huge Scandanavian tents, in the gounds where the weeding feast was served, and if you wanted you could even stay in the 2 authentic Mongolian yurts or in in 2 North American Indian tipis, or for the more traditional you can stay in the 18th century barn which is a fantastic space, with high ceilings and exposed beams. On the 20 acres they keep pigs, sheep, and poultry, and grow a wide range of fruit and veg, from which they produce as much of the food you will eat as is possible.
An excellent place I reaaly recommend you try.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King_Kanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    0
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We attended a wedding reception here in early May and were completely blown away. The location is idyllic and tranquil and the set up fantastic. The large tepee was beautifully set up with tables, sofas, fairy lights, bunting etc – perfect if you are wanting an English Country Garden sort of wedding. There was also a log burning stove in the middle so you weren’t at all cold. The food was delicious – beautiful canapés and a yummy hog roast buffet plus you could bring your own drink (always a bonus at weddings I think!). Later on they lit a huge bonfire which was really nice to sit around. They had small little yurt log huts for people to stay in which looked great plus a separate bridal suite. All in all it was really different and very memorable. I’d love to go back for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here in March for a hen weekend. Olivia and Barney were really helpful in the build up to the weekend, answering lots of questions. The location, accommadation and food were all fantastic. Everyone had a great time and I'd love to return at some point!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlyj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Had a superb time at Talton Lodge again this year. Barney & Olivia are wonderful hosts and work really hard to ensure that you have a lovely stay at their beautiful site.
We had delicious home cooked food (nice variety for veggies too) and stayed in the very comfy yurt for the 2nd year running.
Great for all ages....kids and big kids!!
Couldn't wish for a better place to relax in, in the English Countryside and looking forward (hopefully) to returning next year :)
Thanks again Barney & Olivia xx

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

From start to finish, this was the perfect place to spend a weekend with a large bunch of friends. Friday night BBQ, Saturday nights fabulous dinner, served by the enthusiastic and eager crew and then, following a night of moderate excess, a very welcome cooked breakfast. Those that felt up to it went swimming in the nearby river, whilst the rest of us enjoyed basking in the idyl that is Talton Lodge.
Barney and Liv could not do enough to help and, with a bit of forewarning, make the weekend an effortless pleasure. Many thanks and, see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This place is just magical...we had a fantastic experience and the owners were particularly welcoming, adding a bit of personal touch to our staying and sharing a good time with us all. The kids adored being involved with all the activities inside and around the site. Barney and Olivia were not only helpful but extremely flexible with our requests. Whenever we had a meal, it was a right treat and very tasty.
I personally loved the facilities and accessibility of them. Having a wet room with running hot water all day is something that I find it very comfortable and extremely cosy.
Sleeping in the yurt or tepee was exciting and very comfortable too. Again the kids being able to play undisturbed, whilst roaming around safely made a massive difference to our experience as parents. Who needs hotels and posh accomodations, when you have a place like this!
Highly recommended and be sure to book early!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is such a beautiful place - it's like owning your own idyllic small holding for a weekend but without any of the work. The food and welcome were great and Barney was a great help when I (through my own stupid fault) injured my hand.

highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford-upon-Avon
1.2 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,447 reviews
6.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,429 reviews
6.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Halford Bridge Inn
Halford Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Halford
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talton Lodge

Property: Talton Lodge
Address: Newbold on Stour, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Stratford-upon-Avon
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing