We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for one night with my wife as we were catching a play in the evening.
Didn't get a chance to try the bar or restaurant as I was leaving very early to catch a flight.
On arrival I left my car in the (small) hotel car park to check-in. There were no spaces and I fully expected to have to park my car at a nearby NCP car park. I found out from the very helpful young lady on reception that the NCP car park was closed from late until 7am. This was no good as I had to leave at 430am the next morning. The receptionist very quickly arranged for a colleague to move her car so that I could use the hotel car park. The charge for overnight/24hr parking at the hotel is £10.
My wife parked her car at the nearby NCP car park. The hotel will process a 24hr ticket for £5, which is less than the NCP car park would charge. The NCP car park is about a five minute walk from the hotel.
The room, which we got for a bargain in my opinion, was large with a small vestibule area and spacious bathroom. The bathroom was clean with a good, high-power over-bath shower. Plenty of hot water.
Despite being in the hotel being in the town centre, the room was quiet (view over car park).
The complimentary wifi was good - bandwith seemed OK.
My only complaint was the mattress on the bed had seen better days.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night request a room that looks over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent one night here in a lovely room in the oldest part of the hotel. Nicely refurbished but old barrel ceiling left in place. Lovely bathroom but shame about the smell. Would have asked for a different room if we'd been staying longer. Wrong newspaper delivered in morning. Had an excellent meal in restaurant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After a disappointing first stay at this hotel which was purely down to staffing issues, we were invited back for a complimentary stay in a Junior Suite for our Anniversary which was beautiful.

I love the location and the décor of this Hotel was never a problem, if you like modern and minimalistic, don't stay in Stratford? The hotel keeps its character whilst updating sympathetically in design.

Our room contained modern art with Shakespeare scripts and contained images from the town itself as to invite a treasure hunt to find this images in real life.

Room service improved dramatically since our last stay and they went the extra mile when needed. Roberta is particularly helpful.

We had a meal in Othello's which was delicious, although service was a little slow. The 10% discount because we were residents made this more palatable though. Breakfast the following morning was a different story...

A fresh sumptuous buffet style with good quality butchers sausages, Continental meats and cheeses, Danish pastries, fruits and cereals, staff at breakfast were very attentive and pleasant, was perfect.

It was nice to have our voices heard and their error's from our previous stay rectified. Because of Marnix Teeken - General Manager's attentive nature towards his customer survey's, we will not hesitate in staying here again next time we visit Stratford.

Room Tip: Junior Suite's are the way forward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_Clynshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Natalie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am pleased we were able to put things right. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Kind Regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Valentine break, from the moment you walk in the hotel you are taken care of , the staff are friendly , rooms large and very comfy . roaring log fires, brilliant bar, and stand in barman, upstairs the floorboards creak and outside the car park is small, but this a period property and what you visit Stratford for?
We had room 203, which was OK, roomy, the bathroom large and modern. but was up some stairs which were narrow at one point, Breakfast was excellent and very good value - set us up for the day, highly recommend !!! special thanks to Young French and young Dutch girl on reception, very courteous and looked after us...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you, we appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Kind regards

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

There are two really great things about this hotel: it's communal area and it's location. It has very generous bars and lounges with exposed beams, roaring log fires and comfy sofas.
The location is superb with the memorial theatre and the river just a short walk away. A great spot from which to explore the town and see a play.
There may be better rooms than we had, but ours was shabby although the bathroom was ok.
Food at this hotel is not recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. This is an olde worlde hotel in the centre of town. The car park at the rear is a bonus (but £10/ night). There are lots of seating areas, many with open fires. The room was OK if a bit dark. Bathroom was compact and bijou, I.e. small. The receptionist was very efficient and knowledgeable. The restaurant was a less positive experience. In the evening it was cold and the menu overpriced for a bistro. A menu in the room indicated some basic choices but these were not offered until I insisted on seeing it. I had bangers and mash which was fine. The italian red was overpriced at £7 a glass. At breakfast there were not enough staff to greet guests and clear tables resulting in a very slow service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went back to this hotel following a mailshot/offer from Club Accor and met up with some friends at the end of January. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of the theatre, Shakespeare's house and local restaurants and bars (Sheep Street). We have now stayed at several Accor hotels, home and abroad, and we have always found them to be of a good standard with good staff. If we go to Stratford again this would be our first choice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,470 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £72 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing