We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central hotel in Stratford - perfect for RSC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here one night to visit the RSC which is only a 5 minute walk away! I knew about the parking, but the drop off spaces opposite are useful and after check in you can move your car to a car park (the Marina is best and very reasonable - only £4 for 24 hours - and about a 5 min walk away). I wish I had realised that the building was not the best for anyone with walking issues though. The lift from the entrance to reception is one of those designed for wheelchair use primarily and you have to hold the button all the time ... it is very slow). The building itself is converted from an old BT telephone exchange and the corridors are winding and have steps at various intervals - we did find a quicker way to leave the hotel eventually - but I will ask for a room on level 1 next time. The decor is very fresh and clean - the rooms a good size - air conditioned - shower gel - foam soap dispenser by the basin - good all channel freeview tv - excellent all round.
We had breakfast the next day - this is an extra charge - we weren't late down, it was only 9.30 and they close at 10.30, which is good, but they had run out of clean mugs, and small plates - pleasant staff soon sorted this. If you have the hot breakfast they take your order and bring it to your table - every thing except the bacon was good ... the bacon was dreadful - it must have been kept hot from earlier and was hard, dry and inedibly sadly :(
we would happily stay here again though as it is so central to Stratford

Room Tip: if you have heavy luggage or mobility issues choose the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Basic amenities, but comfortable, quiet, clean rooms. Staff friendly and breakfast very good value for money. The let down is access to Reception and the rooms. the lift on entrance to the hotel - have to keep finger on the up button to keep the lift moving and it is quicker to trudge up the stairs rather than wait for the lift, even though you have to carry your bags up the stairs. Depending on what room you're giving, you can walk a long way to get there, carrying your bags down winding corridors going up and down stairs to deal with the many different layers of flooring. Great if you want exercise but can be hard if you have health problems as we did. Parking is a problem but that's common for most hotels in this busy town.

Room Tip: If you have health issues ask for room on ground floor when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bar-Llani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Excellent value for money. Very close to shops and theatre. Very friendly staff. Parking close by and is not overpriced. Meal deal (breakfast + dinner) was really good. Would highly recommend this hotel without exception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AstonVillaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Booked this by mistake as originally wanted to book PI Waterways.

But am very pleased we booked this one. Location was right in the town centre, so walking back after dinner with children was easy & not too far for the little legs.

Very clean hotel. Staff was very friendly.
There were lots of families during the half term holidays but not an issue for us as we have children with us too. The room was soundproof, we didn't hear anyone else. Good night sleep & comfortable beds.

Breakfast was good value as children under 16 eat for free. Although we were lucky that we came early both mornings as later on about 8.30, the restaurant was very busy; people were queuing to be seated!

First time stayed at PI hotel, would definitely try others at different location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocowoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for only one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were excellent. Very helpful and with a sense of humour! Cleanliness and decoration were of a remarkably high standard especially for a budget hotel. It was also one of the quietest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in even though it was in the centre of Stratford. The room was large enough, there was every facility you could want, the bed was comfortable and being able to adjust the heating and at least partially open the window for some fresh air was a real change from some hotels. The central location means visitor attractions, shops, cafes/restaurants and lovely walks along the canal and riverside are on your doorstep. The RSC is also only a few minutes walk away if you are going to the theatre. The only downside could be the lack of a car park at the hotel, however, there are plenty of car parks in close vicinity of the hotel and this information was relayed to me by email from the hotel before my visit. Personally this did not affect me and I found the very short walk from the Marina Car Park to the hotel no problem at all. If you have masses of luggage, you have the opportunity to park opposite the hotel for a short time to unload your bags. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, it is ideally placed for a holiday in Stratford.

Room Tip: My room was on entrance level and this was very convenient. It looked inwards and there was positiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hotel was great overall. I also knew about the lack of parking before we arrived so expected to have to walk 5 mins to the Marina car park. Parking cost me £8 for 48hrs, so cheap enough.
It is worth looking at google street view to find the entrance to this car park as you can easily drive past it.
Hotel has a strange layout. Reception is up 2 flights of stairs (there is a disabled lift).
the rooms are typical premier inn rooms, but the restaurant is very small, so you may have to queue to get a breakfast table (we didn't as it happened, good timing on my part!). I also didn't see anyone eating in the evening, so it must be that everyone (including us) ate out (see review of Garrick inn and Usha restaurant).

Staff were very friendly and helpful, although there was an older woman there who was very odd indeed!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IVAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it, had a family room which was a good size and very clean. Staff were great really friendly and helpful and the location was good for all the attractions only a short walk away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing