We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here whilst seeing a play at the RSC. The location was excellent, very close to the theatre and the shops. Parking wasn't as much of a problem as we thought it would be. We checked in after 3 and the lady on reception had to phone housekeeping to check the room was ready. It was a nice room, interesting layout. However, the Nespresso coffee machine had a pod in already so obviously had not been cleaned. When I checked the minibar it was empty - a bit if a shock when there was a label on the fridge door saying everything inside was included in the price of the room. We phoned reception to inform them then went out shopping. When we came back the fridge had a bottle of coke, diet coke, orange juice, still and sparkling water in it. I looked for a bottle opener and couldn't find one. I phoned reception and asked them. After 20 minutes a barman came up to open them. We were on our way out so asked him to leave the opener with us for later. He told us the hotel only had one opener so he could come back if we told him what time we wanted them open. He was very apologetic but the whole situation was farcical!! I ended up not being able to drink anything but the water!! Doubt I would pay the extra £20 for this type of room if I were to stop at the hotel again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank harveyswalsall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor.

I would like to apologise for the Privilege room experience. We will re-train our staff on the details about the great package with enhanced facilities like the Nespresso coffee machine.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

My daughter and I booked this hotel on a Travelzoo deal, this included a half board stay and a room upgrade. The hotel is stunning from the outside and is very charming on the inside. Our Privilege room was very nice with a comfortable bed a large En suite bathroom and a coffee machine as well as the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Our window overlooked the car park and so we were undisturbed by traffic noise. The creaking floor boards in the hallways are a little noisy but this is to be expected in such an old building.
Staff were pleasant and efficient.
The only negative would be the charge for car parking. I do not appreciate this when I am staying in an expensive 4* hotel. I realise they have limited space but don't see how charging £10 per night helps this. This is not a public car park so I see no need to charge hotel residents a fee.
The hotel is very conveniently located for all the sights of Stratford upon Avon and the theatres are a short stroll away as is the riverside area.
Would I return? Yes but only on a deal it wasn't

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your positive review and kind comments about our team. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in a Privilege room and everything that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 3,767
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Good room but despite it being aJunior suite the shelf above the lavatory is the only place for toothbrushes etc - not good. Breakfast - very busy with less than average buffet and not particularly good quality. Location is ideal for the theatres and the town but overall the impression is shabby.

Room Tip: Can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Elya,

Thank you for your feedback and you positive comment about your junior suite. We are constantly reviewing our service standards and food offering and I will review our breakfast standard in order to improve this for future guests. Thank you for your honesty.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We enjoyed an amazing tea in a lovely setting today. We would recommend this ancient hotel to anyone who want be spoiled in sumptuous surroundings. Go for it-spoil yourselves and get booked in!
We had a very attentive waited who looked after us so well

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mikki2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Mikki,

Thank you for your positiveness about our new afternoon tea offer. We have recently enhanced our service standard and offering and we have received more positive feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here on 13 August just overnight on a return journey on a bb rate. The front of the building is a treasure and has a wonderful façade.The hotel has been extended quite a lot from that original building. Most of it works - steep stairs, creaky floorboards, a warren of corridors and a higgledy piggledy feel to it which is quite charming.
We had a warm welcome at reception and it was confirmed we could park in the car park to the rear (we had parked on the street, unable to remember if there was parking available). The car park is in Sheep street, to the side of the hotel and the entrance is quite concealed, so as soon as you turn into Sheep St, indicate right and the entrance is just after Vintners and through the automatic barrier. Parking charge is £10.
All the rooms are named after Shakespeare plays,places and characters. We were in Mantua (408) which was a standard room in the newer Garrick wing. It was quite a good size, quiet (despite overlooking the car park). The bathroom was clean with a good selection of soft towels, plenty of hot water etc. Everything in the room worked. There were a few stains I noticed on the bed throw but I was not going to use that anyway and my partner accused me of being "picky"!. The bed was comfortable with 2 pillows each. Good thick curtains kept out the light so we could sleep in darkness. Hospitality tray was stocked with usual coffee and selection of teas although the (long life) milk was in those horrible small plastic "cups" and you never know how old they are. From a female (practical ) point, the hairdryer is portable and you can plug it in by the mirror - this is a plus point for me!
Breakfast is primarily buffet although you can also order from the kitchen. The buffet has a selection of hot standard breakfast fare (although not hot enough for my liking) and quality was good. Fresh and tinned fruit available with a small selection of dried fruit and walnuts (the latter were a bit soft). I had kippers which were excellent. The staff were friendly enough, especially the restaurant manager who showed us to our table. However, service was a bit hit and miss. On 2 occasions staff approached our table and another and simply announced what he/she was carrying in the hope we indicated which table it was for (I expect food/drinks etc to be brought to the correct table with confidence but maybe this is just a small point).
The breakfast restaurant which doubles up for dinner was in my opinion a bit soulless but the food was fine. I think it is just the layout of the room and the various open areas leading to the bars , other areas which gave this impression. Also, for me the lampshades were so not in keeping.
Worth a stay - yes. Well located, reasonably priced and friendly staff, good size and clean rooms. Patio area outside too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,842 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing