We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stratford Limes Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Spent two nights here. Our room was fine; clean comfortable, warm and fully equipped. Ditto the shower room. Both a touch on the small side, but no problems. Hotel wifi was strong, and broadband reasonably fast. A free service unlike some places.

Breakfast was fine too. Coffee was good and the cooked options too. I would have liked to see fresh fruit in place of tinned prunes and grapefruit, which always seem a bit niggardly to me, but this wouldn't stop me coming back.

There is a nice little bar, with Peroni on tap, and some comfortable seating to enjoy the beer and decide where to go for dinner. On the subject of dinner, we had a really good meal at the tapas bar 20 meters along the road. Don't miss it.

Overall we would rate this as an excellent small hotel, and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    123
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
85
544
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel was simply wonderful. The hosts are so friendly and helpful (nothing was too much trouble!) and the rooms were great. Would definitely recommend staying here. Only a short walk to eateries too, which comes in handy at the end of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Terrific hotel with excellent, modern and clean facilities. Really looked welcoming from the outside and was matched by the warm reception from Lee, even though we arrived late on Friday night. That continued throughout our two-night stay with Lorna and John also the perfect hosts. We were in Room 9 and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet break in Stratford-upon-Avon. The short walk into the centre is perfect - especially to walk off the full English breakfast - and is nice and scenic. Was great to be able to park the car in the private car park and not need it again until we left.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 was great. No bath but a perfect shower, which is all we wanted anyway. Really spacious and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GD75878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Don't let this review put you of booking this hotel. Seriously, if you're visiting Stratford-upon-Avon, you should stay here.

We had room 16, which is directly above the bar area and reception. We were woken up at 2am on a Sunday morning by loud chat and laughter from the bar as well as music permeating into our room. When I asked the night receptionist and the couple he was entertaining to be quiet, he was apologetic, turned off the music straight away and ask was quiet. I just think they should be more aware of their environment and enforce a quiet policy after say midnight when there are guests staying in rooms above our near to the bar/reception.

Otherwise I think a hotel should be clean, comfortable, quiet, good value and well located. This hotel ticks all the boxes apart from quiet in our case. The breakfast is fantastic and bar prices refreshingly good value. Book with them now, but maybe ask not to be in Room16!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyPig80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Warm welcome from the moment we arrived. Lorna, Lee and John were very helpful throughout our 2 night stay - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is smart, stylish and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. What a find.

Room Tip: Standard room at front of hotel was good value, clean, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend with the wife. The room was very nice and the service was exactly what you would want when you don't know the area. Lee and the staff were extremely helpful and nice. I would definetly recommend staying there if you want to visit the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A smart but also cosy hotel, a very warm welcome from owners Lee and Lorna and manager John.
Lovely original decor and very quiet. Good gardens with plenty of tables and chairs for the warmer weather and close to the town centre. Breakfast really good, all in all a perfect stay- we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 359Diem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,174 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Limes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Limes Hotel

Property: Stratford Limes Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Tiddington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratford Limes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Stratford Limes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing