We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel- pity about the car parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel- pity about the car parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

As others have written, a lovely and clean hotel that was well worth the money- but horrendous car parking 200 yds away across a main road at Bridgefoot and which cost us £10 for one day. The hotel does have sloping corridors and is a rabbit warren- bizarre for what looks like a modern building- but the new Kitchen grill and bar is superb and the service is first class. An odd little lift that requires a button to be held and doors to be opened gets you from ground to first floor- then a normal lift gets you in more comfort from first to higher floors- but the first lift is so slow and not really disability friendly.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have skylights as the only source of outside light and no windows on the walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worcsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    371
    145
    40
    13
See reviews for
280
444
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

A very good hotel, in a very central location at a very very good price. We booked a number of months ago and got 4 nights for £29 a night. The lack of parking was only a minor issue but one we were prepared to pay for such a central location. Everything you could want is in walking distance and in fact we parked on a street only 10 mins walk away, outside of parking control zone.
The staff were very helpful even giving us a room very close to the entrance as we had a buggy. The room was cleaned daily and to a very high standard, we had to chase or ask for nothing, which can often be the case. This is a fairly large hotel and breakfast (During school holidays) was very busy. However the breakfast is excellent, very good value and quality and most impressive of all is despite the busyness the staff are courteous and willing to help, there seems to be no stress or rush at all! With 3 children this is much appreciated. The 2 chefs are also excellent entertainment and seem to be buzzing at that very early time of the morning. The kids loved being able to see in to the kitchen and listen to Dave and Jim bantering on at each other!
Stratford is lovely, the surrounding area is full of villages to explore and I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpswichTosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

First the positive. The staff are friendly, polite and very customer focused. The rooms as you expect are clean and of Premier Inn quality.
The negatives for us were, as previously mentioned, the place is like a rabbit Warren with lots of sloping corridors and stairs within those corridors.
We stayed for 2 nights and our total car parking charges were £28 Bridgefoot car park about 5min walk but dragging your luggage. If you do manage to get parked in the Red lion pub opposite, you have to negotiate the main roads and then use the disabled lift ( which is so slow ) to get you and the luggage up to the reception area; or climb the 25-30 steps to go up from road level to the reception area.
We are frequent users of Premier Inns but would not use this one again as there is too much hassle due to parking. We will continue to use Premier Inns but on the outskirts rather than centre.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a very new a modern hotel, the check-in was automated but staff were on hand to assist. The staff were all helpful and had a smile. Perfect location for exploring the town, with pubs and restaurants nearby. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food. The hotel was a bit of a maze but there are plenty of signs around to help. We travelled by train and so parking was not a problem, but did receive and email prior to our stay advising us on parking.
The room itself was good, very clean and the beds were comfortable. There are good named products in the bathroom available in dispensers and a tv in the room. Very good value for money and would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy-princess27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

A new and modern hotel. It had automated booking in which was verty efficient. The staff were all efficient and friendly. Breakfast was of a good quality. The rooms once you got to them were clean and comfortable. The maze of corridors and stairs can be a bit offputting.
Parking can be tricky but the hotel send you an email with some helpful hints a couple of days before you stay. The room rates compare well with the, more typical, rip off Statford and are good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights all on different tariffs ranging from £29 pn to £55 pn! Its so central and handy for all eating places and pubs as well as having a very good restaurant of its own. Rooms very clean and well looked after. We had a quiet room on second floor with views to the stores and town. cant fault it and definitely to be recommended. We travelled by coach so not sure about parking.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We are very fussy about where we stay and this hotel lived up to our expectations. We visited Stratford Upon Avon with friends for two nights to see a show at the RSC. We received parking instructions from the hotel before our visit and on arrival parked in the drop off bay (1 of 3 bays) located in the Table Table pub (Red Lion). You then cross the road to access the Premier Inn. You can park for 20 mins which is sufficient time to check in and take your bags to the room. I then moved the car to the Marina car park whcih is accessed by the slip road at the side of the Holiday Inn Hotel (literally 2 mins drive away in the one way system) it is signposted. There are two pay and display machines on the wall in this car park use the one on the left hand side and pay by debit/credit card (not cash). This way you can pay for 24 hours at a time. You just need to put in the amount you wish to pay and the time is then allocated. I paid £8.00 which allowed me to park from 15.00 on the Sunday to 15.00 (48 hours) on the Tuesday. You can not do this if you try to pay with cash. This is a bargain for city centre parking. It then takes you about 5 mins to walk back to the hotel.
The hotel is modern, clean and quiet (we had a ground floor room). The rooms are standard Premier Inn layout. I agree with the comments about it being a bit of a maze but this was not a problem (We had to go upstairs then back down again to get to the rooms). ALL staff where friendly helpful and polite. There is a small restaraunt/bar on the 1st floor next to the reception and we ate breakfast here which was very good although after 9.00 it can get very busy and you may have to wait. The staff worked very hard to get you through as quickly as they can.
Once parked up we never used the car as the hotel is in walking distance of all of the sites. We ate in the Rooftop restaraunt at the RSC before the show we went to watch (Fixed price pre show menu) £11.50 one course, £15.50 two courses and £18.50 for three courses. Stunning views and fantasic service. Also ate at Vintners on Sheep Street again excellent service.
If you are staying here then you have made a good choice as we could not fault it in any way.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift. Room 9 on the groung floor is opposite the lift and can be noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinwilliams212016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing