We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only weakness is parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for a week on business.

I checked in at about 19:30 on a Tuesday night, which took about 2 minutes on the kiosk. I was able to buy wifi at this point, which I did.

The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren, which is mildly irritating after a while, especially as it's on split levels, and is long and thin.

There is no on site parking, so you have to use the 20 min free parking at the pub opposite, and then drag your stuff over 3 lanes of traffic... There is on street parking, but it's permit holders only, except 10pm to 8am. Parking is 5 minutes away on foot, which is a pain if you have much stuff. Or it's raining. Or both.

The room was spot on. Large and air conditioned, and with a sumptuous and comfy bed. A reasonable TV. Acceptable wifi at £3 for 24 hours. I was getting about 3Mb download, which is OK. Not amazing though, but it seemed reliable and the signal strength was good.

The bar is a bit dire, and doesn't have draft beer or lager... Just expensives bottles of beer, or cans of Guiness. Hmm.

It's a 2 minute walk to the centre of town.

I'd return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Location couldn't be better. You really are in the centre of everything. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely but order your eggs when you want them otherwise they come too early, ours came before we had finished our fruit so were cold when we were ready to eat them. Also came on cold plates.
Accessible rooms are not particularly accessible if you are on crutches. Room 114 is a good walk from reception and then a flight of 8 steps, although there is a small lift. The lifts are very slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyryan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed as a family group weekend break (6 couples). Rooms lovely, very clean, comfortable beds and everything you needed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good central position.
Will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you, Teresa G, for taking the time in writing a review about your stay. We are really pleased to hear about your experience with us. It really matters to our team at Premier Inn Stratford-upon-Avon Central to make our guests feel brilliant through a great night sleep. We hope to see you again in the upcoming future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice clean hotel with excellent staff and excellent food but just a shame you have to mess about finding parking and when you do find it, its very expensive.
Nice central location and close to all attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chaffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you chaffer1 for your review about your stay. We invest in quality training for the Premier Inn Teams. We try to make clear on our website the facilities we offer for each individual hotel. As the hotels are located centrally, there is a range of local car parks but unfortunately we do not have any control over the charges for the car park. We take into considerations all the observation raised and work hard to improve our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Check in is three flights of stairs up and the lift takes so long to arrive you'll haul your bags up rather than wait. No parking on site so be prepared to pay pounds for parking near by.
Nice room,as ever in Premier, but the other factors make me consider Holiday Inn next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenLansdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at our hotel. We endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. At Premier Inn the team is always prepared to help with the guests luggage if requested. While we would like to offer parking facilities in all our hotels, this is sometime not possible especially if the hotel is centrally located. We try to make as clear as possible on our website the parking facilities and we suggest contacting the hotel directly to verify the arrangements and costs. We value our guests and hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Not the cheapest Premier Inn you'll stay in, but this is Stratford. Mostly the usual Premier Inn standards, although for some reason our pillows were really uncomfortable. Also, as it was warm we had to have the air con on, which worked fine but was inevitably a little noisy. We were in a room on the lower ground floor which is a bit of a strange trek to get to, bury once you've discovered the exit/entrance through the carpark/loading bay that helps. Service very good and friendly, location very good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MattDavies2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. Our pricing policy works similar to many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. The prices may increase at the time of high demand but they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. It matters to us that our guests have a good night sleep. We offer two types of pillows in our hotels, firm or soft. For future bookings, please contact the reception team and request the type of pillows that are to your preference. We are really proud to work in the hotel that has a specific quirkiness. Thank you once again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central and it continues to be a reliable, comfortable and convenient option for us when visiting for a night at the theatre.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay (particularly when the automated check in machines failed to produce any key cards). I would happily stay here again on a future theatre trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FolkestoneJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thankyou FolkestoneJack for your wonderful review, we aim to make our guests feel brilliant through a greats night sleep and im thrilled to see we give you this experience time after time, I will pass on you comments to our team who im sure will be very happy to recieve. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £45 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing