We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent for large parties but not exactly luxury”
Arden Hill farm House with hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arden Hill farm House with hot tub
Luxury Hot Tub Terrace with Stunning Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Arden Hill farm House with hot tub
Luxury Hot Tub
Terrace with Stunning Views
Country Dining Room seat 16
Snooker Room
King Bedrooms
flexible layout can be made as 14 singles and 1x 6ft bed or a mix of doubles & Singles
Farmhouse Kitchen
Stunning views
Luxury Twin Bedroom
Breakfast Room
Lounge With Plasma TV & SKY TV
Bathroom
Beautiful Gardens
Amazing Holiday House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jonny r
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful, sub-standard, dirty, over-priced rip-off”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed as part of a group over the recent Christmas period with my girlfiend and her family. Whilst the property is large, the descriptions on the website do not translate at all into the reality. To summarise:

- the carpets were dirty, rugs in the living room were filthy and had not been cleaned for a very long time
- the seats in both the kitchen and dining room had no padding left, they were like sitting on the bare chair frames
- the fridge door handle was broken - this was pointed out in a review in August but obviously it had not been read or the property manager just doesn't care
- there were broken floor tiles in the kitchen
- the lighting in the kitchen is totally inadequate, at night it is like cooking by candle light
- several of the knobs on the cooker came off in my hands
- the kitchen knives were so blunt that it was like chopping with spoons!
- the quality of the pans and cookware was definitely nowhere near luxury standard. They were cheap, thin-based & some were warped and they did not work correctly on the halogen hob which made cooking a lottery at times
- the dining room table was in fact 3 large plastic topped trestles, and they weren't even all at the same height
- the snooker table was too big for the room it was in and the table itself together with the cues provided were all warped
- the hot-tub outside was outside the front and not the back as advertised and was over chlorinated, making use of it uncomfortable.

This looks like an exhaustive list but its not. I haven't even started with the sleeping accommodation.....

Most of the issues have been covered in the previous 2 reviews recently posted. However, to find that I had been sleeping under a duvet that was stained with ether dried blood or dried faeces is both disgusting and totally unacceptable. It shows that nobody had checked the property prior to our arrival (or clearly for some time), either that or they just don't care and are only interested in taking the maximum amount of money from paying guests as possible.

To find a broken window in bedroom 6 - the one we initially were sleeping in - was also not acceptable, from either a heat or security perspective. A gale blew through the gap all night preventing any semblance of sleep taking place and basically ruining Christmas day for us as we were both cold and over-tired all day. Add to that the fact that the room is advertised as a double but had only twin beds in it and so much furniture that you could barely move and it again stretches the definition of luxury way beyond the usual limits. Oh and the room hadn't been hoovered and the hoover itself was full and no replacement bags had been provided.

The only reason we didn't walk out the next morning was it was Christmas Day and my in-laws are elderly and would have been incredibly upset - this was supposed to be a treat for them (and us!) I have stayed in budget priced accommodation in the Far East that has been cleaner and far better equipped than this place & they never had the audacity to use the word 'luxury' in their property description. The only possible thing that could be defined by that word was some of the views - except perhaps the one of the garden which included a discarded shopping trolley.

My advice to anyone considering staying here - DON'T. JUST DON'T.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving and going back to my nice clean warm home
Liked least: Pretty much everything
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaLondo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty, ill furnished, in no way "luxury". A rip off. Don't go.”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over Christmas, and were only disappointed by this "luxury" holiday rental, to the point we were considering staying in a TravelLodge after the first night. Had my elderly parents not been staying and the holiday was a Christmas present for them from us all, we would have mostly gone home after the first night. As it was we left a day early once our parents had left. Which given it was £600 per night was somewhat less than ideal!

It was sold as having enough double beds for five rooms, but in reality there were only 3 double beds, and Antonia refused to make the twin room into a double for us, which considering the ramped up price as we were renting over Christmas was exceedingly poor service.
The room we were staying in was dirty, I had to try and hoover it, with a hoover which was full, and no extra hoover bags had been left for us. Our Christmas holiday was supposed to be a nice break from our busy working life, but we couldn't even cuddle up together in twin beds. Whilst some of the rooms were a good size, ours was not- it was too small to have two bedside cabinets- for luxury accomodation I would have expected it to be a single.

We didn't realise until we got into bed that the window was broken and wouldn't close- an inch plus gap meant the room was absolutely freezing. I couldn't sleep even with putting a jumper and socks on, and ended up on the living room sofa- the rug on the floor was too filthy to want to sleep on. I had no sleep at all, and my partner fared little better.
My sister and her husband couldn't sleep as the beds were too uncomfortable, and my parents barely slept as the radiators didn't work properly so they were also very cold.
We ended up with my sister, husband and child cramped into one room (they then had single beds so we could be in another room.

The furniture was poor quality MDF that I haven't seen the like of since student days, with doors and mirrors missing. When we stripped the beds (also outrageous we had to do that paying £600 per night- ramped-up Christmas rates) the duvet we'd been sleeping under had either dried blood or faeces on it, it was absolutely disgusting.

Both the kitchen and the dining room had chairs that had all been sat out- it was like sitting on chair frames, and the luxurious dining room table was in fact a load of plastic trestle tables that weren't even the same height.

The fridge handle was broken (I noticed that was the same in August from an earlier review). The carpets were in no way newly laid, and the rugs clearly had not been cleaned for some time- in moving furniture to find toys- underneath each sofa were things left by previous inhabitants- including a lighter, corks, large bits of plastic. Clearly cleaning is not deemed necessary in such "luxury"!

The garden had broken paving stones, the fences weren't safe for the small children we had with us. The hot tub is in the front of the house, not back as advertised- overlooking the neighbours and the driveway.

I am struggling to find positives- the snooker room was a good thing, although the table is too big for the room, and the table is very warped, along with most of the cues, so any real game was impossible. There were some nice views from some of the windows.

If it had been a budget stay we might have expected the quality of furnishings etc, but given the exorbitant price we were paying, it was unbelievably poor. I was curious as to whether it really would be covered in Trading Standards- the description and pictures bear no resemblance to the reality of this place- luxury clearly means something else to the people that run this rental.

My recommendation- spend your money anywhere else!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The shower worked well
Liked least: The appalling chairs, dining room table, and the dirt.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakfort
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not luxury”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was part of the group that stayed in Ardenhill House over Christmas 2014. There is no way the property should be marketed as luxury. With a bit of work and investment it would be great. Here is a list that I emailed to Antonia Russell - the property manager. Her reply stated that she would address the "factors that need any attention" so I would check this before booking.
Please find below a list of comments and suggestions.

-It would be helpful to have a handbook for the property with all the useful information including WiFi passwords etc
-The handbook should include instructions for cooker, fridges, microwaves etc
-The handbook should include a comprehensive inventory
-The inventory should be made available to guests in advance so that they are aware of the limitations of equipment provided
-Coffee-making facilities should be provided - at the very least a filter machine and a couple of cafetieres.
-The fridge in the kitchen should be repaired or replaced - handle missing.
-Lighting in the kitchen needs to be upgraded. There is insufficient light from the ceiling spots, one of which is not wired correctly and does not work. Additional lighting needs to be installed under the cupboards to make the worktops usable.
-All the chairs in the kitchen and dining room need to be replaced - the seats have collapsed.
-The dining table is poor quality and a poor fit for the room. The cheap plastic tables need to be replaced
-Bedroom 6 is advertised as a twin or superking room. You refused to set it up as a superking, which caused considerable inconvenience and upset to the whole group as the couple who were allocated room 6 took it as a gross personal insult to have to sleep in twin beds.
-The window in bedroom 6 does not shut properly. When shut the window lets in a draught.
-The radiators were not working throughout the property. Some were almost full of air. We had to bleed them - after a sleepless night due to the cold.
-Fittings all round the house were loose or not working, eg loose hooks in the bathrooms. None of the clocks were working / fitted with batteries
-The sitting room had no comfortable chairs and was dirty. The rug was particularly dirty and should be replaced with a pile that is easier to clean.
-Some of the nightlights didn't work
-The router in bedroom 5 should be housed inside a box and not left dangling in mid air. The flashing lights are an unnecessary distraction in a bedroom.
-Wardrobes were missing doors / mirrors or had insufficient room to open.
-The decor was far from "luxury" with ugly trunking and bulky light fittings.
-The doormats inside and outside the back door need to be replaced.
-If it is the policy to leave the patio doors unlocked to allow customers to let themselves in, it would be helpful to know. We waited in Henley-in-Arden for a hour before arriving at the agreed time, only to find that no-one was there to meet us. After travelling all the way from Glasgow and confirming our arrival time of 4:30 (by text at 3:40) I would expect someone to be there at the appointed time.
-Your details claim that "all carpets are newly laid". This is clearly untrue and almost all the flooring on the ground floor is hard flooring. A luxury property would reasonably be expected to have carpets throughout, with the exception of the kitchen / pantry.
-The hot tub would be difficult to move, but it would be helpful to point out that it is at the front of the property and in full view of the driveway and other properties. Although this is visible on the tripadvisor site, the company website image is misleading.

It is hard to think of many positive things to say about the property as the negative aspects linger in the mind; however the bathrooms were clean and it was warm (once the radiators had been bled).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Refusal to set up bedroom 6 as double room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Henaff
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent for large parties but not exactly luxury”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Arden Hill Farm House with a group of friends and family. There were 14 of us in total and the choice of this cottage was mainly driven by the fact that everybody could be accommodated under the same roof.

The booking was managed efficiently and we were able to view the cottage before our stay, which helped us allocate bedrooms in advance. Antonia was in regular communication with us, although the office move in August resulted in slight delays to email responses.

The cottage was very large, very peaceful and the views were stunning. It was well supplied with drinking glasses, plates, cutlery, pots and pans. We brought plenty of plastic plates with us which ended up not using. Even some of the items that guests are suggested to bring with them are actually available, probably left from previous guests, such as oven gloves, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets... There are also 2 barbecues, so no need to bring your own.
The house is generally well equipped with appliances: 2 large fridges, 1 dishwasher, 1 large electric cooker, coffee machine, 2 large toasters, 2 microwave ovens...

The number of bathrooms and toilets was adequate for the size of accommodation and included 2 en-suites, but having one of the bathrooms equipped with a bathtub only - no shower or shower over bath - does not seem the most practical option to me.

We were able to have our grocery delivered to the cottage through Tesco and Sainsbury's which was great.

When it comes to the "luxury" descriptor, it would only apply to the jacuzzi and snooker table for me. Both were thoroughly enjoyed by the party. This said, most of the furniture seems cheap and not very well maintained. We were told not to use one of the wardrobe as it was "not very secure", which was ok as there were no children in our party.
As mentioned in other reviews, the fridge handle is broken and the carpet - although described as "new" in the property description - did not seem so new to us. These are little things which can be forgiven in accommodation which is often used for hen dos, but we feel should be reflected in the price.

Overall, everybody had a really good time and we would probably use again if we were hosting another large party in the future, despite the small negatives highlighted above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the size of the property
Liked least: The use of the term
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belles82
Hemel hempstead
1 review
“The house was in a great location and had everything we could have wanted”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for my sisters hen do and were so pleased. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and the house had everything we could have wanted. The highlight was sitting in the hot tub, drinking mojitos looking out at the fabulous view. I would highly recommend this property!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestlyM...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Hen Getaway”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

March 2014 - 16 of us stayed for the weekend. A bed for everyone. Only 2 people had to share a massive double. Telly in each bedroom. Mirrors everywhere. 2 en suite rooms and 2 more bathrooms. The house is very big. It was clean and tidy upon arrival. Linen and indoor towels crisp and clean. Beds comfy. As informed in the instructions you do need to take tea towels, fairy liquid, cling film etc ( which we forgot!) Also some cleaning products for cleaning before you leave.

Lots of equipment such as 2 big fridges, 2 kettles, lots of glasses and crockery, dishwasher, huge double oven. Really appreciated the fully equipped kitchen.

The hot tub is at the front on the patio. So lovely and warm even in the rain. Although as said in other reviews the hot tub cover does block out the amazing view when it is up, it does act as a good wind break and absolute privacy from the other accommodation next door. It's also not the only place you can look at the view from.

There was ample seating for 16 of us if we used some dining chairs in the lounge.

Board games available for your use.

We went to Stratford Races on the Saturday afternoon which was great fun. Check Race Days and book in advance. Take a picnic. 15 mins from house.

Local Chinese takeaway delivered to us.

We booked a Bar Tender for 2 hours one night to make us cocktails in the house. Great fun in the houses lounge.

Whilst the house is decorated very nicely, the hot tub is probably the only thing for me that makes it a luxury. Additional luxury kitchen items maybe? Boiling water tap on sink? Coffee maker? Furniture is flat pack but with hens and stags occasionally visiting you can appreciate not furnishing with the good stuff!! The garden could do with a bit of TLC ready for the summer (maybe a bit more secure for the kids) and there are a few jobs in the house that look like they have been waiting repair such as missing fridge door handle, broken shelves in fridges, cracked base front to fridge, chilled water/ice dispenser not working. But been reported so no doubt in hand now.

Definitely book this venue for your hens, friends, birthday, group or whatever. Very relaxing. Very quiet. Enjoy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing