We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
571
783
378
153
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
783
378
153
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkprivilege roomjunior suiteold buildingcreaky floorboardsper nightmiddle of towncharming hotelfour poster bedlots of charactercentral locationexcellent locationpublic areaslarge bathroomlovely roombuffet stylecomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,639 - 1,644 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here as a get together of old work mates and wives. The hotel is in a really good position with loads of restaurants and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre within easy walking distance.

The room we had was clean and tidy and of a good size, with everything we needed. During the afternoon, we had tea in the lounge and the staff were very attentive.

If I have one gripe, it must be the cost of parking - I really do not see why I should have to pay to park at an hotel that I am staying at. Luckily we knew about it in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform others about your pleasant stay at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel. It is great to see this feedback about our hotel and the team. Thank you again.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Please bear in mind that this hotel is right in th centre of Stratford- ideal for sightseeing. The room was of a good standard the bed very comfy. But the car par was very small but don't let this put you off you can park at the nearby ncp and I think at a reduced rate. We didn't eat in the hotel as we thought the cost was rather high, but there are very good restaurants and pubs close by. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsFidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on the Tripadvisor website. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Shakespeare in Stratford on Avon for 2 nights, one of which was New Years Eve. The hotel apparently always have a New Years Eve Gala evening which consists of black tie dinner and entertainment. We booked the hotel too late to take part in this event but it looked wonderful and everyone we spoke to who had taken part were extremely impressed.
The hotel itself is a wonderful old black and white building furnished downstairs with big armchairs and settees all through and also tucked into cosy corners. Log fires burn and there is a lovely warm, comfortable feeling. The staff are polite, obliging and helpful. The hot and cold buffet breakfast excellent.
The Shakespeare is everything you would expect from this reputable company.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the oldest part of the hotel - more character
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
D
1
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Front desk service was outstanding and the restaurant was good at breakfast (the only meal we ate in the hotel). The only criticism is that the water in the morning at 07.00 was just warm and not hot making for an unpleasant shower. Also one had to step into the shower to access the controls resulting in a blast of cold water before it turned lukewarm

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this website. I am pleased that despite the luke warm shower, you have enjoyed your hotel room and breakfast.

I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Good points: New WiFi system installed in December has good in room coverage; staff very friendly and obliging; Cold buffet for breakfast good value at £8.95; location only five minutes walk to the RSC theatres.
Not so good: Bathroom fans very noisy; back stair carpet threadbare; WiFi system incompatible with hotel's charging policy (not a complaint as I wasn't charged anything in the end but it needs sorting out); only skimmed milk provided at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive comments here on Tripadvisor. The high speed WiFi is now free of cahrge throughout the hotel and no login and password are needed.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews