We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury and comfort”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Mecure Stratford for 1 night, wish it had been longer. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you could want. A lovely bar to sit down and relax after a days travel. Breakfast was included with a wide variety of food and beverages. The staff were friendly and helpful even though we arrived late at night. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    697
    347
    141
    69
See reviews for
222
1,027
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here (the first about 5 years ago) and it did seem to have changed a little, but was still a very pleasant stay. The staff were wonderful at all times. We telephoned beforehand to see if it was possible to book a parking space as my husband, at present, has a walking disability. They indeed booked us a space with no charge (we were expecting to pay), which we really appreciated. Very nice ambience downstairs in the hotel. We stayed in the Garrick Wing - very clean, but needed a little TLC. Room was fine, bathroom superb, but unfortunately the mattress had springs coming through and pillows very uncomfortable. Breakfast in the morning was really lovely, great choice with the hot buffet being replenished constantly and wonderful service - really enjoyable. In spite of the little niggles, would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic - very central to the town.
The hotel is a set isn a beautiful old building and the foyer and restaurant are a lovely setting
Waiting staff and breakfast was great however the reception service was disappointing - poor communication and no apology when raised
We were told that they had a car spot for us which we took - we were not advised it was an an extra charge until checking out - when I mentioned this there no apology just advised that there is a sign in the car park listing charges - a sign you only see once you are in there
The charge wasn't much - just should have been told first

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your review on the Tripadvisor website. I would like to apologise for the mis-understanding regarding the car park charge. We do try to inform our future guests on our website about the £ 10 overnight charge and at the entrance of the car park.

I hope that this does not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We went here on a works party and booked the Murder Mystery Dinner.

The place is lovely, the tables were fantastic with lovely decorations and plenty of alcohol on the tables. The actors were brilliant and we did have a very very enjoyable night.

Unfortunately the food was terrible.

When we pre ordered our meals we had to select one as a gluten free option for myself, they sent us a menu back to choose from which was all apparently gluten free.

When I arrived, my table card had a (G) on it so I assumed they had prepared for all my food gluten free, as requested. So I was surprised that every course that came out, when I asked the waitress if it was gluten free, went back to the kitchen as it was not gluten free at all.

So from my three course meal the only thing I could eat was the starter as it was just goats cheese. My full turkey dinner was replaced with a small piece of fish with carrots, sprouts and parsnips and my Baked Alaska dessert was replaced with a scoop of strawberry and chocolate ice cream, I would not have ordered either of these given the choice as I don't like fish or ice cream!

The manager did come over to find out what had happened but didn't seem to really understand the seriousness of serving someone something they are very allergic to, if I hadn't double checked the food then I would have been extremely unwell.

Not what you expect from a hotel of this standard at all.

Aside from the food, the waitress was lovely and the night as a whole was brilliant, but I wouldn't eat here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed contribution on Tripadvisor. I would like to apologise for the misunderstanding about your dietary requirements. We missed your requests from our briefing sheet on the night and I am sorry that we did not handle this to your satisfaction.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Murder Mystery evening at The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back and to serve you a dinner with all your requirements.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct and I will personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing