We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like an office block with lots of stairs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The picture on the Premier Inn website makes this place look like a brand new building, but it 100% isn't - there are lifts but also a couple of flights of stairs to reception and then more stairs to the room. The room was as you'd expect from this chain but the shower in the room we stayed in (240) wasn't a patch on all our previous experiences of Premier Inn - it's a run round to get wet job, I'm afraid.
Great location in the centre of Stratford making everything easily accessible and suggest using the Marina car park as per the advice on the Premier Inn website - for about 36 hours parking, it cost £10 (via 3 separate tickets!).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Unfortunetly we dont have any control over the parking but we do our upmost to ensure our guests are aware of the nearest and most pratical car parks near the hotel. We hope to see you again soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed with my sister and her husband for two nights. The room was surprisingly large and quiet and the bed very comfortable. The location was amazingly close to the town, the river and the canal and only a few minutes from the theatre. Although there is not much personal service, we were very pleased with the receptionist who went out of his way to be pleasant and very helpful, for instance going out of his way to recommend cheap parking. We visit Stratford periodically and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pipmosscrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that our team member at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. We always strive to provide the highest quality customer service where possible. Further more we are happy you got a great nights sleep as guaranteed.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A lovely hotel in a great location right in the centre of Stratford upon avon.
comfy rooms, friendly staff and a good selection of breakfast ideas from fresh fruit to full english.
A lift to reception but thereafter there are quite a few stairs and can be a little confusing finding your way about

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80scotland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments with us regarding your recent stay at Premier Inn, it is a delight to hear we were able to provide a high standard of service. Regarding the general layout of the building please feel free to call or email us before your next visit and we'd be more than happy to oblige to any room requests prior to arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Stratford Central in the future,

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

You get what it says on the tin. Close to RSC theatre but need to park elsewhere. Good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast. Handy for the town centre. Relentlessly purple everywhere. Would stay again.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn.

It really matters to us that our guest have a great nights sleep and a great breakfast to prepare for the day ahead. We endeavour to provide this and didn't disappoint for your stay. Regarding the parking if there are any other options which you'd like to discuss we are fully trained to provide you with any other information which would make your next stay more comfortable.

We look forward to your return to Stratford Central in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel four times before and loved it however this time wasnt as good , planned on eating in the restraunt like have done before to find this time it was a limited 5 dish menu , which i didnt like anything out the five options which was dissapointing ,
The room was on the top floor outside the lift entrance , which is great if you want to be woken up by lift going down , lift going up , doors opening all night when you have a hen party wandering around getting lost all night and banging on the doors like there trying to take the hinges off .
The room had been decorated it was plain to see as whoever painted the room had missed bits and was very patchy and made to room look cheap and tacky which is unlike premier inn ,
Next time in stratford i may look for another hotel which is a shame as ive always liked this particular hotel for its location .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.We shall also look into the decor of the rooms and ensure they are are up to Premier Inn standards, Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Premier Inn are the McDonalds of hotels, every one you stay at has the same quality and cleanliness......Clean, fresh and a great nights sleep. Great breakfast and good staff. It cost the 3 of us £60 for the one night, good value and massively central.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, it is a delight to hear you found everything to your liking and at great value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Stratford upon Avon Central in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been using hotels and B & Bs in Stratford for over 30 years in order to attend conferences and events at the Shakespeare Institute and the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. This is the first time I have stayed at the Premier Inn there (although I had stayed at a pleasant one in Kent two years ago), and I managed to get a room for £29 a night for 3 nights by booking several weeks ahead. I was expecting something dire, but the room & bathroom looked new and very clean. The bed was comfy and fresh and there was little street noise, even though the hotel is on a main road. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I didn't pay extra for breakfast, so I can't evaluate that. Considering that very basic hotels & B & Bs there, often on very noisy main roads, are £80 a night, this is a great place to stay. You need to use the parking lot across the street (I had already arranged a private parking place elsewhere in advance). It's five minutes walk from the two RSC theatres.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GJI-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantelle L, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your delightful comments regarding your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, it is a wonderful to hear you that we went above and beyond your expectations as a returning guest to to the fabulous town of Stratford upon Avon.

We look forward to your return to Stratford Central in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
942 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel

Address: College House Payton Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premier Inn is central to the Shakespearian town of Stratford. We are a small family friendly hotel with a great team and a great atmoshpere and welcome everyone who stops in our hotel.We don't have on site parking but offer 3 drop off bays at the Red Lion Table Table directly opposite whereby you can stop for 20 minutes to check-in and bring bags across, the postcode for this car park is CV37 6YW.There are a number of close local carparks and we are happy to help you find one that accomodates your needs, please call before hand or we can do this when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing