We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The car parks are a fair distance from the hotel and there are a lot of steps at the hotel. Breakfasts were plated rather than a buffet which slowed things down and quality was poor. Room was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion you were let down by various issues. We are aware of car parking issues and we try our upmost to ensure guests are aware of local carparking and charges, Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Some hotels in this chain are fine (Durham Central and Euston),some are not (this one).
4 flights of stairs (or a small,slow,Disabled persons lift) to get to reception.
A route march to the (one,small) lift to the rooms - incorporating more,seemingly random sets of stairs on the way.
A complete maze,with associated obstacle course;who on earth "designed" this place?
So,if you are elderly,disabled,have young kids or simply have luggage,you might want to consider going elsewhere.
I c ertainly will.
And the cost.
Parking in Stratford comes in at £10 per 24 hrs;the nearest car park is a good 10 mins walk away across a VERY busy road.
We normally stay in a local B&B (we visit almost monthly) but it was full last week;it costs £70 and includes parking and breakfast.This Premier Inn cost more than that per night without breakfast (£18 for two?) and parking - ie nearly £30 more.
There are many B&Bs in Stratford;it's worth spending a little time on Tripadvisor finding them rather than taking the lazy option,like I did this time.
And by the way,just putting out two tea sachets and two milks just makes the whole chain look penny pinching.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jhallyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Hotel was up to the usual Premier Inn standards, lovely room with comfortable beds, tip top air conditioning and friendly, helpful staff.

The parking situation is a pain in the rear. You get 30 mins free at the pub opposite for unloading but don't try to park there, the 'day' ticket expires at midnight and you have to buy a new 'overnight' ticket. Both tickets cost £22 in total!

Hotel Reception will give you a sheet showing local car parks and tariffs but this appears to be out of date. We went to the recommended car park which is much cheaper but, again, you have to buy day time then night time tickets. It's a pain when the overnight ticket runs out at 9am and you have to rush breakfast to dash over there and buy a new day ticket!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyABennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, General Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Stratford-upon-Avon Central, your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. All our team members will very well receive your comments as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service. Although we unfortunately do not have any control over parking, we try our best to make sure guests are aware of the nearest car parks available and prices. We hope this does not discourage any future stays you have with us as we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There were a number of staff on duty during the course of my stay and they were all friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren but the rooms are good and, very important in this weather, air-conditioned. It is a very short walk from the theatre and the shops so a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, General Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Stratford Central. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here to visit family at the start of a 2 week holiday. We've stayed at the PI Stratford Waterways many times (including the night before our stay at this hotel) and have always enjoyed our stays there but opted to stay at the Central hotel this time as it was considerably less expensive.
Our arrival was an inauspicious start to our stay. There is nowhere to park outside the main entrance as it is on a main road with double yellow lines. We drove into the small car park underneath the hotel to see if we could stop there to unload. There is limited disabled parking down there and very little room for manoeuvre. Our trials were observed by a member of the PI staff who was having a break and made no effort to help or offer suggestions about parking. Eventually we unloaded in a side road and my husband parked the car in the multi-storey across the street. Luckily we arrived in dry weather but this could have been pretty unpleasant in the rain.
Reception is on the first level of the hotel which was clearly two buildings at one time which have been, not totally successfully, joined together. Reception is accessed either by stairs or a tiny lift which was only just big enough for us and our cases. Once we had checked in the fun really started! The hotel is a rabbit warren of corridors and stairs. We had to climb one set of stairs, cross into what was obviously the second building and then go downstairs to access our room. This was only a problem when we had all our bags and it would have been nice if someone at reception had asked if we needed any help with them.
Our room was pretty quiet but wasn't particularly clean. The chair had dried food on it and the carpet didn't appear to have been vacuumed thoroughly.
When next in Stratford we will definitely stay at the Waterways whatever the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which avoids all the staircases!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Ideal location for all the sights & shops room was very quiet & clean. Excellent breakfast with a very good choice of food. Hotel staff were very friendly & attentive. Would certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, General Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Stratford - upon - Avon Central. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. Your comments will be very well received by all our team members as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I just stayed the one night with my husband and the location was perfect, close to the theatre, shops, bars and Restaurants. Once again a clean, comfortable and friendly Hotel,
I could go on about what we did in Stratford but that wouldn't be about the Hotel,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suztayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £46 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing