We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Stay But Not Four Star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay But Not Four Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The best thing about the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel is it's location. Centrally located in Stratford Upon Avon, you are within walking distance of the town's attractions. The second best thing about the Hotel is it's old world charm. It has a lovely tudor exterior, and quaint charming rooms. However, the room we stayed in looked nothing like the pictures the property uses in it's advertisements, so if you are expecting modern and updated, you may be disappointed.

The room was very cozy (small), but it was clean, and the beds were quite comfortable. The common areas of the Hotel have retained their periodic charm, particuarly the bar. Buffet breakfast was your average combination of cold and hot offerings, and a good value only if you have a huge appetite. We gave dinner a miss in this property, and instead walked to the Dirty Duck pub for excellent fish and chips.

This is not a four star property however, if five star means perfection. But with a few tweaks here and there, and should you secure a reasonable room rate, it can offer value for money and be a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keskeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Your comments are really helpful and I would like to thank you.

We are currently upgrading the hotel with new bathrooms in the majority of the rooms, 5 extra rooms and we will also start the ground floor refurbishment from September onwards. This will be scheduled in 5 phases to reduce the disruption to our guests.

We are hoping to have a “new” hotel by the new of the year .

I hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    662
    327
    133
    67
See reviews for
205
969
56
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Bearing in mind this is a 4* hotel, and cost more than similar local hotels, our room was very tiny.
We had a wonderful stay, because Stratford's gorgeous as always, the sun shone & this hotel's bang in the centre, which is fantastic.
But if I'm honest, I was disappointed by our pokey room, especially compared with the beautiful reception & frontage.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I accept we have a variety of room types and sizes as the hotel has been developed over a few centuries.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. You can contact me directly and I will endeavour to allocate a larger room for you.

Kind regards,




Marnix Teeken
General Manager
h6630-gm@accor.com
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Worst hotel we have stayed in. The kind of hotel where you feel that it's so old and unclean you don't even want to take off your jacket or shoes. Loud. Dusty. A hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you feel that our hotel is not clean. We have quarterly AA inspections and always have very good results on our cleanliness. You might feel this way due to our ongoing refurbishment in our rooms. We have a very good team of contractors who keep disruption to a minimum and keep the corridors and other effected areas to be best possible standard. We are fortunate that our owners are investing in the hotel to improve the facilities and the overall guest experience.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Mercure Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience and experience the upgraded facilities.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Booked this as a a romantic break for husband's birthday. Beautiful Tudor building, well modernised. Friendly welcome and great location, just minutes from the river.

Our room had a lovely view over a tudor walled garden. The junior suite was VERY junior - would have felt cramped if we'd stayed longer than a night. But well decorated and a romantic feel.

We had dashed straight from work on a Friday & had a drink in the courtyard garden but service was slow so we had no time for a snack before the theatre. Upon return, the restaurant was closed so we made do with some nice but - at over £11 - expensive sliced bread sandwiches from the bar (£11 for four slices of bread and some ordinary ham?! If we weren't so hungry we would have laughed). However, the environment was lovely & relaxed and the staff were exemplary. Breakfast in the restaurant would have cost us over £15 each so we checked out and went to Carluccios a few minutes away, paid a fraction of the cost and had river views and sunshine too. This hotel could be number one on the Trip Advisor Stratford list if they made a few minor adjustments to price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Your comments are greatly appreciated. It is very useful to receive this specific feedback, which helps us to focus and improve on certain service areas and offerings.

I hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This really is a beautiful old hotel, lots of atmosphere and lovely furnishings.. a beautifully dressed bed and pretty decor in the room, BUT the room was tiny, not enough space to get dressed properly or stretch your legs! We could hardly walk around the bed and the bathroom was very dated - I'd been looking forward to a weekend break without the kids and envisaged a long soak before going out Saturday night but the seventies style and colour of the cracked stained suite was bit disappointing.. it put me off and I didn't want a bath in it.
The hotel is very quaint and has nice higgledy piggledy Olde English corridors, a pretty courtyard outside and nice bar etc.
A lovely old historic town, we sampled lots of pubs and enjoyed a beautiful seafood lunch on the river and found a lovely italian restaurant full of atmosphere on Saturday night. Its a lovely town and full of lots of history, sights and good shops too.
Breakfast was extra but it was a nice self service of cold pastries , cereal and fruit buffet followed by cooked English ..eggs and bacon etc... no complaints.
Was just expecting a little more from a such a beautiful looking hotel in a fantastic situation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveminibreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

We do take pride in our service standards and we will take your comments on board to improve the guest experience going forward.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Hugely disappointed - the hotel is very very tired in it's decor and yes you guessed it no hot water! This hotel trades upon its quaint exterior and proximity to the theatre - it falls well short of the expected standards at the price. Premier Inn do it better at a quarter Of the price. Wake up Mercure - you have lost my business

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

We do take pride in our service standards and we will take your comments on board to improve the guest experience going forward.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing