We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratford Limes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stratford Limes Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just got back from Stratford. Went to see Two Gentlemen of Varona, which was very enjoyable, made all the more enjoyable because of the superb Stratford Limes Hotel. The best small hotel we have stayed in. This was our 6th time we have stayed in the hotel and it never disappoints. Lorna and John are very welcoming and your made to feel part of establishment and old returning friends. We have stayed in all the rooms and have always been pleased with them. Our room this time was in front with a small sitting room in front and bedroom at back. We had a restful sleep with no disturbance from traffic noise. Our friends who are also regulars had the family suite, which has a small kitchenette and comfy seating area. Bedroom is also very quiet. Our son and daughter in law had a room with king size bed and lovely bathroom. The hotel is always spotlessly clean in all areas of the hotel. The bedding and towels are of very good quality and once again immaculately clean. We had a pleasant drink outside on the patio area in the evening before a taxis took us out for dinner. Breakfast once again didn't disappoint. Always cooked and served efficiently, and with a smile. The Decore of the hotel inside and outside is is excellent and it is obvious that the owners take great pride in the building and how comfortable the hotel is for their guests. Checking in and out of the hotel is efficient and takes no time. I always find something to be negative about in any hotel we stay in but I can honestly say I can't with the Limes. Really looking forward to going back next year. If you love Shakespeare and Stratford Upon Avon I can't recommend a stay at the Limes enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, and of a descent size. Some have baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    116
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
84
520
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived in the afternoon on a Sat with my wife for a bit of R&R in the town of Stratford Upon Avon. Easy parking and well presented grounds. Clearly well thought out arrivals area with a terrace and sensitively placed pagodas which make it look very appealing. The reception looks extremely cosy and with its fireplace and lounge chairs must be great in winter. The gentleman at the front desk is very friendly and keen to help. We book in within seconds and are personally shown up to our room on the 1st floor.

The general feel is definitely more like a spacious b&b rather than a hotel which makes for a more personal experience. The room is spacious with well fashioned feel. All the expected mod cons inc iPod Dock which always is a good idea. The adjoining en suite has a shower and is roomy enough. Many's the en suite which is more a closet than a room. Not this one. Everything is new or very clean and there is no evidence of tiredness in the decor or linen. Impressive.

We catch forty winks before heading out to Stratford centre. Duvets are clearly upmarket purchase with a reasonable tog and the pillows and mattress are really comfy, or maybe I am just tired? Town is a 3min drive and lots of parking so the hotel is well placed. Not in the centre and hustle and bustle but just outside.

There is a small bar set next to reception if you want a quick one by the way.

We return after a meal in town and ask for a bed sheet as it is very hot and humid. The gentlemen obliges and is full of good humour. One thing I would improve is the rooms don't have air con - fair enough - but a small room fan would help and not cost much. Worth a thought from management? The windows don't open much - you have to love health and safety - so difficult to get air into the room on a hot balmy evening.

Our room is facing the road so one could get a bit of traffic noise, although not a massively busy road it does have the regular cars. And of course with the window open or should I say ajar...you do get noise leakage. Not a game changer though. Ok settling in for the night back on the case in the morning. Good night all.

Slept well in a really comfy bed and outside of the balminess and lack of a fan? still a good night and no complaints. Breakfast is well served and really tasty with typical fruits and yoghurt sand then a choice of continental or full English. Full eng is the obvious choice and well worth it. Everybody is happy to serve you. Then onto a quick read of the complimentary newspaper in the sunny foyer with a choice of this on the terrace if you wanted.

All round positive experience and well worth it for the price. Excellent value and not much to fault. If you are in Stratford please try this establishment for your home from home.

Room Tip: Suggest a room not facing the road if in summer. Reasons in the review. Not critical but worth a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at this excellent hotel. Both Lorna and Lee gave us a warm welcome and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the ground floor suite. This was both comfortable and quiet, even though the lounge area faced onto Main Street. We would summarise the hotel as an elite bed and breakfast. Although evening meals are not served at the Limes, there is plenty of choice of places to eat within walking distance in Tiddington, or in Stratford a mile and a half away. The hotel has plenty of car parking at the rear of the building and in warm weather you can enjoy a drink from the bar, and scones if you like, on the outside terrace. Lorna and Lee made us feel as if we were one of the family and are a mine of information about the local area. We hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Leave the choice to Lorna and Lee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wonderful Hotel in a perfect location.Arrived to a warm welcome with lots of useful& helpful info from Lorna.Nothing was too much trouble.Room was comfortable&quiet.Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice.Plenty of carparking and a lovely terrace to sit on.

Room Tip: Speak to hotel for good rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbyshirersunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for one night whilst in Stratford Upon Avon for a wedding. The staff were so friendly and welcoming as soon as we arrived. The hotel has more of a B&B feel. It is about 30 minutes walk from the centre and a few minutes drive.(A taxi from the town cost us £6)
The standard double room was just what we needed for a nights stay. Large comfortable double bed, tea and coffee facilities and biscuits, hair dryer available in the drawer, TV, a little wardrobe space and a fan. The bathroom was modern and very clean, containing a shower cubicle, no bath.
Breakfast was nice, fresh tea and coffee, juices and a choice of full English or continental all with a personal touch.
There is a pub called the crown nearby that serves lunch and dinner which I can recommend and only a minutes walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during the 3rd week of July. We had a large comfy room at the front which was very quiet even though it is on a fairly busy road. the hotel is run very professionally and is ideal for both holiday makers and corporate business and in an excellent location for Stratford which is just over a mile away. Breakfast was excellent, which was all freshly cooked with plenty of choice. We could find no fault whatsoever at the Stratford Limes and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JannyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel itself is superbly situated between the Towns of Warwick and Stratford-Upon-Avon. What makes this hotel stand-out against others is the cleanliness and attention to detail given to every aspect of your stay. From the genuine, superb service to the quality of the furnishings and decor, this Hotel really adds to the pleasure of your stays in beautiful surroundings. Certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The "executive" double rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Limes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Limes Hotel

Property: Stratford Limes Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Tiddington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratford Limes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stratford Limes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing