We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel was clean we had a room with just a ceiling skylight no window so room was very warm. Bed was hard, the hotel is right in the centre of town near to shops and river. When parking use Marina car park use left hand machine it costs £8 for 48 hours

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubby210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel had friendly, polite, and helpful staff. The location was very convenient for visiting the town and all the Shakespeare related houses and museums and for eating out if desired. Generally very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel is excellently located within 2 minutes walk of The Swan Theatre and town centre. Upon arrival there are two flights of stairs up to reception. There is a disabled lift which you can use if you have heavy luggage. Once checked in my daughter and I followed signs to our room which was on second floor. We had a heavy suitcase and was glad to follow signs to lift. However once arrived on second floor there is a series of stairs to go up and down and we struggled with the suitcase. It turned out that our room was directly above reception and it would have been much easier to have taken the stairs directly up to the room - which reception could have directed up to rather than the exhausting route we were directed to take. The room was a great size, lovely and clean and we could just see over to the river which was lovely. Breakfast the next morning was disappointing. On arrival we had to wait a couple of minutes for a table to be ready and there was a horrible smoky cooking smell from the kitchen, which is open. We made ourselves tea whilst waiting for the table and had to ask for cutlery. My daughter had to search round for a glass for some juice as there were none out. The hot food is already cooked, ready for you to help yourself. We ordered some vegetarian sausages which we wish we hadn't - the cooking of these seemed to stink the place out and tasted awful. However, the chef was happy to cook me up a very nice poached egg. We had to ask for brown bread to be put out as there were only a few slices of white bread left. Once back in our room I had to change my clean top as it really smelt of fried cooking smells. Although a great location not sure if I would stay at this one again.

Room Tip: If you are on second floor ask reception is main stairs are quicker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bartonbeachhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel was lovely but the reception is on the first floor and its a very slow disabled lift for anyone wanting to use it. Very central, near the river, shops and pubs. No parking other than a 20 mins stay in the pub car park opposite to drop your bags off but 24 hour car park just around the corner at very reasonable rates. We stayed 2nights and went down to breakfast at 10am only 1 chef was on, the restaurant was very busy, things although cooked they were only just cooked, nothing was crispy or browned, eg bacon sausage and the hash browns were sloppy. The 2nd day there were 2chefs this made all the difference. Tables were also left for ages on the 1st day before being cleared, staff were just to busy and there were people coming in from outside when they couldn't cope with the guests they'd got. I never saw the bar and restaurant open whilst we were there other than for breakfast, but there were plenty of places to eat around the hotel. Word to the wise The Lazy Cow lovely restaurant on the river just down from the hotel, we wanted to eat in there on the Saturday night as my hubby fancied a steak but fully booked apparently you have to book way in advance to get in.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quirky up and down steps, but you wouldn't want a room just off reception with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Premier Inn Stratford is ideally located right in town. Rooms and staff are first class and I was quite content at £39. The only downside is lack of parking. Its possible to leave you car in the small road behind the hotel overnight but you only get an hour from 8am. Other carparks are fairly handy but can get expensive.
Breakfast next door at BHS starts at £3.25 for eggs and bacon etc and you get a nice view of the river from the restaraunt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This premier Inn was in a great location, staff were excellent friendly and helpful as usual.

No parking at the hotel so we went on the train.

Typically easy check in and comfortable bed.

We had a room on the third floor, 303, which only had a high rooftop window with a blind.

The room was very hot when the sun was out, the window controls were on the wall and had
quite annoying and time consuming controls ( we had opened the window for some air but the bed got very wet when we had a sudden shower during the time it took to shut the window.)

A long way to the rooms from the entrance, three flights of stairs or a very slow lift just to reception.

I would probably say at the new Premier about a mile away if in Stratford again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palinabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Situated beside the town central and very close to the river. Quite possibly converted from an office block, the reception is up a couple of flights of stairs (there is a lift too). There is very limited parking, although there are a couple of drop off bays in the pub car park opposite. We parked in a nearby council multi storey for £6 (18 hours over a weekend). The room wasn't big, but the decor was fresh. Despite being full, the self check-in terminals meant no delay on arrival and it was a quiet nights sleep. At £85 a night, the plus is not having a minimum two-night stay policy over a weekend as per many of the local guesthouses.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ardara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,923 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing