We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough but no child portions available!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henley Street Tea Rooms - CLOSED

Henley Street Tea Rooms
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional English Tea Rooms located opposite Shakespeare's Birthplace in Stratford upon Avon. Serving home made food including breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and pre-theatre dining between 5pm and 7pm.
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice enough but no child portions available!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Generally nice, well decorated and clean. The food was ok and reasonably priced for a tourist place. However for some strange reason despite being happy to pay for a whole baked potato with beans, the management would not let us just half of the potato for our 4 year old, as they 'don't do child portions'. So we asked for a bowl which was permitted and we put half of the potato into the bowl - weird!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoGuy1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    54
    18
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Really nice spot to sit outside and have breakfast. The food/service was great and even though there was a problem with the toast, the manager rectified it straight away and gave us a discount.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mynameissmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Food! Reasonably Priced...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I trapised through many Stratford eateries with great disappointment as the interiors did not reflect the Tudor character of the exteriors, they were bland & characterless, not even a log fire to be seen. So I settled on a cosy little tea rooms near where I was staying, with fewer period features than other larger establishments they at least managed to have a little fire going in a cast iron stove which was nice, & the Vegetarian breakfast was lovely & reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aNationOfShopkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Well what can I say..........the most superb breakfast I think I have ever tasted. Full English at its best. Everything cooked fresh and what was so delightful is that nothing is served up in the usual slop dosh style you find in most cafes. No oil n fat swirling around these plates. Service extremely good and very pleasant and helpful. Fresh tea and coffee and for a fraction of the price that the hotels locally. Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POWYS WALES
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treat for those who love a "Home Cooked" breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a fantastic find amongst the numerous eating establishments in Stratfor Upon Avon.We went soley to have breakfast and were not disappointed.A very generous, well cooked and flavoursome delight
Friendly,courteous staff,exceptionally clean decor,tables and importantly toilet facilities.
The best breakfast I have ever had out of my own home!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ISABELPowysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henley Street Tea Rooms also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Long Marston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Welford-on-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing