We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bargain in a Major Tourist Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Northern England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bargain in a Major Tourist Location”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights over October half term 2 adults and 2 kids. There is nothing to dislike about this hotel, other travellers have commented on the maze experience - we didn't find any such thing although we were on the first floor so straight off the reception area. There is no parking but there are designated drop off spaces at the entrance of the car park at the Red Lion over the road - we parked on the Marina car park for £12 for 3 nights and 3 days, I believe this is the cheapest option and after paying only £29 per night for the room we had no complaints about an extra £12.

Service was great; they even sent us car parking suggestions a few days before we arrived, which were very grateful for as Stratford can be a bit of a car parking nightmare. You can't go wrong with this place; there is nothing to dislike and only a few strides to the centre of town with all the lovely eating places and the theatre at your disposal.

Fantastic!

Room Tip: The Marina car park is the cheapest option and only a short stroll from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    374
    147
    40
    15
See reviews for
280
452
40
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is in a great location for centre of stratford, even for the un-fit like me.Yes the parking is a bit of an issue, but this is not their fault, and the 3 spaces accross the road in the red lion car park give you plenty of time to check into the hotel and deposit your luggage in your room. We were also advised on the best car park to use for our particular stay, and again it was only a few minutes walk away.The staff here are all very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very comfortable and more importantly(take note travelodge)clean! The next day i was able to leave my luggage at reception whilst my husband went off to an early seminar in birmingham, which enabled me to have a lie in, and a leisurely day in stratford-bliss!We would definately stay at this hotel again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room near to exits if you don't want to get lost in the rabbit warren.we stayed in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A very clean Premier Inn with friendly staff and in a superb location, only 5 minutes walk from the town, if that. I'm not really sure why car parking is made such an issue of during reviews as it seemed very simple. Park at the Red Lion for 20-30 minutes for free..unload the luggage, then drive around the back past the Riverside car park and drop into the Marina Car park (next to the Holiday Inn) where I used my debit card and paid £8 for the 2 nights we were there. That seems to be a bargain to me for a major tourist destination and its a pleasant 5 minute walk back to the hotel.

We had breakfast both mornings at the Red Lion, which was half the price of the Premier Inn and very good and as for evening meals...well there's a host of good eateries in the town, you are spoiled for choice. We did have a couple of drinks in the hotel bar which seemed only fair..if you;re getting a good rate for the room there's no reason not to spend at least some money in the hotel.

If you can get the special offer rates, you really can't go wrong with this hotel. It may lack olde world charm but in all other respects its just ideal.

Room Tip: Ring in advance and ask for a quiet room, we got room 123 which was so peaceful we heard no noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braddersowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

As others have written, a lovely and clean hotel that was well worth the money- but horrendous car parking 200 yds away across a main road at Bridgefoot and which cost us £10 for one day. The hotel does have sloping corridors and is a rabbit warren- bizarre for what looks like a modern building- but the new Kitchen grill and bar is superb and the service is first class. An odd little lift that requires a button to be held and doors to be opened gets you from ground to first floor- then a normal lift gets you in more comfort from first to higher floors- but the first lift is so slow and not really disability friendly.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have skylights as the only source of outside light and no windows on the walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worcsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A very good hotel, in a very central location at a very very good price. We booked a number of months ago and got 4 nights for £29 a night. The lack of parking was only a minor issue but one we were prepared to pay for such a central location. Everything you could want is in walking distance and in fact we parked on a street only 10 mins walk away, outside of parking control zone.
The staff were very helpful even giving us a room very close to the entrance as we had a buggy. The room was cleaned daily and to a very high standard, we had to chase or ask for nothing, which can often be the case. This is a fairly large hotel and breakfast (During school holidays) was very busy. However the breakfast is excellent, very good value and quality and most impressive of all is despite the busyness the staff are courteous and willing to help, there seems to be no stress or rush at all! With 3 children this is much appreciated. The 2 chefs are also excellent entertainment and seem to be buzzing at that very early time of the morning. The kids loved being able to see in to the kitchen and listen to Dave and Jim bantering on at each other!
Stratford is lovely, the surrounding area is full of villages to explore and I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpswichTosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First the positive. The staff are friendly, polite and very customer focused. The rooms as you expect are clean and of Premier Inn quality.
The negatives for us were, as previously mentioned, the place is like a rabbit Warren with lots of sloping corridors and stairs within those corridors.
We stayed for 2 nights and our total car parking charges were £28 Bridgefoot car park about 5min walk but dragging your luggage. If you do manage to get parked in the Red lion pub opposite, you have to negotiate the main roads and then use the disabled lift ( which is so slow ) to get you and the luggage up to the reception area; or climb the 25-30 steps to go up from road level to the reception area.
We are frequent users of Premier Inns but would not use this one again as there is too much hassle due to parking. We will continue to use Premier Inns but on the outskirts rather than centre.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a very new a modern hotel, the check-in was automated but staff were on hand to assist. The staff were all helpful and had a smile. Perfect location for exploring the town, with pubs and restaurants nearby. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food. The hotel was a bit of a maze but there are plenty of signs around to help. We travelled by train and so parking was not a problem, but did receive and email prior to our stay advising us on parking.
The room itself was good, very clean and the beds were comfortable. There are good named products in the bathroom available in dispensers and a tv in the room. Very good value for money and would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy-princess27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing