We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel !!!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is right in the centre of Stratford great for exploring around the town.room and breakfast was first class,it was my wife's birthday and when she entered the room a nice card was waiting for her, thanks !!

Room Tip: Ask for room 220, first class !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    693
    346
    140
    69
See reviews for
218
1,022
59
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Got this hotel at a great rate from booking.com- less than £50 per night for two sharing a double room. The location is fantastic. Literally five minutes to the theatre. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Our room was small but well equipped and clean. Our friends were allocated a room with four poster bed. One of the best hotels we've stayed in in Stratford at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over New Year. The room was cold because the radiator and aircon didn't work. I complained at Reception 3 times but nothing was fixed. Finally they said they would provide a standalone heater, but it hadn't turned up by the time we checked out.

What made it worse was they didn't care - no remorse, no apologies.

Apart from that the main building is nice - old and atmospheric, but the new Garrick wing out the back didn't look so good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimesMoved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write this review. I would like to apologise for the lack of heating during your stay with us and the poor service from our receptionist. We had to re-set the boiler during this time whih did solve the problem in the end.

I hope that experience will not deter you from returning to the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Writing this on behalf of my Mother who has just come back from a stay at this hotel. She liked the little touches in the room like the bathrobe, the slippers and the espresso machine. She also noted that her bathroom was nice and warm due to an effective towel rail. However that is where the niceties of the place end.

Being an old hotel the building gets cold very easily. It was really cold where she was seated for dinner and also cold in the rooms. Upon inquiring about why there was no heating in the bedrooms a lady in my Mums group was told that its switched off at 11pm! This being the middle of winter. In most hotels your sweltering because they leave the heating on all night.
And on top of that there is no soundproofing at all. My Mum could hear all the noises from the bedroom above including walking around and talking and noise from the street being in a room at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelly1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback here on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of heating and noise you experienced during your stay.

I hope that this does not deter you from returning to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Please contact me direct and I will personally look after your reservation and allocate a quiet room for you.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
h6630-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on boxing day with elderly grand parents plus children.

- Although we had no problem parking in the hotel car park on the day we stayed, spaces are severely limited.
- Breakfast was excellent in every way. Buffet super was ok but could do with improvement. Desert excellent. Main course hot meal choice poor.
- Room was good. Bathroom moderately clean. Could do with some thick bleach in places.
- Sleep and sound proof quality good. Bed linen excellent.
- Carpets are warn and need replacing everywhere, particularly in the bedroom.


Value for money: Slightly, but only slightly, overpriced. There is a fine line from advertising as a 4 star place charging £130 plus per room per night and advertising as a 2 star place and charging £50/night.

Overall expereince was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit including the breakfast and your room.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team here and I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,



Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I went to stay in Stratford upon Avon for a romantic night away but had previously stayed at another hotel 10 years ago. The first problem we encountered was parking as the car park was full and some people had double parked which made it difficult to manouvre our car. We booked a junior suite with either king bed or four poster but when we checked into the room only had a double. Not only that when I checked for mattress protector and pillow protectors there weren't any so I called housekeeping to the room. The housekeeper was very helpful and moved us to a different room with a bigger bed and mattress protector but only pillow protectors on 2 pillows. However, the bed was very comfy. We had dinner at the hotel that night and couldn't fault the food at all and the same can be said for the breakfast although it was a buffet and the cooked breakfast was not very hot as it had probably been on the warmer plates for a while. Overall though we were happy with our stay, however, that said, they do need to sort the parking situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telsy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,069 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing