We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful first stay in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Spa Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Spa Lodge
Martinez, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful first stay in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for the first two nights of our England stay and found the lodgings and the hostess to be wonderful. Dreen is the most gracious hostess and made us feel like part of the family. Breakfast in her elegant dining room beautifully appointed with family heirlooms was lovely and the food, excellent. She was also most helpful with things to do during our short visit. The location is an easy bus ride into Stratford-upon-Avon and close to the Cotswolds and Warwick castle. It's a beautiful part of England - don't miss the area and pick Victoria's own hotel to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captkrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    47
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
46
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently spent two nights here in the family room and found it to be a great location for our day trips to attractions in the Cotswolds. The rooms are clean and the hostess is gracious, providing a wonderful English breakfast in a Victorian setting. We were referred here by the information center in Warwick and found it to be a great value for the room and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanineT214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicknacre, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Victoria Spa Lodge with some friends as part of a quick weekend break to Stratford Upon Avon. We found it very easy to find using the cars sat nav and were greeted on arrival by the owner.

The outside is currently undergoing some renovations to part of the old house which isn't part of the B+B this is unsightly from the front but not a problem with regard to the running of the B+B.

As mentioned by other reviewers the décor isn't modern and if you are looking for rooms with the latest in high tech this isn't the place for you. But we found it to immaculately clean which is actually more important to us than the colour of the bedspread!

We took a walk along the tow path (which runs directly behind the B+B) into the town and found it to be a very pleasant 20 minute walk. A cab back later that night cost us approx. £8.00.

Breakfast had a short window 8am-9am (on a Sunday) which again may not suit everyone. We found the breakfast to be really nice with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Beautiful Hotel, fab breakfast and very friendly and helpful Hostess.Great Value for a family room. Warwick Castle is amazing and the Cotswolds stunning, highly recommend a trip to Bourton on the Water. Will definitely return,.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My family stayed here for only night. We occupied two rooms, which were quite comfortable and spacious. I couldn't quite figure out how all the lighting worked, and the water pressure in the toilet left something to be desired, but we enjoyed our stay there. The proprietress and staff were all very pleasant, and we enjoyed being able to relax in the sitting area at the far end of the dining room. The breakfast was hearty and served to us in lovely surroundings.

Although this guest house is out of town, it is accessible to the town centre by bus. The carpark was a nice feature and was nicely sized. We took our car to the "park and ride" nearby and took a passenger bus into town in order to have dinner and take in a Shakespeare play.

Relative to other accommodations in the Stratford area, this was a bargain. We'd stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: No lift, so you'll need to carry up your bags yourselves. No rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretVirginia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights recently. A lovely old house with plenty of history and a beautiful garden in a fabulous setting. The room we stayed in overlooked the canal and beyond to unspoiled countryside. It was a wonderfully peaceful stay, the room and bathroom were lovely and clean.

The hosts were most welcoming and extremely helpful when we asked about where to go and eat at night in Stratford. The breakfasts were fabulous and my wife could not manage to finish hers!

Overall a great place to stay at a very reasonable price. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondoteeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

A charming guest house with a wonderful landlady who was incredibly helpful. The room was a little tired but everything was clean and the bed comfortable. It was quiet and although a very hot night the room was airy and cool , we would've appreciated a fridge but other than that it was lovely.
The ensuite shower room was tiny though and the shower tray very slippery. No where to put anything, a shelf would really have helped and the shower temperature kept fluctuating. There was another shower room in the corridor but this looked a little grubby so we didn't use it.
The breakfast was great , my only gripe would be the toast came before the eggs and bacon.
I would certainly stay there again and found it incredibly friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the front or side as it will be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelican23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.4 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Lodge
Hampton Lodge
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Spa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Spa Lodge

Property: Victoria Spa Lodge
Address: Bishopton Lane, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing