We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
571
783
378
153
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
783
378
153
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkprivilege roomjunior suiteold buildingcreaky floorboardsper nightmiddle of towncharming hotelfour poster bedlots of charactercentral locationexcellent locationpublic areaslarge bathroomlovely roombuffet stylecomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,504 - 1,509 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

In the old part - Squeeky floor and a four poster bed. Chickens clucking from the garden next door. Church bells chiming quietly on the hour. What more could you want !! Good standard of room. Lots of character. Friendly staff. Very polite in the bar. Car park.charge of £10 a day- if you get a space keep it. We were not charged for the day we were late back and had to use a NCP .
Didn't book breakfast as there is enough choice locally at a far cheaper price.

Would stay again

Room Tip: A quieter room at the side in the old part. Top floor for less noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

After a very poor and unprofessional response from this hotel with a booking error issue, I began to have reservations about my reservation! I stayed at this hotel for one night and paid extra for a Junior suite in the hope of a superior room. The room was ok but nothing special - a bit tired looking and gloomy but it was,at least, spacious. I was disappointed that the 'king size bed or 4 poster' in the room description meant 2 saggy single beds squashed together. 'Tea and coffee' making facilities meant a kettle and 2 cups packed away in a cupboard .. But no tea or coffee! Come on Mercure - give us a tea bag for our £140!! The glass of PImms mentioned in our 'Summer special' booking package was not offered or mentioned on check in. Reception staff were not particularly friendly or helpful and hotel security was poor with an unmonitored back entrance. This hotel draws its guests in with its central location and quaint exterior ... And then swiftly abandons them. There must be better places to stay in central Stratford .. Don't be tempted by this one if you are looking for a quality stay as well as value for money.

Room Tip: A top floor room will avoid considerable noise from squeaky floorboards
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

We do take pride in our service standards and we will take your comments on board to improve the guest experience going forward.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The staff were friendly both in the reception & bar area. The rooms we were allocated in the main part of the hotel were reasonably priced, comfortable and clean throughout. the outside of the building is pictureque.

The only blip is the parking facilities - these are limited. As friends meeting up we had driven in 3 cars but only 1 parking space was left on our arrival. Bear in mind you may not be able to park on the premises. However this is only a minor blip and we all enjoyed our stay. There is ample parking in Stratford Upon Avon.. I think this hotel offers value for money on their room pricing. I highly recommend this hotel and have already booked rooms for a future stay.

Room Tip: The historic part of the hotel the rooms have more character and charm.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatM851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2012

stayed at this hotel for two nights this week and the decor in the main areas has vastly improved since my last stay here two years ago, i stayed for the first time in one of the less historic rooms and was staying for business on my own, all the staff where very pleasant and helpful, parking is a nightmare at this hotel but it is central stratford so cant be helped. the young lady serving in the bar area was very helpful, pleasant and seemed happy with her job not intrusive but available quickly to serve and offer of more drinks. my real issue was the room, and mainly the bed, the rooms are extmeely cramped but i knew that when i arrived i was pleasantly suprised to see a plater of fruit rather than the ususal corporate biscuits, pears, apples, strawberries and an orange cut into 6, with two plates and knoves, i ate some of the fruit using one of the plates avoided the orange as i had no idea how long it had been sitting in the room for, on return to my room the following evening the dirty plate, and remnanats of the fruit where stil on the table unwashed along with a glass i had used still with my lipstick stain on and a coffee cup with spoon again unwashed and with dregs of coffee in it. the bed was ok but the sheet on the base didnt fit the matress and only just touched the bottom with nothing reaching down to tuck it in so inevitably ricked up when sleeping and was uncomfortable, the matress cover also didnt fit the bed and left a ridge two incehs in from matress edge at all four sides. the housekeepers idea of making the bed was far from acceptable and consisted of slightly straightening the duvet and putting the runner back on the bed, the dent in the pillow was still evident from my sleep the night before and the sheet which doidnt fit hadnt even been pulled straight. all in all a real let down and not what i expect from a 4 star hotel charging £120 a night. i wont be staying again in a hurry which is a shame because food was good and staff pleasant, but a bed is important and cleanlilness of a room that small is essential when retunring from a long days work.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feed back regarding your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

In order to restore faith in the hotel I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our junior suites on a preferred rate and a free bottle of wine upon arrival. Please reply to this email to make the necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews