We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RSC Rooftop Restaurant

RSC Rooftop Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
RSC Rooftop Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$55
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christmas Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were seated next to the window so with the view of the Park and riverside. We ordered a festive champagne afternoon tea set for four people. The overall quality was very good. However, the alcoholic jelly shot was something that I had to pass on after having one bite. It was far too strong so ruined the taste. The service was ok, it could be better, one of the servers couldn't even tell us what one of the desserts were on the tray. The cinnamon scones were delicious and warm. Us girls had a wonderful time catching up here at this place and would definitely go back again as I believed it was good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkchicken88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    381
    150
    86
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely start to the evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

There were various delays to our meal which the staff were very apologetic about and complementary bread and sparkling water appeared. My chocolate torte arrived without the ice cream, when pointed out another chocolate torte arrived so I had two! I think the staff's concern to see us have a good time more than compensated for these issues and the food was lovely. It may be one of those places where the staff feel the time pressure to feed everyone before curtain up more than the guests. Would do again! Thank you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have used the RSC rooftop restaurant on several occasions. Each time the service has been excellent and the food delicious. There are also wonderful views across Stratford upon Avon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Collette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food and service with the best view in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Rooftop Restaurant is on the third floor of The Royal Shakespeare Theatre and easily accessed via a lift just inside the foyer. We ate lunch there and were delighted with both the food and the service. The two-course lunch with two glasses of champagne came to a very reasonable £62.00. The goats cheese mushroom Vol au Vent and surprisingly, the side dish of Savoy cabbage were outstandingly good.

The location overlooking the Stratford Avon is probably the best you will find anywhere in the town and provides for a great ambience. We had lunch on a non-matinee weekday and had no need to book. On matinee days and possibly in the evenings, bookings will be essential and I was told that the service level does fall with a full restaurant. However for lunch on a non-matinee day there is in our experience nowhere better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I'd asked for a window seat, as it was part of a special birthday weekend, but in fact we were seated at the 'inner' table. However, the window tables filled up later (we had a 5.15 booking) so it didn't feel crowded. At first glance the menu didn't look anything special, but the food when it arrived both looked and tasted wonderful. The service was faultless, unobtrusive but always at hand. Definitely value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RRMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RSC Rooftop Restaurant also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to RSC Rooftop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing