We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in first class location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We are very fussy about where we stay and this hotel lived up to our expectations. We visited Stratford Upon Avon with friends for two nights to see a show at the RSC. We received parking instructions from the hotel before our visit and on arrival parked in the drop off bay (1 of 3 bays) located in the Table Table pub (Red Lion). You then cross the road to access the Premier Inn. You can park for 20 mins which is sufficient time to check in and take your bags to the room. I then moved the car to the Marina car park whcih is accessed by the slip road at the side of the Holiday Inn Hotel (literally 2 mins drive away in the one way system) it is signposted. There are two pay and display machines on the wall in this car park use the one on the left hand side and pay by debit/credit card (not cash). This way you can pay for 24 hours at a time. You just need to put in the amount you wish to pay and the time is then allocated. I paid £8.00 which allowed me to park from 15.00 on the Sunday to 15.00 (48 hours) on the Tuesday. You can not do this if you try to pay with cash. This is a bargain for city centre parking. It then takes you about 5 mins to walk back to the hotel.
The hotel is modern, clean and quiet (we had a ground floor room). The rooms are standard Premier Inn layout. I agree with the comments about it being a bit of a maze but this was not a problem (We had to go upstairs then back down again to get to the rooms). ALL staff where friendly helpful and polite. There is a small restaraunt/bar on the 1st floor next to the reception and we ate breakfast here which was very good although after 9.00 it can get very busy and you may have to wait. The staff worked very hard to get you through as quickly as they can.
Once parked up we never used the car as the hotel is in walking distance of all of the sites. We ate in the Rooftop restaraunt at the RSC before the show we went to watch (Fixed price pre show menu) £11.50 one course, £15.50 two courses and £18.50 for three courses. Stunning views and fantasic service. Also ate at Vintners on Sheep Street again excellent service.
If you are staying here then you have made a good choice as we could not fault it in any way.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift. Room 9 on the groung floor is opposite the lift and can be noisy in the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinwilliams212016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Getting to your room and back to reception is like travelling in a maze. It's free entertainment I know, but after the 2nd time it gets rather frustrating. Even though this hotel is in a great location (right in town), the hotel is a real rabbit warren and there is no parking on-site for your car.You can either pay 15GBP per night across the road or 20GBP for an undercover park around the corner. There is nowhere to park your car and drop off your bags when checking in (unless you're cheeky and use the loading bay like we did).

The room is o.k and up to Premier Inn standard and so is breakfast, athough the breakfast room is rather small. This same area serves as a pub at night but don't bother eating there, not much to choose from, especially if you are with a family. Go across the road to the Company owned Red Lion.

Room Tip: Do not make the mistake of going down to the ground floor on the elevator, if your room is out the b...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolumCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I can honestly say that Claire and her excellent team at this hotel helped keep me sane over the past 6 months when I have stayed every second week due to major renovations on my house nearby. It was a home from home during a very stressful time. I have to say if I was a visitor to the town I would be most impressed by the location. The quality and the staff are second to none and you get the feeling that you are staying with one big family. Well done to the team there. I am now a convert to Premier Inns!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

In a vastly over-subscribed town like Stratford Upon Avon, I was surprised that a) the Premier Inn was so central and b) it was not more expensive.

I stayed with my wife and teenage daughter in one room on Friday & Saturday night in order to attend the Royal Shakespear Company for a play each night. It was 5 minutes walk and there were plenty of good restaurants nearby. For 3 of us in a large comfortable and well equipped room we paid around £124. I call that excellent value in a major tourist town.

This seemed like a new style of Premier Inn. It is bigger than most, with a pleasant restaurant and automated check-in facilities for those in a hurry. It feels like a 'proper' hotel. The layout of the building is a bit of a maze though and you find yourself walking around following signs to get places. The staff were exceptionally helpful & friendly.

On balance, few people could complain about this hotel. I would recommend it unless you are looking for a romantic characterful place or the height of luxury.

Room Tip: If you sleep with the window open at night, ask for a room without a generator / AC motor outside th...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night but would definitely return again.
The location is absolutely perfect and within a very small walk into town.
The room was spacious, quiet and to a very high standard of cleanliness.
I would definitely like to point out one member of staff - Kay - her service was second to none and she was very welcoming and
friendly!
The only downside as mentioned in other reviews is the parking situation. This was not terrible for us as we were only staying one night and got the room on special
offer, but I can imagine it being quite costly if you are staying a few nights.

Would definitely recommend and will return!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collyburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just stayed at the Premier Inn this last weekend, 8th/9th October. The hotel was convenient, room large and clean and the staff spot-on. The Operational Manager last weekend went out of her way to help us which we particularly appreciated.

Well done.

Toby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed with my fiancé for two nights on the 30th Sept -2nd Oct as we were attending the RSC.

Despite originally feeling sad that we were not staying in a hotel with Tudor features and lovely character, I was incredibly pleased with our experience. An extremely clean and well kept hotel in a fantastic location, which is ideal for exploring Stratford-upon-Avon. The bed was incredibly comfortable, with good quality linen which made for two excellent nights sleep. The room is fitted with a modern flat screen television, a very good hairdryer and plenty of power points for charging phones, laptops, hair straighteners etc. The bathroom was also very clean, and the quality of the toiletries provided is good; well known products in dispensers rather than little packets.

The rooms also have air conditioning which was an absolute blessing over the hottest weekend October has seen in a very long time! Staff were friendly and the entire experience was very enjoyable. I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again, and will certainly be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyLa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing