We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Carol W
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful cottage is located in a picturesque village and is a perfect location to visit many places of interest. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated, very spacious and has got everything we needed for a very relaxing stay. The hot tub was lovely at the end of the day. Did not get chance to meet katriona but the added touch of the tea tray with biscuits on arrival was gratefully accepted. Rupert was very welcoming and recommended a visit to a little village called Broadway, south of Stratford, and we were not disappointed. The only little niggle we had was the high volume of activity, people using the path down the garden and cars coming and going up the drive which didn't make it feel very private.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
I am really glad you had a lovely time and hope you will visit again.
The cottage is situated next to our house so at times there are 'comings and goings, to our house. I hope this did not affect your visit too much and we do try and be aware of our visitors to The Stables as much as possible. However, at times this activity cannot be avoided.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51961John...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent 4 wonderful nights in the cottage and was very impressed. Very clean, very well furnished and the hot tub was a lovely way to end the day after some long walks around the Stratford area. We travel to Stratford every year for a few days and have now found our accommodation for years to come.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely gardens & hot tub
Liked least: The mattress was a little hard but not uncomfortably so
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you and very glad you will be coming back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masashi S
Nagoya, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to stay on holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was the third visit to the Stables. As the previous two visits, we had a wonderful time staying here, going to see the plays in Stratford-upon-Avon, which is just 7-8minutes ride away, visiting Cotswolds small villages, and relaxing in the owner's lovely garden. The owners' warm welcome and hospitality invites us to next visit here. Sure to come back again.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
it was lovely to see you again and glad that you have already provisionally booked for next year. Thanks for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelysta
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a lovely relaxing break at the stables with great hosts. Reluctant to let anyone else know about this little gem but it deserves to be recognised. In the heart of Warwickshire 4 miles from Warwick and 6 from Stratford it's the perfect location to get around and see the sights.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
That is lovely... but please do tell others, and come back yourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strikerbw
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wow - what a beautiful place to stay in terms of the beauty of not only the rental property, the adjoining owners house and beautiful gardens but also the whole village and surrounding area.

The cottage itself was beautifully clean and so comfortable and spacious. First port of call - look at the guest book. We could not find one single negative comment and you can see why. It would be hard to find anything negative to say about this place. In fact my wife said she would quite happily move in permanently - a comment i saw written on more than one occasion in the guestbook!

The kitchen was well kitted out, the bathroom was nice and big with a cracking shower, the living room was beautiful to relax in and the bed was large and extremely comfortable. The hot tub was great to go into at the end of the day and was a perfect way to end the day.

We only got to meet the owners as we were about to leave as they had been away themselves for the bank holiday weekend. We did meet Lucy (i presume their daughter) who was very pleasant but what we liked is despite being so close to their house you are given the utmost privacy. The only time i really noticed someone from their household was when their lovely little young spaniel, i think called Maggie, was running around the garden when she was let out.

The location of this property is also great for neighbouring Stratford Upon Avon, Warwick and also Leamington Spa. Would i recommend this property to anybody? Yes - without any shadow of a doubt.

Thank you must go to the owners for us having such a wonderful break for our first anniversary.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of it - a home away from home
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thanks for a lovely review. The garden does look very pretty at this time of year. It was good to hear that you felt very private... that is our aim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheer Luxury”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a lovely cottage this is - oodles of space, lovely décor, wonderful hot tub and in such a lovely setting. Ideally situated for visiting Stratford, Warwick and Leamington. I only wished we could have stayed for longer than two nights.

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Hopefully you can manage a longer stay next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikki90x
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing break. Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Thank you so much to the owners Katriona and Rupert for such a lovely break away. We stayed for 4 nights and it is in the most perfect location, very near to Leamington, Stratford, Warwick and the Cotswolds. We had such a nice time and the cottage is perfect. Great value. The cottage is very spacious and beautifully furnished, very homely. Everything you need including Sky and wifi. The hot tub is a great bonus which you must try! The wood burner was also a favourite. Very comfy bed and warm clean shower. Lots of appliances in kitchen. I would definitely recommend and will hopefully be coming back!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing