We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Stratford Hotel. Good value if you can get a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Central Stratford Hotel. Good value if you can get a good deal”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel to stay in as we were booked to see Hamlet.
Location wise it was perfect. The staff were very friendly, the rooms although old were very good and the cooked breakfast although good could have done with being a bit hotter.
The car park is small but you can get a space however, it costs £10 a night. Ouch! But due to the lack of parking elsewhere and the hotel's central location it made sense to park up and leave your vehicle for your stay. I would definately recommend but check the comparison sites carefully to get the best deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socratez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind comments about our friendlly staff and great rooms. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your visit to Stratford-upon-Avon and the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back real soon.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    678
    341
    137
    69
See reviews for
211
1,006
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I sent an email to request a certain room, unfortunately this wasn't available but we were given an alternative which was just as nice.
The receptionist was ever so helpful.
Shame the Othello bar wasn't open as this gives an alternative modern option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ajhallplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Mr Andy Hall,

Thank you for your time reflecting on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that we allocated a similar room to your original request and that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Managerind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wonderful hotel with really helpful staff. Would definitely stay again as right in the centre of Stratford. We had a suite and it was comfortable, clean and very spacious. Parking was limited but we didn't have any problems, except for the one way system near the hotel. The bar area was lovely. Although there were a number of restaurants nearby and so we didn't eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Beware, we stayed during summer and due to the historical nature of the hotel it was very warm. In f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a lovely nights stay at this hotel. Superb location for the RSC, shops, restaurants etc. Staff were very helpful. The room was lovely - very spacious and comfortable. The decor in the corridors is a little dated, some areas of carpet are worn etc., but kind of added to the charm! Beware if you are expecting to park in the hotel car park. It is small and constantly full, although we parked in the nearby NCP which has a deal with the hotel and only cost us £5 for our stay.I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay in it again.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite sprawling and not all in one building. We were in an annex, not on the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your kind feedback here on Tripadvisor. Your positive comments about the room and our staff our really appreciated and I will post them on the staff notice board.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Shakespeare Hotel, while getting older (aren't we all), remains the ideal place to spend a night or a week in Stratford. Incredibly convenient to everything you want to visit, unfailingly nice and patient staff, and rooms that are getting better, albeit slowly. This was my first visit in two years and I'm delighted I returned. The rooms (at least in the newer wing) have safes, refrigerators, and -- hooray - showers that don't require gymnastics or or scuba gear to navigate. Air conditioning, free WiFi throughout the hotel and the undeniable feeling that you have stepped back, or at least through, time to visit the Elizabethan era. Room rates are reasonable and if you like English breakfasts, the dining room does a nice one, buffet style, so you will not leave the least bit hungry. One caveat - the bathroom floors are tile and VERY slippery, so be careful or use one of the large bath towels for a floor mat after a bath or shower.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer wing (in the back) have elevator/lift access. Those in the front may not. Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clightdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your positive review and kind comment about our staff. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your room and everything that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having found a good deal on the internet we were very pleased with our one stay at this hotel.
The hotel is in the centre of Stratford very convenient for the sights of the Town and the Theatre.

The hotel dates back hundreds of years such that the interior to the hotel could be described as quirky. We had a premier room which overlooked the road however we were not disturbed by any noise. Although not large the room was clean and cosy with all the amenities you'd expect from a top class hotel. The bathroom was well kitted out.

The service in the restaurant was excellent as was the quality of the food both at Dinner and for breakfast. It is worth noting that the hotel offers a pre-theatre dinner to allow the guest to attend the performance by the Royal Shakespeare Company.

When we next visit Stratford we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your room, the great service in Othello's and everything that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing